Chevron Left
Back to Ruby on Rails: An Introduction

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Ruby on Rails: An Introduction by Johns Hopkins University

4.5
1,729 ratings
518 reviews

About the Course

Did you ever want to build a web application? Perhaps you even started down that path in a language like Java or C#, when you realized that there was so much “climbing the mountain” that you had to do? Maybe you have heard about web services being all the rage, but thought they were too complicated to integrate into your web application. Or maybe you wondered how deploying web applications to the cloud works, but there was too much to set up just to get going. In this course, we will explore how to build web applications with the Ruby on Rails web application framework, which is geared towards rapid prototyping. Yes, that means building quickly! At the conclusion of this course, you will be able to build a meaningful web application and deploy it to the “cloud” using a Heroku PaaS (Platform as a Service). Best of all, it will almost feel effortless… Really! “But wait”, you will say, “there is no way that we can build a useful application if there is no database involved. You need the data for an application to be useful.” Great point! But what if… instead of getting the data from the database, we get it from the internet by tapping into one of the web services out there that readily provides data needed by our application? “Ok, but that’s probably very complicated”, you will say. Take this course and you will be pleasantly surprised at just how easy it is!...

Top reviews

HM

Oct 01, 2017

I have played around with Ruby on Rails before but this course really helped me understand the nots and bolts. It is worth replicating all the examples shown in the videos to get a good understanding,

GC

Aug 07, 2016

One of the most challenging things I've ever done.\n\nThe course goes from zero to web deploy in 3 weeks and there are more to enjoy, discover and learn....\n\nTry it, I't's a no-return voyage

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 504 Reviews for Ruby on Rails: An Introduction

By Luis M

Jan 18, 2017

Overall this is a great course, but I do wish that the written materials be revised and clarified. The course videos are great! Prof. Kalman Hazins approach is prefect for online teaching! However, the instructions for the programming assignments were not as clear as they needed to be. There was more than one occasion where I had to spend considerable time trying to figure out what was being asked. And for a newie, any amount of confusion can stop can be completely debilitating and frustrating. It can be the difference between giving up and becoming a developer.

By Deleted A

Feb 26, 2016

Great course. Thank you!

By Juan C d l P d H

Nov 05, 2016

It's absolutely fantastic.

By David S

Sep 05, 2015

Looks like a good aproach to Rails aplication development. It touchs lots of rails world things, from basic ones to more avanzed, like code testing. And the lectures show lot's of good rails gems and utilities.

I like much the point on making some initial lectures about configuring the development enviroment. In others courses I take, people were disapointed and have lots of troubles configuring a working rails enviroment.

Sure that I will take it to refresh my old knowledge on rails and sure that I learn something new by the way !

By Balaji N

Mar 07, 2016

great course to get to know about ruby on rails

By Saif A F

Apr 04, 2016

Professor Kalman Hazins is a wonderful teacher.

Initially I felt that the course wasn't structured very well but that feeling dissipated as I went ahead with the course. My only complain with this course is that the content of the assignments can sometimes be very vague. Things are sometimes introduced into the assignment which haven't even been mentioned in the lectures. That being said, you actually learn a lot by tinkering with the code.

And that is where the support comes in. The support offered by this course is absolutely fantastic. Professor Hazins takes out time to personally reply on discussion forums which is pretty great! The mentors are A+ too.

Overall, I would recommend it.

By Yury Z

Jun 11, 2016

Excellent, practical oriented methodology, with strong enough theoretical background. Exercises and examples are especially good. They allows experienced developers who didn't faced up with Ruby easily get Ruby specific things, without boring oversimplified assignments, and in the same way the course contain all necessary details which allow even novice developers to complete exercises with no external help.

By Renier R

Oct 05, 2015

Great course.

Starts from scratch, explaining how to setup dev environment to creating a working web app

By hina g

Jun 04, 2017

good learning.All the basic concepts are covered.. I recommend to everyone

By Dion S B

Jun 20, 2016

The ability to self grade is a huge advantage to moving at your own pace. Great introduction to RoR.

By Yan M

Nov 02, 2015

Nice introduction course. Videos are short and informative. Assignments are a bit easy but that's OK for introductory course.

By Darlyn D V B

Aug 10, 2016

Great course, great explanations, very useful.

By 朱勇宣

Feb 26, 2016

great course

By Hasanuzzaman s

Jun 21, 2017

It was helpful course.

By Pratik C

Sep 19, 2017

E

p

I

c

I

n

t

r

o

d

u

c

t

o

r

y

c

o

u

r

s

e

By Hugo A C

Oct 21, 2015

This is a great course, You learn all the basics concepts of RoR.

By Xu B

Sep 29, 2015

Pretty good introduction

By Luiz A R R

Oct 06, 2015

The course is not only very didactic and general in some aspects, it's also a course that teaches great usable content beyond the just ruby on rails panorama.

By Orlando S d N J

Oct 02, 2015

Excelent course to learn Rails ! Thanks a lot !

By Eron F d C J

Mar 17, 2016

Professor Hazins has a wonderful way to teach and each lesson is ideally designed to provide the user a full understanding of Ruby and Ruby on Rails. It by far one of the best courses I have ever taken here, on Coursera.

By Roman

Oct 02, 2015

Very interesting course, good teacher - its really interesting to see video lectures and understandable! Great job guys!

By Scott B

Jan 03, 2017

This course provided very accessible startup material. The most valuable piece, I think, was the introduction to Git - it provides a very powerful tool set for its users.

By REMY S

Nov 19, 2016

A Great MERCI to all the staff Professor and Moderators !!!

By Kevin J

Mar 21, 2016

Really great resources + lectures to help for a cool introduction. Really like the available code in the github which helped me better understand the material past the lectures.

By Bagus A S

Jan 10, 2016

I happy to learn Rails