Chevron Left
Back to Robotics: Computational Motion Planning

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Robotics: Computational Motion Planning by University of Pennsylvania

4.3
stars
956 ratings
243 reviews

About the Course

Robotic systems typically include three components: a mechanism which is capable of exerting forces and torques on the environment, a perception system for sensing the world and a decision and control system which modulates the robot's behavior to achieve the desired ends. In this course we will consider the problem of how a robot decides what to do to achieve its goals. This problem is often referred to as Motion Planning and it has been formulated in various ways to model different situations. You will learn some of the most common approaches to addressing this problem including graph-based methods, randomized planners and artificial potential fields. Throughout the course, we will discuss the aspects of the problem that make planning challenging....

Top reviews

FC
Nov 27, 2018

The course was challenging, but fulfilling. Thank you Coursera and University of Pennsylvania for giving this wonderful experience and opportunity that I might not experience in our local community!

AD
Jul 2, 2018

The topic was very interesting, and the assignments weren't overly complicated. Overall, the lesson was fun and informative , despite the bugs in the learning tool(especially, the last assignment.)

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 237 Reviews for Robotics: Computational Motion Planning

By Ramachandran S

Jan 19, 2017

A good course that gives you a brief info on various motion planning methods. A bit more techniques as well as a more complex assignments couldve been put together so that we could understand and implement better.

By Dwayne C

Mar 14, 2016

A great course on Motion Planning for systems, I enjoyed it. I got stuck a few times during assignments, but due to a great community, I was able to pull through and gain a better understand of the course.

By Romulo

Mar 30, 2018

The course material and videos are very good. Small bugs in the exercise can be a bit of headache. Luckily, digging the community forum there is always a high chance to solve your issue.

By TKor78

Oct 20, 2016

A good and interesting course to get a fundamental understanding of how robots move. Not easy, but quite rewarding for the one who is willing to put some efforts into it.

By Hector D M P

Feb 12, 2018

The last assignment had no hints. Also was extremely fragile with the grading. Step size cannot be fixed to a value, because otherwise the route count is wrong.

By James H

Mar 2, 2016

I enjoyed this course, and learnt a lot. The only reason I'm not giving it 5/5 is that the programming assignments were a bit too easy, especially the last two.

By Aalap S

Jan 19, 2017

Great Introductory Course. It is a bit short on course content, but teaches you enough to be able to learn from other sources such as research papers, etc.

By Yingjing F

Jun 1, 2016

It's nice! I particularly like the programming homework. However, the course is pretty much beginner-level, and the course is too short (for only 4 weeks).

By BaoYiping

Jul 2, 2016

it's a nice to learn a lot from the course. Some of the assignment is quite difficult. But with the discussion forum's help, I can pass all of them.

By 江泽宇

Aug 9, 2016

the fundamental of planning algorithm, basic algorithm: Dijkstra, A*, RRT, artificial potential. Some exercises' requirement should be more detail.

By Kanishk

Aug 11, 2020

the coding excercises were a challenge in this one.. but the content of the course made it very interesting and intriguing.

By Aditya R

Oct 9, 2018

There should be more materials for completing the assignment problems. I find it Insufficient. The course overall is great!

By KAPI K M

Oct 15, 2019

A more realistic and continuous map planning can be included to give the students experience of more real-life conditions.

By Gursimar S

Dec 18, 2016

A lot of things to learn,but the programming assignment evaluate program does not help in finding mistakes.

By Alejandro M F

Sep 27, 2017

This course gave me a good introduction to this field of Robotics, I'm really passionate about it. Thanks!

By Rimsha T

May 10, 2020

This course is very helpfull to understand the motion planing. i learnt every concept from this cours

By NICHOLAS P

Jun 16, 2020

Interesting course with fun programming assignments (challenging without being overly difficult.

By Guining O

Jul 4, 2020

The course is well structured for beginners. The only problem was the assignment grading errors

By Stephen S

Jun 3, 2016

Great class. For those with lots of programming experience this course is a little too easy.

By juha n

Apr 1, 2018

The last assignment details were too vague. Spent a zhit ton of time rounding/not rounding.

By Andrey S

Apr 23, 2016

Great course! I'm really enjoy it. Thanks a lot professor CJ Taylor and staff.

By Daniel J

Mar 13, 2016

some of the assignments are unclear, need more detail. Over all great course.

By Himanshu S

Oct 4, 2017

Conceptually good but knowledge of coding is a prerequisite for this course.

By Mohammed A

Apr 2, 2016

The videos are short and to the point, and the Matlab home works are great.

By Neel P

Dec 23, 2016

Could be improved. There is more need of involvement of mentors and TAs.