Chevron Left
Back to Serverless Data Analysis with Google BigQuery and Cloud Dataflow

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Serverless Data Analysis with Google BigQuery and Cloud Dataflow by Google Cloud

4.5
2,794 ratings
277 reviews

About the Course

This 1-week, accelerated on-demand course builds upon Google Cloud Platform Big Data and Machine Learning Fundamentals. Through a combination of instructor-led presentations, demonstrations, and hands-on labs, students learn how to carry out no-ops data warehousing, analysis and pipeline processing. Prerequisites: • Google Cloud Platform Big Data and Machine Learning Fundamentals • Experience using a SQL-like query language to analyze data • Knowledge of either Python or Java Google Account Notes: • Google services are currently unavailable in China....

Top reviews

EL

Dec 12, 2018

The combination of Java and python is sometimes a bit confusing. Maybe it would be better to split the course in a java and a python version so all the Beam concepts are taught in a single language.

MB

Jul 21, 2019

Thanks for designing such a wonderful course outline. I learned valuabe BigQuery and Cloud Dataflow concepts. Best part was to learn how to write data pipelines and execute on cloud using Dataflow.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 276 Reviews for Serverless Data Analysis with Google BigQuery and Cloud Dataflow

By Narasimharao K

Jul 05, 2017

Although the course content is good. Some of the videos on the course needs editing as they are duplicate and also for some videos continuity feels missing as they tend to stop abruptly

By Kiran R M

Aug 14, 2017

Very good and detailed explanation with hands-on lab work.

By Joye L

May 12, 2018

A very good introductory course for using bigquery and Dataflow

By Serhii Y

Jun 02, 2018

Last 3 labs missing Python version.

By BN1974SF

Feb 08, 2018

Some of the labs did not work seamlessly.

By Chaz R

Oct 17, 2017

While the course content was very informative, there was not enough about the Google Cloud Data Engineering certification exam - specifically, what material would or would not be on it. In fact the certification was not even mentioned. Some mention would be helpful, given that's the primary reason most folks are taking this course.

I was also a bit nonplussed by the way all of the code is just handed to you, so that the labs end up being "run this," "run that," "use this script to run this other thing." While I appreciate these services are complex and teaching students to write them from scratch would be time-consuming, there really must be a better way to do this than simply handing over huge chunks of code and saying, "Run this one command to make it all magically happen." The reason this was necessary was, all the scripts had lots of hacks and gotchas and handling of things that could go wrong - that's a sign the Google Cloud Platform needs some smoothing out. What happens when "certified" data engineers who have no idea what's going on manage to pass the certification, and get into a job, and are totally lost? (Answer: It's going to greatly de-value the certification.)

This definitely felt like a no-coding-skills-required course, and from some of the discussions going on on the discussion boards, it seems like there are a sizeable number of students in that category.

By David R

Feb 08, 2018

Nice. A bit more serious than the last two. Looking forward to the next one.

By Sanjeev B

May 27, 2018

Enjoyed

By Colin A

Oct 09, 2017

some wonkiness with the python labs in module 2

By Andrea T

Feb 25, 2018

Maybe a bit more explanation of apache beam syntax would help... it's a bit hard to understand for novice users

By Azharali V

May 02, 2019

Its good content to explore on Data Analysis on BigQuery and Cloud DatFlow.

By BOKOVE E

Apr 22, 2019

J'ai appris beaucoup de choses sur la manipulation des données représentées dans des colonnes et des flux de données avec les outils tel que : GCS, BigQuery, SQL, Python, Java et Dataflow.

By Alvaro R F

Apr 27, 2019

Cool

By Logan J H

May 12, 2019

Good overview of technologies. Not very challenging.

By Paripol T

Apr 08, 2019

Nice course

By Ritesh

May 16, 2019

It teaches you how to use the GCP products for the data analysis.

By Ashwin S

May 28, 2019

good

By Dinesh C

Jun 05, 2019

Good intro to BigQuery & DataFlow

By Maciek S

Jun 06, 2019

Generally OK, but I'd say it'd be better if Java and Python "tracks" would be separate courses for consistency sake.

By jefferson f n

Jun 23, 2019

This course prepared me to lead with real pipelines. Now I'm confident to create my own pipelines with python.

By Marcos F

Jun 30, 2019

Too much information for one week. I dont know if I can to process all info. I think the course would be for 2 weeks. Good course anyway

By Solieman E

Jul 02, 2019

I think there are more can be provided in this course. It is still a good introduction to BigQuery and a short introduction to Dataflow.

By Rennan G S C

Jul 07, 2019

Ótimo curso! Achei o tópico sobre Dataflow um pouco confuso, mas consegui compreender realizando os laboratórios do curso.

By Muhammad U S

Jul 31, 2019

Course could have been better if the labs contain some challenges regarding the dataflow pipeline. For instance, it must have contained some tasks where user have to write the apache beam pipeline.

By Joaquin C A

Jul 31, 2019

The labs could be more interactive in terms of checking if students understood the concepts and code included in the procedures, otherwise it was very informative.