Chevron Left
Back to Seismic tomography: look inside the Earth

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Seismic tomography: look inside the Earth by Novosibirsk State University

4.8
stars
42 ratings
11 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to the course “Seismic tomography: Look inside the Earth”. We will speak about the use of seismic tomography and its mathematical base, we’ll learn about earthquakes and find out how they start, also we’ll conduct some experiments and go on an expedition to Kamchatka. By the end of the course you’ll know the basics of seismology and how to use the technical instruments and programs in practice. So it doesn't matter what level you’re on. Complex things are explained with simple and accessible language. Geophysists, mathematicians, geologists, geochemists, petrologists, engineers and everyone interested will find a lot of new information and get the access to the author's research methods and scientific algorithms that are used by seismologists all over the world. The adventure begins!...

Top reviews

YJ
Nov 15, 2021

I love this course! It was taught in a very intuitive way and went through most fundamental things about seismic modeling. Good entry level course for geophysics.

JN
Jul 4, 2021

It was challenging and really fascinating to learn this course and I loved the time I've spent being a part of this. Thank you.

Filter by:

1 - 11 of 11 Reviews for Seismic tomography: look inside the Earth

By Christian J C

Dec 21, 2020

Great course! Looking forward to more advanced seismic stuff in the future from Dr. Ivan. What makes this course more interesting is that it comes with free software. You can test your data right away!

By Daniel A A C

Jan 11, 2021

This was such an excellent course! I enjoyed every single lesson :) 100% Recommended for geoscientists!

By Zaw M H

Dec 18, 2020

Good course and give a solid foundation on seismic tomography

By Miguel a P R

Jan 14, 2021

El curso está muy bien orientado y complementa mis conocimientos sísmicos con metodologías que en Chile no manejaba, con este curso podre aplicar en mi trabajo de campo una nueva herramienta de análisis para estudiar los sismos

By John N

Jul 5, 2021

It was challenging and really fascinating to learn this course and I loved the time I've spent being a part of this. Thank you.

By Yifeng J

Nov 15, 2021

I love this course! It was taught in a very intuitive way and went through most fundamental things about seismic modeling. Good entry level course for geophysics.

By Andres M T C

Nov 17, 2021

Great course, the test were very challenging

By Cristhian D Q G

Sep 16, 2021

Excellent course!

By fadi y a

Jul 15, 2021

very well made!

By Xuezi H

Apr 8, 2021

Good introduction course. The illustrtion of the software is great, but some explainations are confusing, especially when it comes to the mathematical modelling bits, where more rigour is obviously desired. But it is overall a good course to have a sense of what inversion modelling is and what its applications in different cases would like to be.

By Cristian S

Sep 11, 2021

The topic is quite interesting, I found that the source data of the examples was not completely clear, so the algorithms are a blackbox and are not user friendly. For a future edition of the course, an example presenting the whole data from the field experiment to the use of the code would be appreciated.