Chevron Left
Back to Software Security

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Software Security by University of Maryland, College Park

4.6
stars
1,394 ratings
320 reviews

About the Course

This course we will explore the foundations of software security. We will consider important software vulnerabilities and attacks that exploit them -- such as buffer overflows, SQL injection, and session hijacking -- and we will consider defenses that prevent or mitigate these attacks, including advanced testing and program analysis techniques. Importantly, we take a "build security in" mentality, considering techniques at each phase of the development cycle that can be used to strengthen the security of software systems. Successful learners in this course typically have completed sophomore/junior-level undergraduate work in a technical field, have some familiarity with programming, ideally in C/C++ and one other "managed" program language (like ML or Java), and have prior exposure to algorithms. Students not familiar with these languages but with others can improve their skills through online web tutorials....

Top reviews

GB
May 26, 2019

Was prepared and presented in a very special and superb way. I am glad I took and completed it. Thanks to my tutor Michael Hicks and special appreciation to coursera for making this possible for me.

PR
Nov 19, 2016

Content is really valuable and actionable with a specific comeback for the student in terms of secure development, security and how to understand the origin of exploits and other cyber attacks

Filter by:

301 - 316 of 316 Reviews for Software Security

By Aditya N S

Jun 28, 2019

Please add practicals with existing theory, because these kind of topics, mainly which are related to programming could be understood better by practical rather than theory (via presentation). Although this course content and instructor is really good, but adding more practicals with theory will help us more to understand the concepts.

By Sergio

Aug 2, 2017

Interesting from a developer point of view in order to improve security concern but the course is too much focused in C language and do not talk about how to improve security in other languages.

I miss some exercises about pentesting

By Enrique O G

Nov 30, 2016

May be we need to more videos with good examples of the topics covered, I mean good examples that go beyond the basics about topics such as buffer overflow and cross site scripting

By philippe t

Jan 12, 2020

Good introduction. The first weeks are very good: good technical content and interesting projects. The last weeks are less interesting and the quizzes are also less relevant.

By ravi

Jan 24, 2018

assignment level of difficulty is very good but videos doesn't deep dive into concepts. they just brief about concepts.quality of videos can be improved

By Vaibhav C

Aug 5, 2018

Some more real time examples with Testing activities would have made this course more suitable foe Software Testing Professionals

By cyril m

Jun 9, 2016

The first half of the course was great but 2nd half was a bit disappointing.

By Abhirup B

Jan 27, 2019

The way the course instructor taught the course was very boring.

By Michalis P

Oct 30, 2020

Great videos and explanation but assignments were low quality

By JITENDRA C

Jun 11, 2016

There should me more topics on secure code review methods

By vaibhav s

Jun 24, 2017

Good but kind of basic for my needs.

By salissou B

Dec 20, 2020

I have not time now

By Gene S

Aug 8, 2016

The difficulty level of this course is very inconsistent. The first project (stack smashing) was difficult, at least for me, but I could complete it with the information taught in the lectures. I was unable to complete the second project (Badstore.net), which requires a knowledge of html and SQL that is not taught in the course. The third project (fuzzing and symbolic execution) was a joke: "Type this and tell us what you see." My advice is if you are a novice, take the free course first to see if you can complete it. Then, if you really need the certificate, pay and retake the course.

By william t

May 1, 2017

I was unable to complete this course, because the course required at least two years of programming knowledge prior to enrolling. I was confident that I could learn while taking the course, but I continually failed to pass the quizzes in the second of five courses. It was very confusing and the questions were cryptic

By Andrew E

Mar 28, 2020

the course has a great content but it is actually need a very good background in programming ,linux and web development so i prefer if it had sessions about those even if it is basics and so unfortunately i didn't understand some topics because of that and thank you for this effort

By pengwei

Sep 10, 2016

worst course forever