Chevron Left
Back to Six Sigma Principles

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Six Sigma Principles by University System of Georgia

4.7
stars
5,874 ratings
1,412 reviews

About the Course

This course is for you if you are looking to learn more about Six Sigma or refresh your knowledge of the basic components of Six Sigma and Lean. Six Sigma skills are widely sought by employers both nationally and internationally. These skills have been proven to help improve business processes and performance. This course will introduce you to the purpose of Six Sigma and its value to an organization. You will learn about the basic principles of Six Sigma and Lean. Your instructors will introduce you to, and have you apply, some of the tools and metrics that are critical components of Six Sigma. This course will provide you with the basic knowledge of the principles, roles, and responsibilities of Six Sigma and Lean. Every module will include readings, videos, and a quiz to help make sure you understand the material and concepts that are studied. You will also have the opportunity to participate in discussions and peer review exercises to give you the opportunity to apply the material to your daily life. Our applied curriculum is built around the latest handbook The Certified Six Sigma Handbook (2nd edition) and students will develop /learn the fundamentals of Six Sigma. Registration includes online access to course content, projects, and resources but does not include the companion text The Certified Six Sigma Handbook (2nd edition). The companion text is not required to complete the assignments. However, the text is a recognized handbook used by professionals in the field. Also, it is a highly recommended text for those wishing to move forward in Six Sigma and eventually gain certification from professional agencies such as American Society for Quality (ASQ)....

Top reviews

PS
Sep 10, 2020

Great course for begineers!! I suggest this course to those who are new to industry and dont know anything! Concepts are very well explained! Thanks Coursera! Thanks NOVARTIS FOR SPONSORING THE COURSE

KS
May 29, 2020

This course gives you a good overview of why six sigma and lean are necessary. It also gives you an understanding of how team dynamics play important roles and how brainstorming is an effective tool.

Filter by:

1376 - 1400 of 1,425 Reviews for Six Sigma Principles

By Taher A

Mar 6, 2019

Need more examples for tools application

By Omar A O

Oct 9, 2019

i needed the course without using books

By Sivasankar N

Sep 25, 2018

some questions are not relate to the vi

By Thomas P

Feb 25, 2021

Too long and inapropried to my job

By Rohan B

Sep 30, 2020

QUITE OFTEN ASKING TO READ A BOOK.

By Gautam g

Sep 11, 2019

The course videos are very fast

By Ammar H

Mar 4, 2019

really good course but its hard

By Manuel B

Apr 10, 2020

Good for high school students

By yashpawani

Oct 11, 2019

More Explanation is required

By Rudy W

Feb 4, 2020

Nice, concise introduction!

By Qian Z

Jul 21, 2019

The pace is a bit too fast.

By Allen I R R E

Feb 5, 2021

n

e

e

d

a

b

e

t

t

e

r

c

o

m

e

n

t

a

t

o

r

By Alessandro P

Feb 10, 2020

quite basic information.

By Jefry R R

Feb 2, 2019

I need more practice.

By JOSEPH S

Mar 31, 2021

Pretty good stuff

By Julio A

Oct 24, 2019

Good course!!

By Ketepalli S D S P

Aug 6, 2020

Its nice.

By BINDU V G (

Apr 22, 2020

GOOD

By Joel S

Jul 28, 2021

Course is very outdated, dry and really boring. Course material, slides etc. would benefit from an update/refresh to bring it up to today's look and feel and make it more dynamic. The course narrator is desperate for a glass of water. He's so parched, you could hear his tongue sticking to his lips and the roof of his mouth throughout the entire course. That was really off-putting and dare I say - gross! The whole course looks and sounds like a lost remnant from a 1990s corporate training video - right down to the brown and yellow color. Come on, it's 2021 - update with more timely examples and modern digital content.

By Moataz A

Jun 13, 2021

The course relies too much on reading the book. Which is not why we took the course. If we wanted to read the book we could've.

The instructors' presentations are very vague and all they do is just read what's written there... There is no practical assignments or hands-on training.

Overall, the course and the specialization is very weak.

By Aviral P

Apr 10, 2020

The course is designed around the need to buy a book for the course which is currently unavailable in my country. Like all other courses on coursera, the author should have made available the excerpts required to be read online without the requirement of buying a book for the same

By ERIK M

May 7, 2021

I find some of the principles included in this course to be interesting, however, the fact that 75% of the examples relate to manufacturing make it difficult to picture how these principles can be applied to my current position and the duties I perform daily.

By David M

Oct 8, 2020

I think the course is ok but relies too heavily on the book which is not supplied and the quiz also relies heavily on the book and if you do not have it you cannot get answers for incorrect remarks

By Gürkan B

Nov 4, 2020

The slides and the trainer do not add a lot of value. Reading the recommended handbook provides the same benefit. Slides are difficult to follow. Presentations are not engaging.

By Jessilyn K

Sep 14, 2020

The instructor for this course was very monotone and showed no excitement for this. Additionally, none of the items spoken about on the lectures were given on the quiz.