Chevron Left
Back to Software Security

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Software Security by University of Maryland, College Park

4.6
stars
1,235 ratings
277 reviews

About the Course

This course we will explore the foundations of software security. We will consider important software vulnerabilities and attacks that exploit them -- such as buffer overflows, SQL injection, and session hijacking -- and we will consider defenses that prevent or mitigate these attacks, including advanced testing and program analysis techniques. Importantly, we take a "build security in" mentality, considering techniques at each phase of the development cycle that can be used to strengthen the security of software systems. Successful learners in this course typically have completed sophomore/junior-level undergraduate work in a technical field, have some familiarity with programming, ideally in C/C++ and one other "managed" program language (like ML or Java), and have prior exposure to algorithms. Students not familiar with these languages but with others can improve their skills through online web tutorials....

Top reviews

GB
May 26, 2019

Was prepared and presented in a very special and superb way. I am glad I took and completed it. Thanks to my tutor Michael Hicks and special appreciation to coursera for making this possible for me.

PR
Nov 19, 2016

Content is really valuable and actionable with a specific comeback for the student in terms of secure development, security and how to understand the origin of exploits and other cyber attacks

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 271 Reviews for Software Security

By Bishoy S R S

May 13, 2017

The course overall is very good, I hope to have a more specialized course in C/C++ languages with more practices, as I work more with embedded systems/C

By Mayank M

Jun 14, 2016

Could have gone more deeper in some of the topics which were covered at very high level. Overall a good introduction to the subject matter.

By dominique a f

Nov 13, 2017

Nice course. One remark, it is necessary to review version compatibility of mentioned virtualbox against today OS versions, mainly macOSX.

By Alejandro D L

Jun 3, 2016

Awesome! It would have been nicer to go deeper into the practical, pen testing part, but I enjoyed this course anyway.

By Girish P

Oct 4, 2019

Being a B.tech year 3 Student some concepts are a little difficult to understand but overall a pretty good course

By Ann N

Dec 13, 2020

Great content. Unfortunately my C programming is not strong enough to continue, and I am unable to unenroll...

By Lade K

Oct 25, 2020

Informational but, don't expect to be top-notch after taking this. buffer overflow section well explained.

By Javier c b

Mar 17, 2020

The course focus to much in an old code language like c. This language is dying. At least should be C++.

By Kai P

Mar 31, 2019

Seems outdated (as of 2014). Quiz for week 5 is strange and not easy with the provided material.

By Dan R

May 24, 2017

Excellent course on software security! Loved that we actually got to get into some code!

By ZUBIN S

Oct 23, 2017

Good Course,But less content ROP gadget etc not covered in details.

By Sanoop s

Jan 16, 2019

good course.very helpfull for a beginer like me to start with.

By David A P

Feb 23, 2017

Excellent intro course with 3 semi-challenging and fun projects

By mahmoud m a w e

Feb 4, 2020

I get a lot of pleasure out of reading about software security

By Jason J

Dec 15, 2017

Some of the videos were a bit slow, but overall a good course.

By Eshan B

Mar 20, 2020

Assignments are rather easy, but the learning is intense.

By Санников М О

Mar 21, 2017

Хороший курс, но русских субтитров очень не хватает.

By Antonio P G

Jan 23, 2020

I think adding more examples will be a good idea.

By ahmed e

Oct 18, 2019

it had no practice like using the tools

By teya k d p

Dec 16, 2016

tres bon merci beaucoup

By ishan o

Nov 12, 2018

got to learn a lot

By Nidhal M

Jul 12, 2017

Very helpfull

By Manav C

Jun 16, 2019

Great course

By Fabio D

Apr 19, 2017

Interesting!

By Belal B

Nov 22, 2016

un bon cours