Chevron Left
Back to Robotics: Mobility

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Robotics: Mobility by University of Pennsylvania

3.9
stars
526 ratings
132 reviews

About the Course

How can robots use their motors and sensors to move around in an unstructured environment? You will understand how to design robot bodies and behaviors that recruit limbs and more general appendages to apply physical forces that confer reliable mobility in a complex and dynamic world. We develop an approach to composing simple dynamical abstractions that partially automate the generation of complicated sensorimotor programs. Specific topics that will be covered include: mobility in animals and robots, kinematics and dynamics of legged machines, and design of dynamical behavior via energy landscapes....

Top reviews

TM

Jun 05, 2017

The material itself is worth a few stars. Clearly lots of work has gone into making some interesting interactive matlab demos. some of the quizzes are unnecessarily confusing.

PR

Aug 21, 2017

Very vast and intuitive course.I found all the information required to design my own legged robot ! I will try and design my own . Thank you so much !

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 124 Reviews for Robotics: Mobility

By Zwee D T D

Jul 13, 2019

Very interesting course. Learn how robots can walk. The instructors's teaching is fairly easy to follow and understand. They take time to walk you through the real-life story of how to make robot walk, and the explanation of how to develop the walking method, not just throwing mathematics formulas like some other robotic courses.

However, the course stops at theory & simulation only (which is expected for online courses). It would be great if the course can guide students to build an actual walking robot.

Anyway highly recommended.

By Samuel D

Apr 24, 2016

The course provides good exposure to the problems in legged robotics.

The course lists multiple references to the books and articles, reading which is necessary to make this course more useful. I wish some more time would be devoted to dynamic models, including kinetic and potential energy calculation of the SLIP and other models. But one can find this kind of information elsewhere, for example, at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zhk9xLjrmi4 and http://ocw.mit.edu/2-003SCF11

By Jun Z

May 20, 2018

A good introduction to mobility in robotics! But it covers too many aspects of mobility and it would be better to concentrate on bipedal system or some other concrete examples. Too much talk about dynamics and control seems a bit overlap. Perhaps since I majored in control and robotics, I found some buzzwords in it. In a word, I really learned a lot from it and found some amazing topics and ideas.

By Matthew P

Mar 06, 2018

Overall, the course was very interesting. I would have probably learned the material better if there was supplementary reading material listed for the course. I also would have liked more engaging and challenging Matlab assignments that were more than just tuning gains.

By Lieke V

Apr 10, 2016

Interesting to learn about how and why robots differ from animals. The material was relatively easy to digest because the lectures were well paced and at the end there was a summary of the content. The quizzes are intelligent, so the course is not a give away.

By Utku K

Sep 12, 2016

The course was very good, but I guess there were too many quizzes, and the instructions / questions in the quizzes and other assignments are not unambiguous. That could be improved. Other than that I liked the course and the specialization very much.

By Amol K

Jun 20, 2016

The course was very good overall. I just wish if there was a little more mathematics involved. For the rest of the part, it is pretty good for beginners and enthusiasts in Robotics. Hope to see the advanced version of it sometime too.

By Janzaib M

Jun 15, 2016

This is one of the very first courses in Robotics in which in legged robots are talked about. And from this course I learnt some very significant factors to consider when working with legged structures and the mobility in them.

By Ravi T S

Apr 09, 2016

The course served as a great introduction to legged robots and the templates that anchor them. The teaching staff was also very responsive to questions on the discussions forum which was immensely helpful.

By Heramb N

Oct 03, 2016

Course is interesting and provides basic knowledge of the subject. But often the tests require more information than provided in the questions or lectures. Also very less help is provided in the forums.

By Aditya R

Jan 10, 2019

The Course is great so far. I hope there was coverage on Wheeled Robots. Also the questions in the last week were a bit confusing. Thanks for making this course available.

By Shubham G

Jun 12, 2018

This course gives a very good overview of bio mechanics & control but to understand the concepts thoroughly one need to go through the research papers.

By Andrew M A

Jul 06, 2018

i hope the course change a little to make total exam at the final and do more explanation for some point in the videos which dose not take enough time

By Peter D

Oct 23, 2016

Interesting course but the lectures are lacking in imformation. I would recommend as long as you don't mind a

By Wesley S

Jul 08, 2017

Slides would help so much and some important thins like GRC requires a supplementary material.

By César L G G

Jul 21, 2020

The course is not practical and the several questions in the quizzes are not well structured.

By Himanshu S

Oct 13, 2017

Lectures are really good but the quizzes are not worded properly often leading to confusion.

By Fredo P C

Jan 05, 2019

The course was challenging. I hope there would be more examples deepen my learning

By Bakhtiar M

Nov 30, 2019

The course was quite advanced and would be better if it had more weeks.

By Yui C L

Sep 29, 2019

Hope to have more details.

By M Q A

Nov 29, 2016

Awesome course

By hossam.elshahaby

May 21, 2020

Thank you

By Andrew D

Mar 30, 2017

Interesting class, but somewhat frustrating at times. I found the quizzes very conceptual, which was interesting, but trying to find the correct answer with no feedback as to how something was right or wrong made for a weaker learning experience. Had there been some feedback to understand why something is correct or not, I think that would enable more learning.

I also think more emphasis on Forward Kinematics and Inverse Kinematics would help ground this class as a more general class for students interested in robotics. Introduction to Jacobians and how we can calculate end effector forces with respect to joint torques would really help interlace this class with some of the other classes in this Robotics specialization. It seems like it sticks out the most.

Still. Interesting class and I learned some new stuff!

By Rangel I A W

Oct 25, 2016

The course is not bad, but the information of the slides doesn't gives you much information to solve the questions. You have to go to other resources to solve the math questions.

The simulations are OK, very practical and comprehensive but there is no math information about the movement or equations of motion on the slides, off course, if you have the matlab code you can do reverse engineering and aim the goal. If you expect to learn about robotics motion and mobility you have to go to other books of these themes.

There are too much questions in my opinion and are tedious to solve or answer.

By Chandandeep

Jan 30, 2018

COuld have been better if it recommended some prerequisitives. It was a really challenging one especially it requiring background knowledge. Course could provide relevant background study references that are related to the questions asked rather than asking them to forage through the resources section and try to read everything. While it definitely gives a better understanding if one reads the resources. I read one or two papers and they helped me understand the material a little better. What I demand though is provision of relevant resources. Then I would give it 5 stars.