Chevron Left
Back to Sleep: Neurobiology, Medicine, and Society

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Sleep: Neurobiology, Medicine, and Society by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
656 ratings

About the Course

The objective of this course is to give students the most up-to-date information on the biological, personal, and societal relevance of sleep. Personal relevance is emphasized by the fact that the single best predictor of daytime performance is the quality of the previous night's sleep. The brain actively generates sleep, and the first section of the course is an overview of the neurobiological basis of sleep control. The course provides cellular-level understanding of how sleep deprivation, jet lag, and substances such as alcohol, ,caffeine, and nicotine alter sleep and wakefulness. The second section of the course covers sleep-dependent changes in physiology and sleep disorders medicine. Particular emphasis will be placed on disorders of excessive sleepiness, insomnia, and sleep-dependent changes in autonomic control. Chronic sleep deprivation impairs immune function and may promote obesity. Deaths due to all causes are most frequent between 4:00 and 6:00 a.m., and this second section of the class highlights the relevance of sleep for preventive medicine. The societal relevance of sleep will be considered in the final section of the class. In an increasingly complex and technologically oriented society, operator-error by one individual can have a disastrous negative impact on public health and safety. Fatigue-related performance decrements are known to have contributed as causal factors to nuclear power plant failures, transportation disasters, and medical errors....

Top reviews

VR

Oct 19, 2020

As someone who is starting a PsyD this upcoming year I really enjoyed and learned a great amount of info from this course. i highly recommend the course and applaud the instructors and researchers.

HN

Jul 5, 2019

to tell the truth, this is the ever first online class I have ever learnt. This is so amazing, useful for a neurologist like me. Love this and still wait for an advanced course of this online class

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 139 Reviews for Sleep: Neurobiology, Medicine, and Society

By Hrehan H

Feb 20, 2021

Outstanding balance of neurobiology and relevant clinical content!!! Way better than my medical school!

By Andrea S

Dec 31, 2020

Very well-explained, highly professional lecturers and a great deep overview of the topic. Thank you!

By Mohammed M A

Jan 13, 2019

An excellent course designed to address real life problems of sleeping disorders. Thank you all!

By Duane F

Feb 19, 2018

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and look forward to continuing my education on the subject.

By Kishore k

Mar 5, 2019

It was really useful for me to know about the science behind why and how we actually sleep.

By Jason A E

Apr 22, 2022

Great info about sleep and how important it is for health and performance in daily life.

By Maeve M

Sep 27, 2020

Excellent course - Comprehensive knowledge from experts in a highly digestible format.

By Jenny

Apr 21, 2020

really good - fantastically knowledgeable teachers, evidence based and interesting.

By Linda B

Jun 3, 2022

This is a comprehensive course that covers many aspects of sleep in great detail.

By Hussein A

Feb 6, 2020

Grateful to University of Michigan for such wonderful course that I learned a lot

By Wiara O

Mar 29, 2020

I love coursera is important for me to improve myself every day, Thank you.

By Kada B

Dec 10, 2017

my best MOOC never seen in sleep medicine, Thanks a lot for this great work

By DIANA R

Dec 23, 2020

Amazing!!! Thank you so much to every professor and medical professional.

By Olaik M R L

Oct 1, 2021

Very clear and helpful course for daily clinical practice

Thank you

By Chalapati J

Jan 1, 2020

Has changed the way I plan my sleep. Very good course, thank you.

By Nika R

Feb 7, 2021

Overall a very pleasant experience and very useful content.

By Carlos A M G

May 18, 2020

Incredibly informative and applicable to clinical practice!

By Fiona K

Feb 20, 2020

A great course with knowledgeable and interesting speakers.

By Ковеленова М В

Jan 11, 2020

Extremely useful knowledge to everyone. Thanks a lot

By Suzy H

Feb 3, 2021

One of the best sleep science courses I have taken.

By 121810101023 g

Dec 22, 2020

great course for people intrested in neurobiology

By DANIEL R

Dec 8, 2018

Superior presentation of well organized material.

By Teo W P E

Jul 8, 2022

Insightful with important knowledge about sleep.

By Eliezer B O N

Jul 30, 2020

A very good and enlightening course. Enjoyed it!

By Mona v r

Aug 31, 2020

I like it so much, thanks a lot for this course