Chevron Left
Back to Geospatial and Environmental Analysis

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Geospatial and Environmental Analysis by University of California, Davis

4.8
stars
1,154 ratings

About the Course

Apply your GIS knowledge in this course on geospatial analysis, focusing on analysis tools, 3D data, working with rasters, projections, and environment variables. Through all four weeks of this course, we'll work through a project together - something unique to this course - from project conception, through data retrieval, initial data management and processing, and finally to our analysis products. In this class you will learn the fundamentals of geospatial and environmental analysis during four week-long modules: Week 1: Tour ArcToolbox and learn how to use common geospatial analysis tools built into ArcGIS Week 2: Gain a working understanding of raster data models: symbolize, reproject, overlay, and assess rasters. Take a detour into 3D data models, and interpolation of observations into 3D surfaces and rasters Week 3: Go in-depth on projections and coordinate systems, which are foundational to all GIS. Learn how to use environment variables to constrain your analyses and get better quality data products. Week 4: Expand your knowledge of symbology. Learn how to visually display your data by classifying it in logical groupings and then symbolizing it on your map. Take Geospatial and Environmental Analysis as a standalone course or as part of the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Specialization. You should have equivalent experience to completing the first and second courses in this specialization, "Fundamentals of GIS" and "GIS Data Formats, Design, and Quality", before taking this course. By completing this third class in the Specialization you will gain the skills needed to succeed in the full program....

Top reviews

MH

May 11, 2020

The course content of this course is awesome and the way of explanation also. Those who want to make carrier in this field of GIS or Environment Analyst for them this is a good platform to learn.

AA

May 4, 2019

Like the previous courses on this specialization, this course is well prepared, the lectures are clear and the assignments designed to reinforce the learner's skills. I have really enjoyed it.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 255 Reviews for Geospatial and Environmental Analysis

By Adam K

Oct 1, 2019

This course offered a step by step approach to a GIS workflow, from sourcing and cleaning data, to performing initial analysis to subset data, and getting an end result which was then made into a n appropriately presented and published map.

This course went into some more advanced concepts than the intro course, and I found most of the assignments useful for developing an understanding. There was a lot of ground to cover, and at times I was frustrated and lost, but ultimately that's the nature of the beast.

The final assignment was a good amalgamation of the skills used in the course, though many people had issues with the assets provided. Whether the issues were intentional or not, I'm not sure.

By April H

Dec 26, 2017

This course adds more knowledge to that covered in the previous courses in the specialization, but its organization could use some improvement. Some of the material was intended to increase the student's understanding of topics covered in the previous courses, but these sections often repeated information from the previous courses without giving enough new material or presenting the new material in an organized manner. This does mean students with prior GIS experience might find this class helpful on its own without taking the prior classes, though. The exercises provided are good practice, but they also repeat a bit too much material from the previous courses at times.

By Edgar V

Feb 3, 2018

It is an excellent course; you easily notice that the people involved (especially Nick) have put a lot of effort to prepare a high level course (excellent lectures, and a great selection of topics, materials and assignments). Compare to the two previous courses, this one is harder; one covers a lot of topics. You have to give yourself plenty of time to watch the videos (take notes and go through the materials), and I personally think that there is no way you can complete the assignments in the time they suggest. The language of the questions in the Quizzes was bit confusing.

By Yuan L

Apr 12, 2019

It keeps high quality as the first two courses in this specialization. Well-designed course materials! Two suggestions: 1) please attach each module's quiz to the end of each module as the case in course 1 and 2, and 2) It is hard to track the project module once a week, therefore, it would be helpful to recap the progress so far in a more detailed way at the beginning of each project video. Thanks!

By Marla B

Jan 27, 2021

This was a great course and I learned so much. Nick Santos is an excellent teacher. My only issue was that there was no way to find out what I did wrong on the final project. I tried other students' solutions, but they didn't work. It would be great to have an extra video after completion to see the instructor work through the final project.

By Cornelia H

Aug 18, 2017

This course offered a range of topics to learn more about GIS, however, I found that it jumped quite randomly between them, so that for me the sense of direction was a bit missing. Anyway, I have learned a lot more and think that all topics included of the course have helped me to get better at using GIS.

By Juriaan V

Jan 11, 2020

This course gives good and many examples of various geoprocessing tools but goes through them a little quick in my opinion. I personally would enjoy some more examples of when you would use such a tool in your workflow.

By Manir R

Oct 20, 2020

Please update the course with ArcGis Pro. It would be good if the certificate contains the following info also:

Duration: 4 weeks and Garde Achieved: x%

ArcGis

A bit details about the course.

By Pradip S

Jul 16, 2017

A good course with detail explanation and ample excercises to practise for those who intend to build on their career in the field of Environmental analysis using GIS.

By Andrea

May 27, 2021

The final assignment instructions should be more clear. I was not able to get the exact same statistics as the example and struggled for days to match it.

By Satish M

Dec 2, 2018

It was a good experience, getting familiar with the tools and all. But, the videos were short, and it did not have enough assignments to work on our own.

By Asad A B

Jun 5, 2018

Data for the last assignment should be homogeneous with instructors output as it cause a lot of frustration and wastage of energy

By Nancy V W

Jun 20, 2017

Am learning a lot and have already impressed my husband as well as my boss with my new skills, and using them only for good.

By Oluwatuyi O V

Jul 19, 2020

The course is quite comprehensive and explore more about the capabilities of ArcGIS and its use in Environmental Analysis.

By ARTURO L G N

Apr 16, 2020

I liked this course, except the videos related to the project. They were so boring! :(

By Aik J R

Sep 14, 2020

It would be better if you explain step by step , why is what for this Assignment.

By Alexander D

May 15, 2020

Confused by the whole project thing and TINS. Amazing class though

By Zainab K

Sep 30, 2019

Good course, could have been more explanatory.

By Sara O

Jul 12, 2016

Another good course in this specialisation.

By Mahsa S

May 12, 2020

I enjoyed the course and learned new tools

By Prabin P

Jul 11, 2016

I enjoy this course a lot. It very good.

By Ahmed G

Aug 19, 2017

Amazing course and improve my skills

By Maryam

Aug 12, 2019

Final exercise needs to be revised.

By Megha S

Feb 10, 2017

Good pace, good instruction

By Akram A M E

Apr 12, 2018

very good material