Chevron Left
Back to Six Sigma Principles

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Six Sigma Principles by University System of Georgia

4.6
stars
5,209 ratings
1,293 reviews

About the Course

This course is for you if you are looking to learn more about Six Sigma or refresh your knowledge of the basic components of Six Sigma and Lean. Six Sigma skills are widely sought by employers both nationally and internationally. These skills have been proven to help improve business processes and performance. This course will introduce you to the purpose of Six Sigma and its value to an organization. You will learn about the basic principles of Six Sigma and Lean. Your instructors will introduce you to, and have you apply, some of the tools and metrics that are critical components of Six Sigma. This course will provide you with the basic knowledge of the principles, roles, and responsibilities of Six Sigma and Lean. Every module will include readings, videos, and a quiz to help make sure you understand the material and concepts that are studied. You will also have the opportunity to participate in discussions and peer review exercises to give you the opportunity to apply the material to your daily life. Our applied curriculum is built around the latest handbook The Certified Six Sigma Handbook (2nd edition) and students will develop /learn the fundamentals of Six Sigma. Registration includes online access to course content, projects, and resources but does not include the companion text The Certified Six Sigma Handbook (2nd edition). The companion text is not required to complete the assignments. However, the text is a recognized handbook used by professionals in the field. Also, it is a highly recommended text for those wishing to move forward in Six Sigma and eventually gain certification from professional agencies such as American Society for Quality (ASQ)....

Top reviews

PS
Sep 10, 2020

Great course for begineers!! I suggest this course to those who are new to industry and dont know anything! Concepts are very well explained! Thanks Coursera! Thanks NOVARTIS FOR SPONSORING THE COURSE

KS
May 29, 2020

This course gives you a good overview of why six sigma and lean are necessary. It also gives you an understanding of how team dynamics play important roles and how brainstorming is an effective tool.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 1,287 Reviews for Six Sigma Principles

By GUSTAVO V D S

Sep 10, 2017

Really good course! I liked that the videos aren't long, and it was easy to keep up the schedule of the modules. The content is really satisfactory for the introduction of six sigma principles. Congratulations to Coursera, Georgia University System and the professors involved! Can't wait for the next courses!

By Mamuka M

Feb 22, 2020

Good methodology for quality control especially using various analytical charts. Six Sigma tools help you to properly identify problem and find solution to offer better product to the customer. It's closer to Continuous Improvement tool that ultimately give you experience with Project Management.

By Md. I M

Jun 9, 2020

Most enjoyable course ever cause i know a new things about business area. Six sigma principles which syllabus makes in a way that is very nicely arranges for all students to learn easily & captured even all of the video lectures are just splendid, fabulous. Wish a good service, thanks again.

By niket l

Oct 11, 2020

This course has been a perfect walkthrough for understanding the principles and methodologies behind the Six Sigma Principles. The course has been tailored in an excellent manner to make the reader understand effectively. Also, the quizzes are perfectly set up based on the difficulty.

By SARAI K K

Nov 1, 2017

I take this opportunity to thank Coursera for facilitating such unique courses in the field of management. This course is very useful for those who wanted to understand and apply basic principles of Six Sigma in work processes. Overall lectures were good and informative.

By ashish k

Sep 21, 2020

Good course easy to understand , It help us to understand the role of the team work , team effort , Lean six Sigma , Role of KANBAN, JIT , Poke yoke. I Personally feels that every manager to do this course who is handling team and projects need to do this course .

By Umais n

Jun 5, 2020

i have learned basic lean six sigma principles and their methodologies , how to conduct a project and how much team management is important for the success of over all objective of the organization. six sigma tools and many other terminologies were of great use to me

By Kunal C

Oct 4, 2019

To me as a beginner from a technical background, the course was informative for understanding the in-depth basics and how these basics can be applied in the organization. Additionally, the quizzes helped me a lot to work upon myself and have a better understanding.

By Deepak P

Jun 2, 2019

It is a very useful course for everyone who aspires to learn Six Sigma. For a student, it is very much useful for him/her to acquire the available opportunities and for an industrial person it helps in the betterment of his/her career as well as the organization.

By Gonzalo M

Aug 8, 2020

I think the course is really good, every chapter is very clearly explained and it uses simple but effective words to describe each concept, which makes it easy for people who don't speak English as a first language to follow. I would highly recommend the course

By Mattia F

Feb 7, 2021

Great introduction to six sigma, as a quality professional I had some knowledge about these topics but the course helped me to get evrything in the right order and learn new methods for my job. Let's move on with the next course on the specialization.

By Gaurav S

Aug 21, 2018

This is a good starter course to get the understanding of basic concepts of Six sigma and Lean. This can definitely be used as a foundation on which higher levels of Six sigma can be built upon. Highly recommend to everyone interested in this field.

By Panchami G

Jul 9, 2020

The course journey was highly informative and interesting. It is an asset in the Balance Sheet of my knowledge. I thank the University as well as Coursera for offering this certificate course.

-Panchami G

Sri Sathya Sai Institute of Higher Learning

By DINESH K S

May 1, 2020

This is the best for skills improvements, all are skills (leader ship skills, organization leadership skills, problem solving skills, quality skills, motivation skill, etc) practices in this management course. This will help for my career goal.

By Diego S

Nov 20, 2018

Having knowledge of what is spoken in the videos helps a lot to orientate during the lessons, however, new topics help to enrich the previous knowledge that one has is a very good course that encourages you to continue until completing everything

By Ruchita J

May 29, 2020

This course is excellently curated to teach six sigma and lean basics with useful quizzes and peer-reviewed assignments to provide a practical understanding of the lessons learnt in the course. The instructors explained each concept very well.

By Jimmy V

Jul 10, 2020

The teachers explained it non-hastily so i could follow the lessons. It is also good idea to read the lean yellowbelt book. I'm not a fast paced learner. Having access to videos that you can rewind to get a grasp on the theory is very handy.

By Gianluca P S

Feb 10, 2021

Ótimo curso para se entender os fundamentos do Six Sigma e para dar início em programas de melhoria contínua na empresa. Great course to understand the fundamentals of Six Sigma and to start continuous improvement programs in the company.

By James T W

May 7, 2020

The course provides a fantastic overview of basic Lean and Six Sigma principles and methods. To complete the coursework and assignments, as well as fully understand the material being taught, the workbook is an absolute necessity though.

By Fasih G

Apr 27, 2021

Its a good start for someone who is new to six sigma and lean management. It covers all basic and fundamental knowledge for beginners and presented in a way that one can easily follow these knowledge in their professional career.

By Mariela d P R C

Jun 28, 2020

Un gran curso para las personas que quieren mejorar la forma como producen un producto eficientemente, aplicando herramientas comprobadas por las grandes compañías, que si sigues estos darás muchos beneficios para tu organización

By Ravi M

Mar 24, 2021

It was really great doing this certification. I found this very interesting as I know some of these principles already during my Master's degree and Yes, I would just recommend to you all. Have fun learning and doing tasks.

By JANICE C

Apr 12, 2021

Great course! Refreshed my memory on lean principles and six sigma. A lot of industrial engineering material here that can applicable to any business and industry to improve and optimize processes to delivery better value.

By Touhid N R p

Mar 26, 2021

It's great for beginners. I learned a great deal from that course. Specially, the book that is recommended, is brilliant. Thank you to Coursera for this opportunity to learn something wonderful from some amazing people.

By Mohd S

Jun 6, 2020

Course was very interested which is boosted my knowledge about the basic fundamental of the Six Sigma and Lean Six Sigma concept. It will be very helpful for them who really want to gain their knowledge in this field.