Chevron Left
Back to Ruby on Rails: An Introduction

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Ruby on Rails: An Introduction by Johns Hopkins University

4.5
1,727 ratings
518 reviews

About the Course

Did you ever want to build a web application? Perhaps you even started down that path in a language like Java or C#, when you realized that there was so much “climbing the mountain” that you had to do? Maybe you have heard about web services being all the rage, but thought they were too complicated to integrate into your web application. Or maybe you wondered how deploying web applications to the cloud works, but there was too much to set up just to get going. In this course, we will explore how to build web applications with the Ruby on Rails web application framework, which is geared towards rapid prototyping. Yes, that means building quickly! At the conclusion of this course, you will be able to build a meaningful web application and deploy it to the “cloud” using a Heroku PaaS (Platform as a Service). Best of all, it will almost feel effortless… Really! “But wait”, you will say, “there is no way that we can build a useful application if there is no database involved. You need the data for an application to be useful.” Great point! But what if… instead of getting the data from the database, we get it from the internet by tapping into one of the web services out there that readily provides data needed by our application? “Ok, but that’s probably very complicated”, you will say. Take this course and you will be pleasantly surprised at just how easy it is!...

Top reviews

HM

Oct 01, 2017

I have played around with Ruby on Rails before but this course really helped me understand the nots and bolts. It is worth replicating all the examples shown in the videos to get a good understanding,

GC

Aug 07, 2016

One of the most challenging things I've ever done.\n\nThe course goes from zero to web deploy in 3 weeks and there are more to enjoy, discover and learn....\n\nTry it, I't's a no-return voyage

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 503 Reviews for Ruby on Rails: An Introduction

By Miguel S

Dec 04, 2017

Very nice course to get stated with ruby on rails

By Begoña H G

Mar 21, 2016

Wonderful course!

By Mitalee M

Nov 08, 2015

excellent assignments and practice!

By Alexander T

Feb 12, 2016

A very nice and clear course, nice introduction, a very cool hands-on TDD style of grading. Good intro to Ruby as well.

By Pablo M G

Dec 30, 2016

Excellent course.

By meliani o e f

Feb 27, 2016

best rails into ever

By Giuseppe V

Feb 28, 2016

I really liked this course! I learned a lot about ruby and the way the professor teach us is really great! It's not annoying like other videos or books for those who doesn't like to read too much (like me) Amazing job! thanks you for everything

By Romayne W

Oct 04, 2015

Very Good first step into ruby on rails

By Michael B

May 02, 2016

Good intro, nice to mix in the various concepts that I will be working with as well (Heroku, Git, etc.). Also appreciated the Java comparisons since I have been working in Java for 15 years.

By Utku K

Mar 18, 2017

Very good introductory course

By Bhargav S G

Aug 14, 2016

thanks for upgrading my level ;)

By Von H G

Apr 26, 2016

Excellent. Very deep approach for devs reaching ruby.

By Daopeng S

Jun 24, 2016

A good introduction course for Ruby on Rails. Thanks for providing this course.

By Pham T D

Dec 25, 2016

very good instruction!

By Tran T D

Dec 02, 2015

Goods!

By Moez B

Jul 12, 2016

Excellent job. Great course.

By Viacheslav S

Dec 27, 2016

This course is really well done (structure, material, examples, tests etc.). It is especially useful for people who already know some programming language. It provides a complete representation of good application (git, tests (rspec + Capybara + phantomjs) , heroku, using some API etc).

The course contains only 3 modules, but this modules contains essential information for junior RoR developer.

Also I'd recommend to read "Head First Ruby" during the course. The course and the book helped me to dive into ruby during one week.

By Carlos P

Oct 04, 2016

Excelente curso para aprender desarrollo de aplicaciones web en Ruby on Rails

By umesh g

Apr 21, 2016

Awsomn!

By Guillaume S

Oct 10, 2016

Great course !

By Sergei K

Sep 28, 2015

This is the best online course for Ruby on Rails I have ever seen so far.

By Vitor D

Dec 03, 2015

Very well structured introductory course.

By Bernard L d V

Apr 15, 2016

Nice course, lots of information. I liked the level not being too low or too high. The level is nice for if you have programming experience, but have no experience with developing web applications.

Cheers, Ben

By 江智彬

Jan 13, 2016

This is my first time to program with Ruby. This course lets me have fun with Ruby Programming. Thank all of you sincerely !

By Lidia U

Jun 03, 2017

Very good course! Though I was totaly new to the programming material, it was quite easy to follow. Thank you Kalman very much!!