Chevron Left
Back to Server-side Development with NodeJS, Express and MongoDB

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Server-side Development with NodeJS, Express and MongoDB by The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

4.7
stars
2,155 ratings
573 reviews

About the Course

This course deals with all things server-side. We base the entire course around the NodeJS platform. We start with a brief overview of the Web protocols: HTTP and HTTPS. We examine NodeJS and NodeJS modules: Express for building web servers. On the database side, we review basic CRUD operations, NoSQL databases, in particular MongoDB and Mongoose for accessing MongoDB from NodeJS. We examine the REST concepts and building a RESTful API. We touch upon authentication and security. Finally we review backend as a service (BaaS) approaches, including mobile BaaS, both open-source and commercial BaaS services. At the end of this course, you will be able to: - Demonstrate an understanding of server-side concepts, CRUD and REST - Build and configure a backend server using NodeJS framework - Build a RESTful API for the front-end to access backend services...

Top reviews

SM
Nov 4, 2018

This is really good course to understand the concept of NodeJs and Mr Jogesh has explained in earch and every bit of the code.Really worth it and appreaciated all who all worked behind this course.

SS
Jul 20, 2019

Good course on Nodejs and MongoDB. It will be helpful, if the instructor add another section of in additional resources for deployment of website for real server(not third party free services).

Filter by:

551 - 570 of 570 Reviews for Server-side Development with NodeJS, Express and MongoDB

By PANKAJ K M

Jul 2, 2020

The course;s beggining is good with starting from basics and give the concise information but after week2 it tends to be boring and does not cover basics well rather it covers advance level concepts. Instead of 4 assignments there should be 8 assignments i.e. reach week 2 assignments and it should be of moderate level as present assignments are quite high level .

By Scott V

Feb 6, 2020

The material was great. That said, there were some documentation that was erroneous, the course is a bit outdated, and the peer review component to this course cause a multi day delay. It took several days to review 3 peers.

All in all, I would recommend this course to others

By Gonzalo T

Jul 27, 2020

There are a several parts of the course that are outdated or parts that are not well understood. moreover, the course is in Javascript. It would be much better if you update it to Typescript beyond the official documentation. Thanks for the course!

By Yuichiro M

Nov 3, 2019

This course covers the full-stack server side REST API development.

You need to have a very good background of Javascript.

The lecturer explains very detailed but the exercise is a little bit long.

By Rami M

Dec 1, 2020

The explanation was not so clear, and the course has a lot of new ideas, the overall was not so clear for me, and I always needed to go to other recourses to understand the unclear information.

By Devansh J

Apr 28, 2020

the course was great but at last they didn't tell describe how to integrate client with backend. Instead, they opened written code and was just iterating what was written. very disappointing.

By Ilia K

Dec 21, 2020

Good material, but presenting is boring. Some JS moments are out of date

By Sourav P

Aug 30, 2019

Content must be updated to support new versions of the packages.

By Nafisur A

Apr 26, 2019

Contents are pretty old. Many syntax has got changed.

By Peter F

Jan 12, 2021

Good content, a bit long winded and tedious

By Kunal G

Jun 27, 2020

This course is now really very outdated...

By Hari S S

Dec 4, 2018

Good course but could have been better

By pushkar m

Feb 22, 2021

not up to date

By Rizvaan M

Jul 20, 2020

The course content should be updated to the latest versions of the modules used. It is quite difficult to follow along the with the older versions of the modules.

By Shreyas R

May 11, 2020

Entire code must be shared at the end of the week.

Especially Week 3 and 4 where haphazardly done.

By Elias C M

Aug 19, 2020

The content is out of date. The instructor does not lay out the algorithm beforehand as comments so people can follow and understand the thinking. The naming of variables and objects is completely horrible. This course must be redone. There are so many better REACT courses people can take. I had to take an equivalent of every course in this specialization to better understand. I'm sure that the instructor is a lovely human being, but this is one of the worse courses of all time.

By Saurabh K

Apr 27, 2021

Extremely slow, extremely boring. The course content hasn't been updated in years it seems. Several techniques, methods and functions used in the course are deprecated an no longer supported.

By XALPHAGOD

Apr 3, 2021

Outdated Course, most of the teaching methodology has been deprecated

By AMAAN K

Nov 18, 2020

integration not explained properly

By Najib V

Apr 8, 2021

Totally deprecated!