Chevron Left
Back to Six Sigma Principles

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Six Sigma Principles by University System of Georgia

4.6
stars
5,756 ratings
1,394 reviews

About the Course

This course is for you if you are looking to learn more about Six Sigma or refresh your knowledge of the basic components of Six Sigma and Lean. Six Sigma skills are widely sought by employers both nationally and internationally. These skills have been proven to help improve business processes and performance. This course will introduce you to the purpose of Six Sigma and its value to an organization. You will learn about the basic principles of Six Sigma and Lean. Your instructors will introduce you to, and have you apply, some of the tools and metrics that are critical components of Six Sigma. This course will provide you with the basic knowledge of the principles, roles, and responsibilities of Six Sigma and Lean. Every module will include readings, videos, and a quiz to help make sure you understand the material and concepts that are studied. You will also have the opportunity to participate in discussions and peer review exercises to give you the opportunity to apply the material to your daily life. Our applied curriculum is built around the latest handbook The Certified Six Sigma Handbook (2nd edition) and students will develop /learn the fundamentals of Six Sigma. Registration includes online access to course content, projects, and resources but does not include the companion text The Certified Six Sigma Handbook (2nd edition). The companion text is not required to complete the assignments. However, the text is a recognized handbook used by professionals in the field. Also, it is a highly recommended text for those wishing to move forward in Six Sigma and eventually gain certification from professional agencies such as American Society for Quality (ASQ)....

Top reviews

PS
Sep 10, 2020

Great course for begineers!! I suggest this course to those who are new to industry and dont know anything! Concepts are very well explained! Thanks Coursera! Thanks NOVARTIS FOR SPONSORING THE COURSE

KS
May 29, 2020

This course gives you a good overview of why six sigma and lean are necessary. It also gives you an understanding of how team dynamics play important roles and how brainstorming is an effective tool.

Filter by:

1076 - 1100 of 1,408 Reviews for Six Sigma Principles

By Prathamesh k

Apr 1, 2020

Truly I had a great experience learning with Coursera & all the faculty of University of Georgia were good. All the slides & teaching stuff presented were up to the mark. Thank you.

By Pradeep K

May 9, 2020

The course is very impactful and holistic. However it would have been improved further if course materials prepared by the professors are provided at the beginning of the week.

By Rahul

May 25, 2019

The course was immensely informative. Having said that, week 1 contained lot of technical jargon and there was less coordination between the presenter and the slide content.

By Federico

Aug 30, 2020

Useful and interesting topics, well explained and structured. I give four stars because I would have liked a higher level of insight and some additional practical example.

By Jason P

Jun 17, 2021

I appreciate this introduction course to Six Sigma through Coursera. It helped me understand Six Sigma Principles, and how to navigate online learning by using Coursera.

By Jayesh T

May 12, 2020

learning from coursera was was fun. i actually learn a lot from it, the assignment and video were totally interesting. I gain lot of knowledge from it. thanks coursera

By Richard S

Apr 4, 2020

Week 1 introductions: The slides did not match the voice-over making it difficult to decide which ones to follow. Rest of the course was very clear and easy to follow.

By Royston F D

May 11, 2020

A great course to learn the basics of six sigma! A lot of concepts. However, the course also depends on your reading of the mentioned book, which has to be purchased.

By Jan K

Apr 29, 2020

A lot of good information for the beginning. Unfortunately the course uses really expensive book. Quizzes are based on the book reading even the book is facultative.

By Georgia L C

Apr 18, 2020

Very nice training with highly usefull information which were very well explained. I would love it if there were more exercises to practice our knowledge. Thank you!

By Manali G

Apr 2, 2019

This was a very intuitive course. Lean methodologies is something that are best understood when implemented and this course provides good knowledge to do the same.

By Tushar M

May 9, 2021

The course is really good if you want to get basic knowledge of six sigma. A brief introduction of various tools used and how to make six sigma project effective.

By Mr U V

Aug 21, 2020

The course is very good but it prompts more often to read the recommended book. The organizers should provide sufficient reading material for more understanding.

By Joshua A

Mar 29, 2021

thoroughly engaging and educative course on six sigma........The Professors made the course very enlightening with their teaching styles.................

By Andrey K

Apr 17, 2020

Quality of slides and lectures could be somewhat better, more practical exercises would greatly increase value. But overall, I am happy with the course.

By Giancarlo C

Feb 13, 2021

the course is excellent but without the supporting book it would have been almost useless. The chapters to be studied should be included in the course.

By Anas A

Jul 14, 2020

Very useful except the week 1 was unnecessary,and please put less information in slides in order not to be distracted between listening and reading.

By Suleman A

Dec 16, 2018

Clean and easy to follow. Could be improved with better visuals.

This was basically like having someone read a textbook to you, which was pretty good.

By Ariana B

Apr 19, 2021

Informative although the recommended reading book was too expensive. I would have benefitted from another more affordable reading option as well.

By Manoj C P

Apr 2, 2020

Training content is very effective and useful to enhance and improve any process in organisation and to perform any activity in a systematic way.

By Nader G E J

Dec 20, 2020

Insightful course and well organized. Would have liked to have more details and reading documents available with the course at no extra cost .

By Dhawal D B

Jan 30, 2021

you can add more industrial experts interview and how they got benefitted with six sigma. It add more curosity and respect towards the course

By Deen M K S

Jul 22, 2020

However at the beginning, I think it would be tough but then I optimised with it. Loved it....Wanna to complete more of like this courses

By Luis B S

Jun 17, 2020

Great course to get the basic knowledge of what is six sigma and lean, i am looking forward to do the other courses of the specialization

By Muskan k

Jun 11, 2020

Very good content! Learnt organisational skills thanks you instructor for brilliant Presentation to understand every components easily!!!