Chevron Left
Back to Ruby on Rails: An Introduction

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Ruby on Rails: An Introduction by Johns Hopkins University

4.5
1,727 ratings
518 reviews

About the Course

Did you ever want to build a web application? Perhaps you even started down that path in a language like Java or C#, when you realized that there was so much “climbing the mountain” that you had to do? Maybe you have heard about web services being all the rage, but thought they were too complicated to integrate into your web application. Or maybe you wondered how deploying web applications to the cloud works, but there was too much to set up just to get going. In this course, we will explore how to build web applications with the Ruby on Rails web application framework, which is geared towards rapid prototyping. Yes, that means building quickly! At the conclusion of this course, you will be able to build a meaningful web application and deploy it to the “cloud” using a Heroku PaaS (Platform as a Service). Best of all, it will almost feel effortless… Really! “But wait”, you will say, “there is no way that we can build a useful application if there is no database involved. You need the data for an application to be useful.” Great point! But what if… instead of getting the data from the database, we get it from the internet by tapping into one of the web services out there that readily provides data needed by our application? “Ok, but that’s probably very complicated”, you will say. Take this course and you will be pleasantly surprised at just how easy it is!...

Top reviews

HM

Oct 01, 2017

I have played around with Ruby on Rails before but this course really helped me understand the nots and bolts. It is worth replicating all the examples shown in the videos to get a good understanding,

GC

Aug 07, 2016

One of the most challenging things I've ever done.\n\nThe course goes from zero to web deploy in 3 weeks and there are more to enjoy, discover and learn....\n\nTry it, I't's a no-return voyage

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 503 Reviews for Ruby on Rails: An Introduction

By Felipe F

Jul 24, 2017

Fantastic course that really does teach you the basics of Ruby on Rails.

By Zakaria B

Jan 22, 2017

A very awesome course, especially for beginners !

By Luiz A R R

Oct 06, 2015

The course is not only very didactic and general in some aspects, it's also a course that teaches great usable content beyond the just ruby on rails panorama.

By Hazem M I K

Oct 11, 2015

So far, I've really enjoyed the course. However, I've had some problems with installing ruby on windows. But nothing google can't fix.

By Javier G H

Mar 25, 2016

This is really a good course!

By Nicolas S V

Jul 26, 2016

Basic concepts covered.

By Nathan P

Jul 19, 2016

Sometimes it was hard to understand the presenter. But the information is well laid out, and accurate.

By Andrew R

Jul 25, 2016

Awesome syllabus! A great introduction into Ruby on Rails in just 3 weeks!

By Valery b

Jun 03, 2017

Great theorical and practical classes. Exercices and video need to be updated for new rails and ruby version though.

By 党文亮

Dec 03, 2015

Good

By Arek S

May 04, 2018

Great teacher, good stuff.

By Caitlin C

Jan 24, 2016

The instructor is excellent, and the course has ample examples and practice assignments to help you follow along during the lectures.

By Abraham G

Dec 11, 2015

Is very usefull to start programming with ruby if you have a background from another lenguage

By Alex D T B

Nov 07, 2016

I am not native in the language of the course, but the way it was presented and practical exercises as a way of learning helped me a lot to go on absorbing the knowledge presented. So far the course has been very simple, very well explained and following it step by step, what motivates me a lot to go on.

By Juan P P S

Sep 17, 2015

I'm enjoying this course. So far one of the most complete and intuitive courses about Ruby on Rails I have ever taken.

By Ramiro R R

Sep 29, 2015

Curso muy completo.

By Jay P

Jan 30, 2016

Excellent introduction to Ruby on Rails.

By Larynx K

Nov 20, 2016

Thanks for great course.

By Fokin A

Apr 28, 2016

Прекрасный курс. Преподаватель очень хорошо подает материал, он легко усваивается. Спасибо за курс

By Nikola Đ

Mar 04, 2016

Nice and comfortable dive into world of Ruby on Rails. Very pleased!

By Fuad H

Dec 11, 2016

This is a great course. I highly recommended it!

By Jan C

Jan 03, 2016

Well put & great intro into Git, Ruby, and Rails. Covering setup and tooling for most platforms. Recommended!

By ANANDAKRISHNAN S

Dec 29, 2017

A Solid introductory course to beginning Ruby on Rails. The assignments and projects are so to the point and really helps in reinforcing what's learnt during the course. Good job team.

By steven a

Apr 05, 2017

Really enjoying this class. Instructors and classmates are very helpful when encountering issues.

By Edgar A

Feb 11, 2018

Excelent !!, I have a little problems with Ror version configuration. If you maybe should update de code version it is a perfect course .