Chevron Left
Back to Geospatial and Environmental Analysis

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Geospatial and Environmental Analysis by University of California, Davis

4.8
654 ratings
129 reviews

About the Course

Apply your GIS knowledge in this course on geospatial analysis, focusing on analysis tools, 3D data, working with rasters, projections, and environment variables. Through all four weeks of this course, we'll work through a project together - something unique to this course - from project conception, through data retrieval, initial data management and processing, and finally to our analysis products. In this class you will learn the fundamentals of geospatial and environmental analysis during four week-long modules: Week 1: Tour ArcToolbox and learn how to use common geospatial analysis tools built into ArcGIS Week 2: Gain a working understanding of raster data models: symbolize, reproject, overlay, and assess rasters. Take a detour into 3D data models, and interpolation of observations into 3D surfaces and rasters Week 3: Go in-depth on projections and coordinate systems, which are foundational to all GIS. Learn how to use environment variables to constrain your analyses and get better quality data products. Week 4: Expand your knowledge of symbology. Learn how to visually display your data by classifying it in logical groupings and then symbolizing it on your map. Take Geospatial and Environmental Analysis as a standalone course or as part of the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Specialization. You should have equivalent experience to completing the first and second courses in this specialization, "Fundamentals of GIS" and "GIS Data Formats, Design, and Quality", before taking this course. By completing this third class in the Specialization you will gain the skills needed to succeed in the full program....

Top reviews

AA

May 05, 2019

Like the previous courses on this specialization, this course is well prepared, the lectures are clear and the assignments designed to reinforce the learner's skills. I have really enjoyed it.

OA

Oct 18, 2017

I enjoyed this part most of the three courses in the GIS specialization that I have earned certificates. Thanks to Dr. Nick Santos for his interactive teaching, assignments and projects.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 127 Reviews for Geospatial and Environmental Analysis

By Kenney K K

Jun 13, 2019

Great and really nice coarse. Has improved my knowledge

By Ziyi W

May 23, 2019

Wow, the Geospatial and Environmental Analysis course has an impressively deep coverage of GIS knowledge! I truly learned a voracious number of useful skills. I also enjoyed the additional videos on how to design and conduct a project in GIS. Excellent course!

By Jafed E

May 14, 2019

Able to concentrate and stay focused for periods of several hours, even when tasks are relatively mundane, and doesn't make mistakes. He has a high boredom threshold. Always assured and confident in demeanour and presentation of ideas without being aggressively over-confident. No absences without valid reason in 6 months. Reaches a decision rapidly after taking account of all likely outcomes and estimating the route most likely to bring success. The decisions almost always turn out to be good ones.

This Course always completes any assignment on time and to a high standard. This Course has outstanding artistic or craft skills, bringing creativity and originality to the task. Aiming for a top job in the organization. He sets very high standards, aware that this will bring attention and promotion. This Course pays great attention to detail. He always presented work properly checked and completely free of error.

By Osmar C T

May 14, 2019

Excelente

By MENYE T L M

May 13, 2019

This course was vert usefull for me i have learned a lot of thing such as how to use geoprocessing tools for m'y analysis

By Abdulaziz A

May 05, 2019

Like the previous courses on this specialization, this course is well prepared, the lectures are clear and the assignments designed to reinforce the learner's skills. I have really enjoyed it.

By Yuan L

Apr 12, 2019

It keeps high quality as the first two courses in this specialization. Well-designed course materials! Two suggestions: 1) please attach each module's quiz to the end of each module as the case in course 1 and 2, and 2) It is hard to track the project module once a week, therefore, it would be helpful to recap the progress so far in a more detailed way at the beginning of each project video. Thanks!

By Rafat A A

Apr 05, 2019

thanks

By Ricardo J F

Mar 20, 2019

I learn a lot from this experience, I can have my own rhythm and that is very important, cause my job does not allow me a lot of time during the week. Cheers for the teacher, well presented and pronunciation is clear and easy to understand.

By Samah M S M

Mar 05, 2019

good

By Kharchi t e

Mar 01, 2019

Magnifique!

By Mark G

Feb 21, 2019

This course challenged me with learning how to create and analyze rasters and relate them to points and polygons. The instructor teaches managing the data and breaking down the project into manageable steps as well as using many of the hundreds of available tools.

By Ahmed M A A

Feb 05, 2019

thanks

By Priti R

Jan 21, 2019

Great course!

By OGHENEVWEDE E

Jan 19, 2019

Great course, just keep getting better.

By MUSAB M A H

Jan 13, 2019

that is best course

By Lisbeth H

Jan 09, 2019

Ha sido un curso de lo más productivo así como he aprendido a usar herramientas nuevas también he aprendido a maximizar el uso de herramientas ya conocidas y de manera general diversificar el uso y aplicación de ArcGIS.

By Tomas B

Jan 08, 2019

As the ones preceding it, it's an excellent course! The peer review is more difficult, but with enough time and effort, the resulting knowledge can be rewarding.

By Henloy A

Jan 03, 2019

Great Course, good project and practice sessions. The course was well structured.

By Satish M

Dec 02, 2018

It was a good experience, getting familiar with the tools and all. But, the videos were short, and it did not have enough assignments to work on our own.

By sayed s E

Nov 21, 2018

thank you all

By ABDALLA M E E

Nov 01, 2018

Great course i learned so much things

thanks a lot

By Donny B

Oct 04, 2018

Really excellent content.

By Latonya W

Oct 02, 2018

Really enjoyed this course! Excited to use the skills that I've gained!

By بهاء ع ح ع

Sep 09, 2018

good