Chevron Left
Back to Geospatial and Environmental Analysis

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Geospatial and Environmental Analysis by University of California, Davis

4.8
stars
992 ratings
218 reviews

About the Course

Apply your GIS knowledge in this course on geospatial analysis, focusing on analysis tools, 3D data, working with rasters, projections, and environment variables. Through all four weeks of this course, we'll work through a project together - something unique to this course - from project conception, through data retrieval, initial data management and processing, and finally to our analysis products. In this class you will learn the fundamentals of geospatial and environmental analysis during four week-long modules: Week 1: Tour ArcToolbox and learn how to use common geospatial analysis tools built into ArcGIS Week 2: Gain a working understanding of raster data models: symbolize, reproject, overlay, and assess rasters. Take a detour into 3D data models, and interpolation of observations into 3D surfaces and rasters Week 3: Go in-depth on projections and coordinate systems, which are foundational to all GIS. Learn how to use environment variables to constrain your analyses and get better quality data products. Week 4: Expand your knowledge of symbology. Learn how to visually display your data by classifying it in logical groupings and then symbolizing it on your map. Take Geospatial and Environmental Analysis as a standalone course or as part of the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Specialization. You should have equivalent experience to completing the first and second courses in this specialization, "Fundamentals of GIS" and "GIS Data Formats, Design, and Quality", before taking this course. By completing this third class in the Specialization you will gain the skills needed to succeed in the full program....

Top reviews

MH
May 11, 2020

The course content of this course is awesome and the way of explanation also. Those who want to make carrier in this field of GIS or Environment Analyst for them this is a good platform to learn.

AA
May 4, 2019

Like the previous courses on this specialization, this course is well prepared, the lectures are clear and the assignments designed to reinforce the learner's skills. I have really enjoyed it.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 214 Reviews for Geospatial and Environmental Analysis

By Fabian S

Jul 29, 2020

I enjoyed every aspect of this class. The teaching and lessons learned are vital to establishing a solid career foundation in GIS. Thank you Mr. Santos for setting up the curriculum and taking the time to teach this lesson.

By Md. T H

Jun 16, 2020

Courses like these are some of the best Coursera has to offer. Well recorded video lecture, high quality practice materials and questions involving real world problems make this course a great learning tool

By Cornelya F C K

Jun 28, 2017

This is a great extension of the previous two ArcGIS courses and I learned a lot! Nick Santos, the teacher, is really very nice and competent and manages to be concise in his instructions and lectures.

By Mohd S U H

May 12, 2020

The course content of this course is awesome and the way of explanation also. Those who want to make carrier in this field of GIS or Environment Analyst for them this is a good platform to learn.

By Olushola ( A

Oct 18, 2017

I enjoyed this part most of the three courses in the GIS specialization that I have earned certificates. Thanks to Dr. Nick Santos for his interactive teaching, assignments and projects.

By Alexa C

Oct 2, 2019

Useful information on spatial analysis, rasters, coordinate systems.

And a guided tour on approaching a personal project.

The lessons are well structured and the teacher easy to follow.

By Abdul R

Oct 3, 2020

I learned some really valuable and practical skills in ArcGIS through this course and I am positive and motivated to apply these skills as soon as possible in my professional life.

By Clara F

Feb 13, 2018

It is a great course. The videos are easy to understand and the final assignment makes you work with almost every tool they show during the 4 weeks. Excellent! 3 down, 2 to go!

By Abdul H

Nov 11, 2020

I learned much more from this courses and i understand very well. I suggest those who want to make a carrier in GIS and Remote Sensing they should absolutely take this course.

By VISHNUVARDAN N

Jun 1, 2020

I really loved this course on its presentation content delivering and assessment. I really loved to do the final assignment as a project and learnt a lot through this course.

By Amy T

Jun 18, 2020

I loved this course! The final two assignments were very challenging but I have gained so much confidence in using GIS. I am excited to be able to bring this into my work.

By Evan R

Aug 14, 2017

What I liked most about the course is the gradual progression is so great! Great deal of efforts invested for making this course so awesome. I had a great time leaning.

By Prabuddha D B

Oct 22, 2017

This is 3rd course in GIS specialization which gives more insight into capability of Geospatial and environmental analysis if you are more serious in learning ArcGIS.

By Sumaiya S

Aug 25, 2020

Much fun along with this course! The content is rich, beautifully explained, did not get bored. The project was challenging and yes it was fun! Highly recommended.

By Emery M

Oct 31, 2020

Interesting as a course, it deals with the deep aspects of data structuring and the project.

He helped me to set up the professional and personal data.

By Brenda A J

May 31, 2020

The course is so well taught, and includes assignments, projects and peer discussions that guide the student to a better understanding of the lectures.

By Daniel T

Feb 20, 2020

Great course. It focused on building a strong foundation on the critical thinking process of analyzing problems with the tools available in ArcGIS.

By Jernej K

Aug 27, 2018

The course is very well constructed first show you some real life problem to solve as analyst and then is up to you how dip you are willing to go.

By Sylvain T

Aug 19, 2016

Very demanding and rewarding. The course is full of detailed videos and practical work, and the final project helps to make sense of it all.

By Egor S

May 22, 2020

In-depth material. Great exercises. Lots of opportunity to practice and learn great tips from a clearly expert GIS professional.

By Safuwan A

Dec 20, 2016

The course just maximizes the urge to do more despite the challenges in waking up at night to work on assignment....I love it.

By Abdallah B A

Oct 11, 2020

Greatly enjoyed this course. Gained a wide range of new skills from 3D analysis to learning new great tools. Simply great

By MENYE T L M

May 13, 2019

This course was vert usefull for me i have learned a lot of thing such as how to use geoprocessing tools for m'y analysis

By David C

Aug 24, 2019

Once again, an excellent course! Learned so much. My appreciation to Professor Santos for a well designed course!

By D. C

Jul 14, 2016

The idea of work a project in example project in this course was fanatic , let you to learn and practice more.