Chevron Left
Back to Software Security

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Software Security by University of Maryland, College Park

4.6
stars
1,324 ratings
298 reviews

About the Course

This course we will explore the foundations of software security. We will consider important software vulnerabilities and attacks that exploit them -- such as buffer overflows, SQL injection, and session hijacking -- and we will consider defenses that prevent or mitigate these attacks, including advanced testing and program analysis techniques. Importantly, we take a "build security in" mentality, considering techniques at each phase of the development cycle that can be used to strengthen the security of software systems. Successful learners in this course typically have completed sophomore/junior-level undergraduate work in a technical field, have some familiarity with programming, ideally in C/C++ and one other "managed" program language (like ML or Java), and have prior exposure to algorithms. Students not familiar with these languages but with others can improve their skills through online web tutorials....

Top reviews

GB
May 26, 2019

Was prepared and presented in a very special and superb way. I am glad I took and completed it. Thanks to my tutor Michael Hicks and special appreciation to coursera for making this possible for me.

PR
Nov 19, 2016

Content is really valuable and actionable with a specific comeback for the student in terms of secure development, security and how to understand the origin of exploits and other cyber attacks

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 292 Reviews for Software Security

By Abiven J C

Aug 7, 2016

A lot of interesting stuff there. Un cours intéressant, cependant il y a tellement de choses qu'il vaut mieux continuer à approfondir chez soi.

By Faisal S

Jun 25, 2020

Very nice and informative course with practical challenges to solve to get hands on idea of the topics learned during the lectures. Thumbs up.

By claudio m

Oct 23, 2016

Very good material. I am a software proffesional and there were topics that I really did not know and it is a very good starting point for me.

By jitesh k

May 23, 2020

This course was very long. I could have been shorten to few hours.Apart from this, Each lecture teaches something related to secure software

By carlos g

Jun 8, 2016

Excelent work thanks for all the information, you should give more practice in the fields or put more links to labs so we keep practicing

By Brahim L

Feb 19, 2021

Great course for a Software Developers. It help us to get essential knowledge of Cybersecurity So we can impove our code quality. Thanks

By ANISH S D

Feb 25, 2020

very nice course to learn about the basic setting in software security.

Also it is very helpful to development of my technical skills.

By Rishikesh

Aug 27, 2016

Excellent course. Good mix of theory & practical. Covers all aspects including vulnerability, detection, prevention, secure coding.

By Adriano R P

May 16, 2016

Great course, but not reasonable amount of time between quizzes attempts.

49 Days is too long time to wait if you fail in the quiz.

By fabrice k

Jul 30, 2019

This course is the best course about software security. The content is really well organised and the instructor put a lot on it.

By Sahil S

Apr 18, 2021

Absolutely enjoyed the learning process i've had here. Technical as well as in-depth theoretical knowledge was provided, 5/5

By nicolas d o r

Mar 12, 2021

el poder descargar el contenido es magnifico así puedo dedicarle todo un día y en las noches contestar las tareas excelente

By Sjir B

Feb 25, 2018

Really a great course and so far the best in the serries. I enjoyed the interviews most it was very usefull information.

By Vincent L

Dec 16, 2019

Gives a good overview of software security, you can also dig deeper by reading and practicing the additional materials

By Cuong L

Jul 7, 2018

This is an excellent introductory course to cyber security! The projects are well designed with detail instructions.

By Mohamed M Z

May 30, 2020

inspirational content with extreme powerful interviews , and thanks to Micheal who delivered all content perfectly.

By Muhammad S R

Jun 7, 2016

2nd Last week should actually be the last week's content. It seemed out of context and involved so many new things

By Kondapalli S D R

May 27, 2020

The course can be a little basic for people who are new to javascript. Everything is good but the tempo felt fast

By Bonface M

Nov 13, 2019

the course is well structured for intermediate and advanced learning, thanks Michael and the entire coursera.org

By Douglas H

Sep 16, 2017

Great course. The project assignments are challenging and a great way to learn about software vulnerabilities.

By Shirobokov I

Sep 9, 2016

The course consider wide area of themes of Software Security, but not deep. Generally, It's really good course.

By Adri J J J

Jun 10, 2020

The course was really great and the projects are really good. I loved working on the Badstore.net. Thank you!

By Kfir A

Oct 17, 2016

Very good course about security, especially if you are looking for details about the low-level of C and C++

By Mohamed A

Jul 3, 2018

the course is Good but it needs a person has highly technical skills to study the concept of the course...

By Amit R

Apr 8, 2017

This is among the best courses i have taken on Coursera. Thank you so much Prof. Michael Hicks.

Regards

Amit