Chevron Left
Back to Social Psychology

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Social Psychology by Wesleyan University

4.7
stars
3,223 ratings
1,380 reviews

About the Course

Ever wonder why people do what they do? This course—which includes more than $1,000 of video and reading materials—offers some answers based on the latest research from social psychology. Students taking the course for a Certificate will also receive free membership in Social Psychology Network (SocialPsychology.org). COURSE DESCRIPTION FROM PROFESSOR PLOUS: Each of us is dealt a different hand in life, but we all face similar questions when it comes to human behavior: What leads us to like one person and dislike another? How do conflicts and prejudices develop, and how can they be reduced? Can psychological research help protect the environment, and if so, how? This course offers a brief introduction to classic and contemporary social psychology, covering topics such as decision making, persuasion, group behavior, personal attraction, and factors that promote health and well-being. Our focus will be on surprising, entertaining, and intriguing research findings that are easy to apply in daily life. The course will also draw from the websites of Social Psychology Network, the world's largest online community devoted to social psychology. I hope you'll join me for this course, have fun, and learn some useful information that enriches your life....

Top reviews

IV
Jun 12, 2020

Very interesting course, tons of great material. Of all the courses I have taken so far in Coursera, this is one of the few that has pushed me to focus on the material we were going over-great course.

PM
Aug 15, 2020

Professor Plous made me understand the lessons because he explained well all the lessons, and he provided enough information about the Social Psychology. More power to Coursera and Professor Plous :)

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 1,372 Reviews for Social Psychology

By Jennifer L

Jun 15, 2020

The course is very clear and contains various videos, lectures, readings and even guests lectures. The essays are very interesting too. I loved this class, I learned things that will last and help me both personally and professionally. And the teacher is amazing, this course is really worth your time!

By Juan F

Oct 24, 2020

If your going to include readings make it into a pocket size book for people to read before taking the course or a large pdf file to print off, so you can prime their minds to like the course more in the long run. Furthermore, decrease the number of questions to 30 that is more reasonable for an exam.

By DAUCHIER C

Jun 3, 2020

This MOOC is of high quality and very well done both in format and organization, it really opens up the world of social psychology with Professor Plous as an extraordinary guide! This MOOC was a revelation for me, it is so enriching! Thank you for freely offering educational content of this quality!

By Ravshan R

May 7, 2020

One of the best Social Psychology course ever! I liked it very much, it is prepared step by step explaining every single topics. Whether you're beginner or advanced this course is for you. Professor Scott Plous is one of the best lecturers I've ever seen. FIVE STARS! Thank you Professor Scott Plous!

By Sangita J

Sep 21, 2020

The course is all you need to have a basic understanding of human behavior, the WHO WHY WHEN etc. This course should be taught in the schools so that we can built a responsible and safe society for ourselves and others. I congratulate and thank Professor Scott Plous a million times for this course.

By Ramon F

Jun 11, 2020

Excellent course!! The teachings in this course can really be life changing in understanding how people relate and influence each other, how situations can be more important that i used to think. The concepts an theories of Social Psychology can really contribute to make a better society for all.

By Davi C Y

Aug 8, 2020

Extremely recommended for anyone who's interested in developing insights in both professional and personal life. Professor Plous does an amazing job at delivering diverse scientific knowledge in an entertaining way. Definitely a well made course, with tons of bonus activities and guest lectures!

By Vhera E

Jul 30, 2020

This course has been extremely helpful in introducing Social Psychology. Professor Plous has been of great help, and the plotting of the course syllabus is well thought of.

I especially liked how interactive, fun, and filled with various forms of learning (pop up quizzes, videos) this course had.

By Wen Z Y

Jun 14, 2020

The course offers more material which are closest to direct to source than what was offered during my psychology degree. Very real and high quality course which the amount of effort can be heart-felt. Highly recommended to people who are interested in social psychology and psychology in general.

By tiziana

Oct 29, 2020

I really enjoyed the course. The professor is engaging and funny, and the content is very informative. I even liked all the readings. (-:

Highly recommended for everyone: you will learn life and relationship skills, even if you are not a psychology major. Thank you professor for a great course

By cheryl

Apr 25, 2019

One of the best free online courses I've ever taken! This course is a great introduction to Social Psychology, and the topics are applicable to everyone. There was a good balance of videos, readings and assignments. I was really impressed with the quality of materials and pacing of the course.

By Jennifer L

Jun 13, 2019

I really enjoyed this course and want to take more psychology classes online! I loved studying former experiments, and the self-discovery along the way. And I hope I will continue along a path toward being more compassionate due to the Day of Compassion assignment. A great class for anyone!

By yailiwon s

Oct 16, 2020

It is an excellent course. It is one of the most meaningful courses that I have taken because it requires an understanding plus application which makes it challenging and compels us to really learn. I have enjoyed every lecture of Prof Plous and overall I have had a great learning experience.

By Dannielle S B

May 13, 2020

The course is challenging but not TOO challenging and really makes you take a look at who you are and how you interact with others. 100% suggest taking this course if you have a chance; even if you don't think it is pertinent to your career goals - trust me, it's worth it for your life goals.

By Hend A

Sep 21, 2020

Thanks so much, Dr. Plous for such a comprehensive, yet fun presentation of a relatively tough topic to approach.

I loved every moment, lived every moment and made memories. But mostly I added knowledge that I wish I will apply for my own good and others too.

Thanks again. I sure will be back.

By Antonella F G

Aug 28, 2020

¡Amé este curso! Presenta los temas de psicología social más relevantes y de la forma más interesante, tanto así que recordarse de lo que presentan termina siendo fácil. Tiene subtítulos en español para todas las clases. Felicidades a los organizadores como el profesor Scott y todo el staff.

By Felipe d J B G

Dec 18, 2018

Wonderful course ... extremely tough, but certainly worth it ... Thank you veru much Scott, Wesleyan University and Coursera for such a wonderful experience of learning and personal improvement towards becoming a better citizen by being a more compassionate human being ... Deeply appreciated

By Roger T

Jul 5, 2020

It's a superb experience to learn from Mr. Plous and my virtual classmates. It is way more than a process to acquire knowledge on an academic subject. Instead, it's more like a opportunity to see human relations and interactions in a fresh perspective.

A big thank to Mr. Plous and Coursera!

By Sharon P

Aug 31, 2020

Very thankful for this course. Professor Scott was amazing. His presentation of the course, his voice, tone and lightheartedness conveyed kindness. First impression, Professor is of a kind soul :) This course was very helpful in bettering my relationships; communication. Thank you!!

By Errol G

Nov 15, 2020

A top mark takes hard work but Prof Plous makes the course entertaining and life-enriching. The amount of freebies, gifts and take-aways is incredible, not least membership of Social psychology Network and a free webpage. A must for every social justice warrior and thoughtful human being.

By Axel J B B

Jul 11, 2020

Great way of learning about cognitive biases, self-perception, social construction of identity, bystander effects, groupthink and many more important concepts that help to understand how we behave and what we can do to improve our society by improving ourselves and those who surround us.

By Ines P

May 10, 2020

I loved this course! I can really recommend it! It is a great introduction to social psychology. I've learned a lot that I can actually even use for my personal life, personal relationship and at work. Professor Plous is a super professor, his passion for social psychology is contaigous.

By LUANA D R

Oct 14, 2020

This course is amazing. I learned about a lot of important subjects that I will use in my future career as a psychologyst, and also in my own life. Recomend this course to everyone who has the willing to learn more about life and society and wishes to help other with all social matters.

By Svetlana M

Jul 1, 2020

Fascinating course! Scott Plous is an amazing teacher and assigned reading and videos were very interesting and educational - loved it all! Social psychology is something that should be taught mandatory everywhere so we can be aware of our natural tendency to stereotypes and prejudices.

By Andrew T

Jun 12, 2020

Excellent course for a newbie to psychology! The delivery is well done, with many interesting videos to explain concepts. I would recommend this course to anyone who is curious to find out why people behave in a particular manner as well as people who want to know more about themselves.