Chevron Left
Back to Ruby on Rails: An Introduction

Ruby on Rails: An Introduction, Johns Hopkins University

4.5
1,645 ratings
494 reviews

About this Course

Did you ever want to build a web application? Perhaps you even started down that path in a language like Java or C#, when you realized that there was so much “climbing the mountain” that you had to do? Maybe you have heard about web services being all the rage, but thought they were too complicated to integrate into your web application. Or maybe you wondered how deploying web applications to the cloud works, but there was too much to set up just to get going. In this course, we will explore how to build web applications with the Ruby on Rails web application framework, which is geared towards rapid prototyping. Yes, that means building quickly! At the conclusion of this course, you will be able to build a meaningful web application and deploy it to the “cloud” using a Heroku PaaS (Platform as a Service). Best of all, it will almost feel effortless… Really! “But wait”, you will say, “there is no way that we can build a useful application if there is no database involved. You need the data for an application to be useful.” Great point! But what if… instead of getting the data from the database, we get it from the internet by tapping into one of the web services out there that readily provides data needed by our application? “Ok, but that’s probably very complicated”, you will say. Take this course and you will be pleasantly surprised at just how easy it is!...

Top reviews

By HM

Oct 01, 2017

I have played around with Ruby on Rails before but this course really helped me understand the nots and bolts. It is worth replicating all the examples shown in the videos to get a good understanding,

By MB

May 02, 2016

Good intro, nice to mix in the various concepts that I will be working with as well (Heroku, Git, etc.). Also appreciated the Java comparisons since I have been working in Java for 15 years.

Filter by:

480 Reviews

By sandeep vethia

Apr 24, 2019

videos are outdated could not work on it

By Miguel Riesgo Tirado

Apr 20, 2019

It's outdated, but the theory behind the course has been valuable to me.

By William Francois

Apr 15, 2019

Although some of the things in the course were based on outdated versions of gems which can be irritating, the course itself was a good introduction to the way Ruby works.

By Mbulaheni lymon Maphaha

Apr 15, 2019

challenging but exciting, thank you very much

By M A Muktadir Hussain

Apr 02, 2019

The course was good. But some of the tutorials are outdated and faced some difficulties to understand it. But overall a full package and was resourceful.

By Ronghao Yang

Mar 27, 2019

More coding would be great

By eighty

Mar 26, 2019

I went through this material after first completing the Ruby on Rails tutorial by Michael Hartl. So far, this series is greatly explaining the core details of Rails. This course also explained some of the basics of Ruby which I hadn't memorized. There are some technical issues for Windows users and the discussion forums are nearly empty, but it's still a pretty good free resource to learn Rails.

By Lalit Jain

Mar 21, 2019

This Course has everything a developer needs. The instructor has carefully chosen to teach all the best parts of RoR development. Thank you so much.

By TU-NING TING

Mar 13, 2019

It is pretty cool! Although the video might seem old, but most of it still works. Additionally, mostly you can find the answer from the forum. Also, you can try to figure it out by trying different things. I would say the bundle install (bundle update) is usually the most annoying one because they just depend each other, and sometimes it will be hard to figure out what is happening!

By Yuehao Hua

Mar 08, 2019

The content is great so far, learned a lot from this course. However, the version is too old and I need to downgrade a bunch of staff to make assignment work. It should be better to update the assignment at lease to rails 5.x. Also, it should be better to cover some content about either MySQL or PostgresQL since SQLite is serverless and it is different to most of man SQL language with server.