Chevron Left
Back to Software Security

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Software Security by University of Maryland, College Park

4.6
stars
1,324 ratings
298 reviews

About the Course

This course we will explore the foundations of software security. We will consider important software vulnerabilities and attacks that exploit them -- such as buffer overflows, SQL injection, and session hijacking -- and we will consider defenses that prevent or mitigate these attacks, including advanced testing and program analysis techniques. Importantly, we take a "build security in" mentality, considering techniques at each phase of the development cycle that can be used to strengthen the security of software systems. Successful learners in this course typically have completed sophomore/junior-level undergraduate work in a technical field, have some familiarity with programming, ideally in C/C++ and one other "managed" program language (like ML or Java), and have prior exposure to algorithms. Students not familiar with these languages but with others can improve their skills through online web tutorials....

Top reviews

GB
May 26, 2019

Was prepared and presented in a very special and superb way. I am glad I took and completed it. Thanks to my tutor Michael Hicks and special appreciation to coursera for making this possible for me.

PR
Nov 19, 2016

Content is really valuable and actionable with a specific comeback for the student in terms of secure development, security and how to understand the origin of exploits and other cyber attacks

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 293 Reviews for Software Security

By Kai P

Mar 31, 2019

Seems outdated (as of 2014). Quiz for week 5 is strange and not easy with the provided material.

By Dan R

May 24, 2017

Excellent course on software security! Loved that we actually got to get into some code!

By Akarsh B

Jun 6, 2021

This was a really helpful and fullfilling cousre I was able to learn so much from this.

By ZUBIN S

Oct 23, 2017

Good Course,But less content ROP gadget etc not covered in details.

By Sanoop s

Jan 16, 2019

good course.very helpfull for a beginer like me to start with.

By David A P

Feb 23, 2017

Excellent intro course with 3 semi-challenging and fun projects

By mahmoud m a w e

Feb 4, 2020

I get a lot of pleasure out of reading about software security

By Jason J

Dec 15, 2017

Some of the videos were a bit slow, but overall a good course.

By Eshan B

Mar 20, 2020

Assignments are rather easy, but the learning is intense.

By Hemang P

Apr 29, 2021

batter knowledge get and many thinks learning form there

By Douglas B

Jan 30, 2021

excellent, found the course easy to understand at work.

By Санников М О

Mar 21, 2017

Хороший курс, но русских субтитров очень не хватает.

By Antonio P G

Jan 23, 2020

I think adding more examples will be a good idea.

By ahmed e

Oct 18, 2019

it had no practice like using the tools

By teya k d p

Dec 16, 2016

tres bon merci beaucoup

By ishan o

Nov 12, 2018

got to learn a lot

By Nidhal M

Jul 12, 2017

Very helpfull

By Manav C

Jun 16, 2019

Great course

By Fabio D

Apr 19, 2017

Interesting!

By Belal B

Nov 22, 2016

un bon cours

By Rishabh P 1

Apr 23, 2021

Nice Course

By mohamed h a

Jul 7, 2017

thank you

By Anton P

Mar 24, 2018

Good!

By Randy D

May 31, 2020

EL curso va orientado a conocimiento avanazado sobre programacion. Lo cual es super frustrante al momento de que una persona que no conozca al respecto lo reciba. La persona encargada del curso no lo hace sencillo, ya que utiliza desde el principio, un vocabulario tecnico. Recuerden que el curso es precisamente para aprender, y brincar del primer curso, el cual es mas sencillo y ademas enseña bastante bien, a este curso donde es un cambio completamente diferente al primero, lo toma por sorpresa.

By Esther A

Feb 17, 2021

It is clear that someone with active programming experience is needed to complete the course. It was difficult to refresh my programming memory while still following the schedule outlined for the course. I found myself lagging behind to relearn concepts from years ago. Yet the class says it is not absolutely necessary to be a developer in C programming. It is misleading in that sense because you cannot complete the assignments on time without being a routing C programmer.