Chevron Left
Back to Robotics: Computational Motion Planning

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Robotics: Computational Motion Planning by University of Pennsylvania

4.3
stars
967 ratings
248 reviews

About the Course

Robotic systems typically include three components: a mechanism which is capable of exerting forces and torques on the environment, a perception system for sensing the world and a decision and control system which modulates the robot's behavior to achieve the desired ends. In this course we will consider the problem of how a robot decides what to do to achieve its goals. This problem is often referred to as Motion Planning and it has been formulated in various ways to model different situations. You will learn some of the most common approaches to addressing this problem including graph-based methods, randomized planners and artificial potential fields. Throughout the course, we will discuss the aspects of the problem that make planning challenging....

Top reviews

FC
Nov 27, 2018

The course was challenging, but fulfilling. Thank you Coursera and University of Pennsylvania for giving this wonderful experience and opportunity that I might not experience in our local community!

AD
Jul 2, 2018

The topic was very interesting, and the assignments weren't overly complicated. Overall, the lesson was fun and informative , despite the bugs in the learning tool(especially, the last assignment.)

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 243 Reviews for Robotics: Computational Motion Planning

By Daniel J

Mar 13, 2016

some of the assignments are unclear, need more detail. Over all great course.

By Himanshu S

Oct 4, 2017

Conceptually good but knowledge of coding is a prerequisite for this course.

By Mohammed A

Apr 2, 2016

The videos are short and to the point, and the Matlab home works are great.

By Neel P

Dec 23, 2016

Could be improved. There is more need of involvement of mentors and TAs.

By Shuai W

Jun 23, 2016

The last part is a bit boring.

Overall I like this course a lot! Thanks!

By Joaquin R

Sep 5, 2018

Good course. Easy to understand and with reasonable mat lab assigments

By Nhan T

Jun 23, 2016

I learned a lot of brilliant techniques in this course. Thank you.

By rajas j

Sep 22, 2019

Week 1 dijkstra assignment took 1month to get acess to

By SONG

Jul 4, 2017

Quite good, It can be better if the content is richer

By Jeff

May 19, 2016

It is only introductory course. not a lot of content.

By Anil S

Mar 27, 2016

Taught me many planning algorithms in an easy way.

By Rahul N

Jun 12, 2017

Very useful introductory course to path planning

By Vikalp M

Feb 3, 2017

assignment grading feedback can be made better.

By rao s y

Mar 14, 2016

Should letting us do more programming stuff.

By AMIT S P

Sep 1, 2016

Good Introductory Course but can be better.

By Manikandan R

Feb 27, 2016

Damn good!! and bit difficult

By Orlando B

Mar 15, 2016

It was a great course!!!

By Abdullah B

Aug 13, 2016

Good but can do better.

By MAssimo S

Sep 6, 2017

Basic concept course

By jinxz

Feb 28, 2018

forum is useful !!!

By Fabio B

Jun 26, 2017

Very good course!

By Md I S

Dec 23, 2017

it was great.

By Prabin K R

Aug 13, 2018

awesome!!!

By Deep P

Jul 13, 2021

I would like to thank Coursera team, university of Penn and Prof. CJ Taylor for providing this course. Please take this as a constructive feedback and not a complain. I personally felt that lectures were too short and didn't do justice to the topics for all 4 weeks. Even though lectures were crisp and to the point for learning the algorithm, still I feel that more comprehensive knowledge about the topics should be shared. For ex- applications of these algorithms. Also a little more focus on implementation part please. It seemed that Prof. Taylor was screen reading the lecture content. I was very disappointed when I realized this (in week1 only). Unlike other courses where instructor engages with students as if they are really talking to us, this felt plain. As for the assignments, for week1 and 3 the pseudo code displayed in the lecture video wasn't tested in the assignment. It was more like complete the code and make it working rather than program the core steps of pseudo code. To conclude, this course needs some improvement but crucial ones.

By Matthew D

Aug 22, 2021

The lecture material is excellent, and Dr Taylor's passion really shines through when presenting the material. Although I was familiar with most of the topics presented, and well versed in Matlab, the assignments were a struggle as there is no access to Matlab online as there was with the aerial robotics module. The trouble is that some of the code is not copy-paste compatible with octave, and without a proper debugger it ended up taking much longer than it should have ironing out very basic bugs. Referring to the week 4 assignment, It is not reasonable to expect one to complete this assignment without even being able to plot the output to see what is going wrong. The assignments are structured such that a unique solution is required, and this does not encourage one to really delve deeply into the material. I suggest the course staff review the material in 'Modern Robotics', as the assignments such as the RRT method were in my opinion done exceptionally well there.