Chevron Left
Back to Ruby on Rails: An Introduction

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Ruby on Rails: An Introduction by Johns Hopkins University

4.5
stars
1,855 ratings
568 reviews

About the Course

Did you ever want to build a web application? Perhaps you even started down that path in a language like Java or C#, when you realized that there was so much “climbing the mountain” that you had to do? Maybe you have heard about web services being all the rage, but thought they were too complicated to integrate into your web application. Or maybe you wondered how deploying web applications to the cloud works, but there was too much to set up just to get going. In this course, we will explore how to build web applications with the Ruby on Rails web application framework, which is geared towards rapid prototyping. Yes, that means building quickly! At the conclusion of this course, you will be able to build a meaningful web application and deploy it to the “cloud” using a Heroku PaaS (Platform as a Service). Best of all, it will almost feel effortless… Really! “But wait”, you will say, “there is no way that we can build a useful application if there is no database involved. You need the data for an application to be useful.” Great point! But what if… instead of getting the data from the database, we get it from the internet by tapping into one of the web services out there that readily provides data needed by our application? “Ok, but that’s probably very complicated”, you will say. Take this course and you will be pleasantly surprised at just how easy it is!...

Top reviews

HM
Sep 30, 2017

I have played around with Ruby on Rails before but this course really helped me understand the nots and bolts. It is worth replicating all the examples shown in the videos to get a good understanding,

GC
Aug 6, 2016

One of the most challenging things I've ever done.\n\nThe course goes from zero to web deploy in 3 weeks and there are more to enjoy, discover and learn....\n\nTry it, I't's a no-return voyage

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 553 Reviews for Ruby on Rails: An Introduction

By Roman

Oct 2, 2015

Very interesting course, good teacher - its really interesting to see video lectures and understandable! Great job guys!

By Alexander T

Feb 12, 2016

A very nice and clear course, nice introduction, a very cool hands-on TDD style of grading. Good intro to Ruby as well.

By Miguel A J R

Dec 5, 2015

I excellent for beginners who have some previous knowledge in programming or have used any other programming language.

By Juan P P S

Sep 17, 2015

I'm enjoying this course. So far one of the most complete and intuitive courses about Ruby on Rails I have ever taken.

By Valery b

Jun 3, 2017

Great theorical and practical classes. Exercices and video need to be updated for new rails and ruby version though.

By David P N

Sep 23, 2016

Good teacher and lots of code and material.

Beginners developers might struggle a little, but there is lots of help.

By Patrick L

Feb 9, 2016

Highly recommended for people wanting to learn Ruby on Rails. Essential if you want to have a good basic knowledge.

By Alicia S

Jul 23, 2017

Really awesome course - I thought the assignments were challenging and practical. Keep up the good work Coursera!

By Zach T

Oct 6, 2015

very good introduction to rather large ruby framework. Well put together class. Wasn't to time consuming as well.

By Márcio A S

Mar 6, 2016

Excellent MOOC.

Not only the basics of RoR are taught, but also tools from the ecosystem: git, github and others.

By Jason K

Nov 7, 2015

A very nice introduction. The assignments are very good at helping students apply the concepts from the course.

By Jan C

Jan 3, 2016

Well put & great intro into Git, Ruby, and Rails. Covering setup and tooling for most platforms. Recommended!

By Fabricio O

Jan 9, 2016

It's a great course for beginners in Rails. Mainly if you get a language like Java (has lot of comparisons)

By Hesham S

Jan 1, 2017

This is a wonderful course and it helped me a lot. I recommend it to anyone who wants to start with rails.

By Eduardo R d S

Oct 11, 2015

It is a great course for Ruby newer, but with some experience in programming.

Congratulations for creators.

By Claudia V A B

Oct 5, 2015

I consider this is an excelent course for those who wants learn the ruby language and the rails framework.

By Boulate K

Mar 27, 2018

Very interactive and comprehensible. The instructor was very clear and made the course very easy to learn

By Cyril

Jan 21, 2016

I learned ruby during my school career. We made a chat with server and client.

I enjoyed working on rails.

By Vanessa C

Nov 13, 2016

Un curso de introducción que enseña las bases necesarias para incursionar en el mundo de ruby on rails.

By Renier R

Oct 5, 2015

Great course.

Starts from scratch, explaining how to setup dev environment to creating a working web app

By Nathan P

Jul 19, 2016

Sometimes it was hard to understand the presenter. But the information is well laid out, and accurate.

By João M L F

Sep 24, 2015

It's a great idea, Ruby on Rails is a powerful Framework and Ruby is a Beautiful language, five stars!

By Rainer S

Dec 27, 2016

This introductory course teach good basic knowledge and you can apply it after the course. Excellent!

By Katherine W

Jul 22, 2016

Fantastic course. Did a great job of introducing the fundamentals. I loved the practical assignments.

By Paolo P

Apr 8, 2017

Very good course. It has been very useful to understand the Ruby on Rails basis for web development.