Chevron Left
Back to Ruby on Rails: An Introduction

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Ruby on Rails: An Introduction by Johns Hopkins University

4.5
1,729 ratings
518 reviews

About the Course

Did you ever want to build a web application? Perhaps you even started down that path in a language like Java or C#, when you realized that there was so much “climbing the mountain” that you had to do? Maybe you have heard about web services being all the rage, but thought they were too complicated to integrate into your web application. Or maybe you wondered how deploying web applications to the cloud works, but there was too much to set up just to get going. In this course, we will explore how to build web applications with the Ruby on Rails web application framework, which is geared towards rapid prototyping. Yes, that means building quickly! At the conclusion of this course, you will be able to build a meaningful web application and deploy it to the “cloud” using a Heroku PaaS (Platform as a Service). Best of all, it will almost feel effortless… Really! “But wait”, you will say, “there is no way that we can build a useful application if there is no database involved. You need the data for an application to be useful.” Great point! But what if… instead of getting the data from the database, we get it from the internet by tapping into one of the web services out there that readily provides data needed by our application? “Ok, but that’s probably very complicated”, you will say. Take this course and you will be pleasantly surprised at just how easy it is!...

Top reviews

HM

Oct 01, 2017

I have played around with Ruby on Rails before but this course really helped me understand the nots and bolts. It is worth replicating all the examples shown in the videos to get a good understanding,

GC

Aug 07, 2016

One of the most challenging things I've ever done.\n\nThe course goes from zero to web deploy in 3 weeks and there are more to enjoy, discover and learn....\n\nTry it, I't's a no-return voyage

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 503 Reviews for Ruby on Rails: An Introduction

By Aishwarya S

Jun 09, 2017

An awesome course to get you started in ruby on rails web application development.

By Velthasanv@yahoo.com

Apr 07, 2018

very goos

By Zeyuan X

Feb 11, 2018

If the instructor could have less accent and lecture more fluently, the course would be better.

By Nam H H

Jun 06, 2018

Very goods

By Samir B M

Jun 09, 2017

A very well planned course, motivated to go forward!

By Vinay S S

Aug 28, 2017

This Course is absolutely phenomenal .

By Daeun Y

Mar 25, 2018

Thanks!

By Paolo P

Apr 08, 2017

Very good course. It has been very useful to understand the Ruby on Rails basis for web development.

By Vivek G

Jan 02, 2018

Excelent course! Learned a lot! Thank you Professor !!

The assignments took me much longer than the suggested 3 hours. Every task depends on having completed the previous task perfectly.The course content is good but the assignments need to be shorter and more forgiving of mistakes (i.e make the individual tasks independent of one another and pass if you get 80%).

By Subhrajit D

Apr 22, 2017

Concise and Important concepts well explained.

By Kamal P

Oct 22, 2017

I am an undergraduate engineering student and this is my first course from Coursera. I am very thankful to Coursera for providing me a great opportunity to learn a new web framework and get a verified certificate. Today after completing this course i know that i am few steps ahead on pursuing my dream. I did it ! more to come.

By Michele L

Jul 07, 2018

Great course clear and simply

By Almas

Oct 10, 2015

the best RoR course in Coursera so far!

By Sergio O

Apr 04, 2016

Great course!

This course is perfect for beginners which are interested in learning how to use a web framework with Ruby programming language.

By Eduardo R d S

Oct 12, 2015

It is a great course for Ruby newer, but with some experience in programming.

Congratulations for creators.

By The S f D

May 31, 2017

good introduction to Ruby. Second week programming assignment tougher than I was expecting ;) given the pace up to then. But learned a lot.

By Semsudin A

Feb 21, 2016

Excellent

By Kiren P

Sep 01, 2016

Very good for beginners

By Robbie H

Oct 04, 2015

Kalman Hazins is a great instructor. His lessons are well prepared, no fluff, to the point. As a bonus I can imagine getting taught by Christpher Walkin.

By Nurlan S

Jun 02, 2017

Very good organized course. Easy to understand.

By Zafar T

Oct 08, 2016

Nice introduction

By Aleksei S

Jul 16, 2016

Awesome course! Great staff.

By Silvia T

Mar 24, 2016

Great course! Thanks a lot!

By Carlos I M B

Feb 07, 2016

Very completed course for someone who want to get started with Ruby and Ruby on rails framework to get develop web applications.

By Saulo H R

Oct 20, 2015

A Complete course to learn from zero!!!