Chevron Left
Back to Sports and Building Aerodynamics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Sports and Building Aerodynamics by Eindhoven University of Technology

4.7
stars
127 ratings
31 reviews

About the Course

COURSE ABSTRACT: Have we reached the boundaries of what can be achieved in sports and building design? The answer is definitely “NO”. This course explains basic aspects of bluff body aerodynamics, wind tunnel testing and Computational Fluid Dynamics (CFD) simulations with application to sports and building aerodynamics. It is intended for anyone with a strong interest in these topics. Key fields addressed are urban physics, wind engineering and sports aerodynamics. COURSE CONTENTS: The course consists of 6 weeks. The first 3 weeks are on fundamentals, the second 3 weeks on applications. - Week 1: Basic aspects of fluid flow - Week 2: Wind-tunnel testing - Week 3: Computational Fluid Dynamics - Week 4: Building aerodynamics - Week 5: 100 m sprint aerodynamics - Week 6: Cycling aerodynamics COURSE UPGRADES: In January-February 2017, the course will be upgraded/extended with: - New modules on cycling aerodynamics - Week 7: Climate adaptation of buildings and cities - Week 8: Air pollution If you want to take the upgraded/extended course, please wait with enrollment until mid February. LECTURER: The lecturer is Bert Blocken, professor at Eindhoven University of Technology in the Netherlands and KU Leuven in Belgium. He is a Civil Engineer holding a PhD in Building Physics. His main areas of expertise are urban physics, wind engineering and sports aerodynamics. He has published 126 papers in international peer-reviewed journals. He has received the 2013 Junior Award from the International Association of Wind Engineering and six best paper awards from the Elsevier ISI journal Building & Environment (2009, 2011, 2012) and at international conferences. According to the 2016 Academic Ranking of World Universities (Shanghai Ranking) & Elsevier, he is among the 150 most cited researchers world-wide both in the field of Civil Engineering and in the field of Energy Science & Engineering. Since Dec 2016, he is editor of the ISI journal Building & Environment and starting 2017, he is also associate editor of the ISI Journal of Wind Engineering & Industrial Aerodynamics. He is member of the editorial board of the ISI journals Building Simulation and Sports Engineering. He has acted as a reviewer for more than 70 different ISI journals. He is currently supervising a team of 4 senior researchers, 32 PhD students and 5 MSc students....

Top reviews

MM

May 18, 2020

Really intriguing and interesting course. The standard of the MOOC is exemplary. It tries to address many unconventional theories with perfectly validated studies. Highly recommended course.

AK

Jun 12, 2020

Very well explained and there have also been used animations to explain the concept which assists in understanding and picture formation in mind which is phenomenal.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 31 Reviews for Sports and Building Aerodynamics

By Bimlendra r

Sep 24, 2019

When I joined this course, I had an expectation to learn about CFD and I got as anticipated. Learn by example, this is what it is.

By Priyaanshu k J

Aug 23, 2019

One of the best course i have ever learned and the way of teaching is very good. i really liked it . Thankyou

By JHOSDADO A L R C

May 15, 2020

Is a course great!

By Filipe D

Apr 19, 2020

Interesting and relevant topics. Concepts well explained.

All videos have an introduction and a closing summary. For the students that do not need those, it is easy to forward to the main video content.

Week quizzes actually demand you to watch and know the topics that had been presented, so it is not just a "bureaucracy". That helps paying attention and learning the important contents of the videos.

It took more than a week to get the final assignment reviewed by the necessary number of peers. Count on that. It also appears that you will have to go to the forum to ask others for review.

On the "minus" side, the videos are already a few year hold (2014, 2015, I think). While they are still valid, it would be useful to have an extra week with some notes on the latest developments on the topics discussed. I do not think the existing week need any change.

By Sthavishtha B R

May 15, 2020

An excellent course, presented in a very detailed fashion : module question for every lecture, reading materials (journal articles) for every module, introduction of references midst lectures, peer-review assignments, past/ongoing/future research highlights, interviews with experts, view of the real-lab experiments etc. My only concern is that the instructor lists several quotes in certain module lectures, which keeps the listener bored. It would be advisable to include the essential quotes alone. Additionally, the course has not been currently upgraded to include two new modules - "Climate adaptation of buildings and cities" and "Air pollution", which has actually been mentioned in the course description.

By Asif M A

May 18, 2020

This course is an excellent resource to the beginners such as mine. Moreover the contents are well organized and very helpful to fill the blanks of knowledge in this area. However, if hands-on example for each special topics such as 100 meter sprint, building aerodynamics and cycling case are included it would have been the best resource to learn CFD simulation for the above mentioned cases.

By Rafael S A

May 13, 2020

Came to this course looking to enlarge my theoretical background, but found even more. How to apply air dynamics knowledge to different fields, some guidelines to perform feasible simulations and rare counter-intuitive effects to keep in mind, all explained in a perfect path by professor Bert Blocken, to whom I want to thank for this MOOC.

By André F M

Apr 21, 2020

This course has an excellent approach so that I can remember many concepts of aerodynamics that I had already studied and still delve into topics such as CWE and tests in wind tunnels. Easy-to-understand classes that I'm really enjoying for my aerodynamic learning process. In addition, he presents interesting quotes from the area.

By Avinash C

Jul 11, 2020

The course has just not cleared my doubts but also introduced me to new areas of CFD. Sports and building aerodynamics were new field for me and honestly speaking, I have learned a lot. I recommend course to people who are interested to explore more in aerodynamics.

By Efe O

May 04, 2020

It was a great opportunity to recall the principal laws of fluid physics and widen the focus on sports aerodynamics. Thanks to Coursera and Eindhoven Univesity of Technology for this MOOC. I hope Prof. Blocken will make a new detailed one on urban physics.

By Siddhant M

Jul 21, 2020

A brief explanation on all the topics related to building as well as sports Aerodynamics has been included in the course. Also the quiz at the end of every week ensures that the learner has acquired all the knowledge required in the following week.

By Mattia D

Aug 04, 2020

Great course - really recommended. In case you are interested in aerodynamics and you want to understand the complexity behind wind tunnel and cfd assessments applied to sports and building aerodynamics, this is definitely a great resource.

By Daniel C M

Jul 31, 2019

Great course!

You will find very useful aspects of fluid flow, you will learn a base to make wind tunnel tests and CFD simulations and find very interesting examples in the fields of Building Aerodynamics and Sports Aerodynamics.

By Murukesh M

May 18, 2020

Really intriguing and interesting course. The standard of the MOOC is exemplary. It tries to address many unconventional theories with perfectly validated studies. Highly recommended course.

By Ajay k

Jun 12, 2020

Very well explained and there have also been used animations to explain the concept which assists in understanding and picture formation in mind which is phenomenal.

By Parth M

Jun 02, 2020

It is really a great course that gives good knowledge about fundamentals of fluid mechanics, Boundary Layers, Wind tunnel simulations, and CFD.

By Pedro A

May 15, 2020

The course is mandatory for the ones interested in aerodynamics and how the details in high performance sports matter.

By ABHIMHANYU V

Jan 18, 2020

Amazing course with deep insight into the various tools employed in the research domain of aerodynamics

By Luca R

Feb 29, 2020

Exceptional material and explanations from the teacher. Very good resources where to learn from

By Vidhin P

Jun 03, 2020

very informative course and also certification process is very professional.

By Sebastian S

Jul 17, 2020

nice work!

good structure!

By AKSHAY D B

Aug 15, 2019

A very nice course.

By VINEETHKRISHNA.U

May 21, 2020

Good

By DharshiniMurugan

May 17, 2020

Good