Chevron Left
Back to Six Sigma Principles

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Six Sigma Principles by University System of Georgia

4.6
stars
5,757 ratings
1,394 reviews

About the Course

This course is for you if you are looking to learn more about Six Sigma or refresh your knowledge of the basic components of Six Sigma and Lean. Six Sigma skills are widely sought by employers both nationally and internationally. These skills have been proven to help improve business processes and performance. This course will introduce you to the purpose of Six Sigma and its value to an organization. You will learn about the basic principles of Six Sigma and Lean. Your instructors will introduce you to, and have you apply, some of the tools and metrics that are critical components of Six Sigma. This course will provide you with the basic knowledge of the principles, roles, and responsibilities of Six Sigma and Lean. Every module will include readings, videos, and a quiz to help make sure you understand the material and concepts that are studied. You will also have the opportunity to participate in discussions and peer review exercises to give you the opportunity to apply the material to your daily life. Our applied curriculum is built around the latest handbook The Certified Six Sigma Handbook (2nd edition) and students will develop /learn the fundamentals of Six Sigma. Registration includes online access to course content, projects, and resources but does not include the companion text The Certified Six Sigma Handbook (2nd edition). The companion text is not required to complete the assignments. However, the text is a recognized handbook used by professionals in the field. Also, it is a highly recommended text for those wishing to move forward in Six Sigma and eventually gain certification from professional agencies such as American Society for Quality (ASQ)....

Top reviews

PS
Sep 10, 2020

Great course for begineers!! I suggest this course to those who are new to industry and dont know anything! Concepts are very well explained! Thanks Coursera! Thanks NOVARTIS FOR SPONSORING THE COURSE

KS
May 29, 2020

This course gives you a good overview of why six sigma and lean are necessary. It also gives you an understanding of how team dynamics play important roles and how brainstorming is an effective tool.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 1,410 Reviews for Six Sigma Principles

By Eury M

Jul 18, 2020

Great foundational course covering all aspects of Lean and Six Sigma. I enjoyed learning about both processes and how they can be applied to improve the effectiveness and efficiency of a company. I feel better prepared to continue learning about Six Sigma and Lean processes. Definitely recommend this course for anyone looking at gaining a better understanding of these two systems.

By Aedrian A

Jan 10, 2021

This is an excellent introductory course to Lean Six Sigma. In contrast to most other online course, though, the quizzes are relatively difficult especially for a beginner who intends to casually breeze through the videos. Reading the recommended text (or similar alternatives available in the internet) before or after watching the videos is strongly advised.

By Lakshminarasimhan S

Sep 5, 2017

very informative and learnt a lot of new things. Excited that i passed out such an important course which adds better dimension to my career. Would like to be part of coursera from here on. I thank coursera specially for understanding my financial situation and giving me support to complete the course. Without their big help this could never be achieved.

By Parth C

Jan 19, 2020

its a precise and well informative course, it held me to learn some additional concepts in my free time which I would not be able to learn in my class due to the course I have chosen. also, some concepts are nicely explained that we can relate easily and whenever we encounter those situations we can relate to this. Thank you coursera, Georgia tech.

By Priyanshi G

Mar 29, 2020

An amazing amalgamation to build the bridge between gap of skill set & our future aspired Job role. This entire course covers it all that u from a Six Sigma Yellow Belt, with a practical approach. The way this module utilizes our skills into application by assignments & quiz is also an intreging part of this course.

By GUSTAVO V D S

Sep 10, 2017

Really good course! I liked that the videos aren't long, and it was easy to keep up the schedule of the modules. The content is really satisfactory for the introduction of six sigma principles. Congratulations to Coursera, Georgia University System and the professors involved! Can't wait for the next courses!

By Mamuka M

Feb 22, 2020

Good methodology for quality control especially using various analytical charts. Six Sigma tools help you to properly identify problem and find solution to offer better product to the customer. It's closer to Continuous Improvement tool that ultimately give you experience with Project Management.

By Md. I M

Jun 9, 2020

Most enjoyable course ever cause i know a new things about business area. Six sigma principles which syllabus makes in a way that is very nicely arranges for all students to learn easily & captured even all of the video lectures are just splendid, fabulous. Wish a good service, thanks again.

By Kartiko N

Aug 6, 2021

Big thanks for getting me joined in this course, now i realize that process improvement is a long way journey not instant process, many tools can help the process to be successfull, great course and well prepared material, once again many thanks for the six sigma priciples course team.

By niket l

Oct 11, 2020

This course has been a perfect walkthrough for understanding the principles and methodologies behind the Six Sigma Principles. The course has been tailored in an excellent manner to make the reader understand effectively. Also, the quizzes are perfectly set up based on the difficulty.

By FIKRI A R

Jun 2, 2021

This course is helpful to know by implementing the knowledge to all sectors. The learning has various lessons such as project management, product quality, lean methods, value mapping,customer focus, efficiency, and effectiveness to reduce waste of time and reach out 100% defect-free.

By SARAI K K

Nov 1, 2017

I take this opportunity to thank Coursera for facilitating such unique courses in the field of management. This course is very useful for those who wanted to understand and apply basic principles of Six Sigma in work processes. Overall lectures were good and informative.

By ashish k

Sep 21, 2020

Good course easy to understand , It help us to understand the role of the team work , team effort , Lean six Sigma , Role of KANBAN, JIT , Poke yoke. I Personally feels that every manager to do this course who is handling team and projects need to do this course .

By Umais n

Jun 5, 2020

i have learned basic lean six sigma principles and their methodologies , how to conduct a project and how much team management is important for the success of over all objective of the organization. six sigma tools and many other terminologies were of great use to me

By Kunal C

Oct 4, 2019

To me as a beginner from a technical background, the course was informative for understanding the in-depth basics and how these basics can be applied in the organization. Additionally, the quizzes helped me a lot to work upon myself and have a better understanding.

By KARI H L

May 31, 2021

i can say it was useful for me to gain knowledge in my sector in the starting class section i felt it was causal but later on i came to knew it developed interest in me, they are even exercises and assignments which brought interest, final i would say it was useful

By Deepak P

Jun 2, 2019

It is a very useful course for everyone who aspires to learn Six Sigma. For a student, it is very much useful for him/her to acquire the available opportunities and for an industrial person it helps in the betterment of his/her career as well as the organization.

By Gonzalo M

Aug 8, 2020

I think the course is really good, every chapter is very clearly explained and it uses simple but effective words to describe each concept, which makes it easy for people who don't speak English as a first language to follow. I would highly recommend the course

By Mattia F

Feb 7, 2021

Great introduction to six sigma, as a quality professional I had some knowledge about these topics but the course helped me to get evrything in the right order and learn new methods for my job. Let's move on with the next course on the specialization.

By Amjad F

May 24, 2021

Very informative and helpful course in pursuit of a carrier as process or optimization engineer, though the skills I learned from this course are not just limited to just technological environment, rather help one to manage routine tasks efficiently.

By Gaurav S

Aug 21, 2018

This is a good starter course to get the understanding of basic concepts of Six sigma and Lean. This can definitely be used as a foundation on which higher levels of Six sigma can be built upon. Highly recommend to everyone interested in this field.

By Panchami G

Jul 9, 2020

The course journey was highly informative and interesting. It is an asset in the Balance Sheet of my knowledge. I thank the University as well as Coursera for offering this certificate course.

-Panchami G

Sri Sathya Sai Institute of Higher Learning

By DINESH K S

May 1, 2020

This is the best for skills improvements, all are skills (leader ship skills, organization leadership skills, problem solving skills, quality skills, motivation skill, etc) practices in this management course. This will help for my career goal.

By Diego S

Nov 20, 2018

Having knowledge of what is spoken in the videos helps a lot to orientate during the lessons, however, new topics help to enrich the previous knowledge that one has is a very good course that encourages you to continue until completing everything

By Ruchita J

May 29, 2020

This course is excellently curated to teach six sigma and lean basics with useful quizzes and peer-reviewed assignments to provide a practical understanding of the lessons learnt in the course. The instructors explained each concept very well.