Chevron Left
Back to Geospatial and Environmental Analysis

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Geospatial and Environmental Analysis by University of California, Davis

4.8
stars
990 ratings
218 reviews

About the Course

Apply your GIS knowledge in this course on geospatial analysis, focusing on analysis tools, 3D data, working with rasters, projections, and environment variables. Through all four weeks of this course, we'll work through a project together - something unique to this course - from project conception, through data retrieval, initial data management and processing, and finally to our analysis products. In this class you will learn the fundamentals of geospatial and environmental analysis during four week-long modules: Week 1: Tour ArcToolbox and learn how to use common geospatial analysis tools built into ArcGIS Week 2: Gain a working understanding of raster data models: symbolize, reproject, overlay, and assess rasters. Take a detour into 3D data models, and interpolation of observations into 3D surfaces and rasters Week 3: Go in-depth on projections and coordinate systems, which are foundational to all GIS. Learn how to use environment variables to constrain your analyses and get better quality data products. Week 4: Expand your knowledge of symbology. Learn how to visually display your data by classifying it in logical groupings and then symbolizing it on your map. Take Geospatial and Environmental Analysis as a standalone course or as part of the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Specialization. You should have equivalent experience to completing the first and second courses in this specialization, "Fundamentals of GIS" and "GIS Data Formats, Design, and Quality", before taking this course. By completing this third class in the Specialization you will gain the skills needed to succeed in the full program....

Top reviews

MH
May 11, 2020

The course content of this course is awesome and the way of explanation also. Those who want to make carrier in this field of GIS or Environment Analyst for them this is a good platform to learn.

AA
May 4, 2019

Like the previous courses on this specialization, this course is well prepared, the lectures are clear and the assignments designed to reinforce the learner's skills. I have really enjoyed it.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 213 Reviews for Geospatial and Environmental Analysis

By LINDA A L

Apr 7, 2020

Fantastic Teacher - really challenging end of course assignment which makes sure that you are agile in ArcGIS

By Huzaifa M M

Jan 16, 2020

I think still this course made my foundation to understand GIS with even more powerful tools and processing.

By Esmaeel A

Nov 30, 2019

Great informative, well-organized course with many practical examples and a great instructor to guide you

By Tiago A B A

Jan 14, 2018

Excellent! New skills were learnt. Content is really relevant to overall objective of the course. Cheers!

By Mary N

Oct 2, 2020

The videos were easy to understand and topics and assignments were just the right amount of challenge.

By Md A R S

Aug 15, 2019

Highly recommended course who wants to learn environmental analysis like as watershed analysis etc.

By Rasha E

May 13, 2018

I have learned a lot in ArcGIS tools and when to use which tool to help analyzing my GIS data

By Fernanda P

Nov 6, 2017

Excellent course! The videos are well explained and the assignments are great for practicing.

By Benjie L

Jul 1, 2016

I've got to work hard to finish this course. Thank you Coursera for sponsoring my studies.

By Asad A

Nov 6, 2016

It was well designed,informative course.I felt it was the course specially meant for me.

By Carlos F P

May 17, 2017

This course covers more workflows for handling spatial data. A step in right direction!

By Laura M

Aug 10, 2016

This course covers some of the most useful geoprocessing tools. I highly recommend it.

By Jerry L

Oct 30, 2019

This course has boost up my understanding on geospatial analysis! Love this course!

By Elzafer Y E S

Dec 23, 2017

The course provides excellent explanation and sources of data and tools beautifully

By Kokila P R

May 26, 2020

Really helpful and worth course....got so many ideas to be included in my work...

By Barak G

Jul 25, 2020

Much harder class than the previous two, but very well taught by the instructor

By Melissa P

Aug 12, 2016

Great course helping to extend skills for people interested in spatial analysis

By Aditya S

Feb 25, 2018

Very nice course with right amount of assignment work and in the right format

By Lana M

Jan 20, 2017

Challenging but easily attainable with the resources and education provided

By Ariel G T

Nov 25, 2020

agradecido por los conocimientos requeridos en este curso. muchas gracias

By Govindaraj R

May 12, 2020

Very useful to know about the various tool and techniques from Geospatial

By Latonya W

Oct 1, 2018

Really enjoyed this course! Excited to use the skills that I've gained!

By kailash p

Dec 20, 2017

very nice Course learn very new thing in this course thanks nick santosh

By Kasi P

Feb 28, 2017

I liked this informative and interactive GIS skill development course.

By Md. M I

Jun 20, 2020

Absolutely amazing course and Instructor was really Good and Perfect.