Chevron Left
Back to Server-side Development with NodeJS, Express and MongoDB

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Server-side Development with NodeJS, Express and MongoDB by The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

4.7
stars
2,338 ratings
628 reviews

About the Course

This course deals with all things server-side. We base the entire course around the NodeJS platform. We start with a brief overview of the Web protocols: HTTP and HTTPS. We examine NodeJS and NodeJS modules: Express for building web servers. On the database side, we review basic CRUD operations, NoSQL databases, in particular MongoDB and Mongoose for accessing MongoDB from NodeJS. We examine the REST concepts and building a RESTful API. We touch upon authentication and security. Finally we review backend as a service (BaaS) approaches, including mobile BaaS, both open-source and commercial BaaS services. At the end of this course, you will be able to: - Demonstrate an understanding of server-side concepts, CRUD and REST - Build and configure a backend server using NodeJS framework - Build a RESTful API for the front-end to access backend services...

Top reviews

SM
Nov 4, 2018

This is really good course to understand the concept of NodeJs and Mr Jogesh has explained in earch and every bit of the code.Really worth it and appreaciated all who all worked behind this course.

AS
Aug 28, 2021

One of the best course available on Coursera for server side development. A lot has been covered .One change could have been made, instead of HTTPS module one week could have been dedicated to EJS.

Filter by:

551 - 575 of 633 Reviews for Server-side Development with NodeJS, Express and MongoDB

By Mohd S I

Sep 2, 2020

The course is really good but the course duration must be at least 6 weeks. Completing this course within 4 weeks along with University-related work is kinda tough.

By Hemant S

Apr 2, 2020

The course was good one thing needs an improvement instead of using postman sir should explain it using front end HTML code that will be more understandable.

By DEEP M

Jun 12, 2020

ALMOST ALL CONCEPTS COVERED RELATED TO BACK-END. PROF. JOGESH HAS COVERD ALL THE RELEVANT THEOREY REQUIRED FOR A STARTER TO UNDERSTAND THE CONCEPTS.

By Hasith V M

May 10, 2020

The content is good and clear and sometimes too basic. Sometimes the lecturer's English is a bit difficult to understand but overall a good course.

By Md. D I

Nov 28, 2020

actually wanted to give 4.5...the course material and the instructor is really good...but a little more explanation would have been much better...

By JUAN E E C

Sep 2, 2020

It is a good course to near a little bit about how to create a server easily!! this course don't use async await, just promises

By meet d

Jun 9, 2020

It covers all the fundamentals of the backend. I would suggest you, take the frontend course first and then start this course.

By MRINMOY S

Nov 22, 2019

Good course to get with started with javascript and NodeJs. Lectures are well structured and assignments are easy but helpful.

By Chuanqi Z

Feb 18, 2019

Still believe the assignment could be more challenging. But good for experienced developer to know about node.js framework

By HANIEL O B

Dec 16, 2020

In general it was well explained course, but i have to say that to the end, it get a bit monotonous.

By José I

May 16, 2018

Little old, many samples don't work in current library versions. You have to look for workarounds.

By Mayank V

Jun 8, 2020

Quizzes can increase productivity of this course.

Awesome learning experience:)

By Jegadeeswaran

Jan 2, 2019

Nice Explanation with best practises. But Example is not that musch effective.

By DHRUMIL S

May 5, 2019

One of the best course on the internet to learn server-side development.

By Chi C L

Apr 14, 2020

very good course for basic knowledge about nodejs, express and mongodb

By Constantinos H

Feb 24, 2021

Very good course for learning how to develop the server-side part.

By Azmihar A M

Jul 20, 2020

Very clear and comprehensive presentations and materials provided

By ahmed m

May 10, 2021

I learn many new concepts in node.js server-side... thank you

By Mohamed S P A R

May 26, 2019

Exceptionally well articulated course that covers end to end.

By Rohit R

Jun 22, 2021

It was great course for Everyone who wants to learn Backend

By Niall M

May 25, 2020

good honest course - lecturer approach is very grounded

By Dhir T

May 25, 2020

Excellent course. Taught everything from the ground up

By Sahil S M

May 24, 2020

Besst Course. Really gets you to coding on your own.

By venkatesh m

Aug 13, 2020

Having good knowledge in all the modules very well

By KUMAR S

Sep 27, 2020

It was great learning this course from the start.