Chevron Left
Back to Strategic Innovation Toolkit for Managers

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Strategic Innovation Toolkit for Managers by Vanderbilt University

4.7
95 ratings
22 reviews

About the Course

Does your business culture nurture innovation, or stifle it? Are you looking for ways to build your business creatively but find daunting constraints at every turn? This course is designed to help you understand the forces that limit innovation, identify those barriers in your own business culture, and break free of them to realize the full value of your imagination. You’ll learn new skills and strategies that you can immediately apply to drive innovation in your group or organization, and you’ll build an understanding of the six most common constraints on innovation in both individual and group settings—that is, the six ways that creative thinking is often sabotaged before it can produce results. You’ll also learn to recognize stakeholders who are actively invested in stopping your ideas in their tracks. Finally, you’ll examine societal and technical constraints that you’ll need to overcome to foster a forward-thinking culture. Through case studies and interactive exercises, you’ll learn how to generate and implement great ideas in your organization, build your organization’s capacity for innovation, create an innovative culture, lead innovation projects and teams, recognize big issues lurking on the horizon before they become constraints, drive adoption of great ideas, develop and manage an innovation portfolio, and innovate to stay relevant and competitive in a fast-changing landscape....

Top reviews

KK

Sep 14, 2018

Professor is clear and engaging. I like the format of presntation - stories and a clear outline/progression help make learning quick. practical application. just the right depth of knowledge

TP

Nov 03, 2016

Excellent! Perfect for new managers and those with in depth training that need best practices for dealing with issues on the front line.

Filter by:

1 - 20 of 20 Reviews for Strategic Innovation Toolkit for Managers

By Juan M

Jan 23, 2019

The insights and content delivery by professor Owens are extremely engaging...on my case, extremely useful for my daily activities.

By Kristen K

Sep 14, 2018

Professor is clear and engaging. I like the format of presntation - stories and a clear outline/progression help make learning quick. practical application. just the right depth of knowledge

By Alex P M

Dec 06, 2016

Muy buen curso, felicitaciones por la iniciativa.

By Isaac M B M

Dec 11, 2016

Great course!

By pradeepa

Dec 11, 2017

Quality course with enough case study.

By ipek k

Nov 05, 2017

I like the course and it is completely different than I take the innovation training in my country. It is surprising for me to think about constraints and the strategies how to overcome these constraints.

By Biswajit D

Dec 11, 2017

Wonderful course, simply awesome. In detail and very interesting

By Abhinna K S

Dec 23, 2017

Simply a great course and curriculum is awesome with very practical examples.

By IGNATIOS F

Jan 30, 2017

I was impressed!

By Revathi R

Dec 23, 2017

It's one of the very good course to start with. It really gave an insight that creativity has nothing to do with personal trait or genetic. And anyone can be creative by overcoming the constraints identified. David Owens has really done a very good job in putting this.

By Larkland M

Jan 08, 2018

Great course in planning innovation strategies and effective execution!!!

By Thomas D P

Nov 03, 2016

Excellent! Perfect for new managers and those with in depth training that need best practices for dealing with issues on the front line.

By Gabriel T

Mar 31, 2018

Fantastic Course! A framework that makes sense!

By Sin W L

Oct 16, 2017

Engaging

By Baskar G

Nov 30, 2017

Good course to identify your constraint and overcome those

By Shivanand A

Dec 20, 2017

Very useful course at all levels.

By Rubaiyat A T

Jul 24, 2018

Highly recommended for any professional.

By Nadav L

Dec 27, 2018

It's a great course. Learned a lot but still missed some real world samples and methodologies.

By Sheri S

Feb 23, 2019

Depending on students taking this course, it can be difficult to complete this due to required peer reviews.

By Charles I A

Oct 26, 2018

Very interesting and effective subject matter especially when you are a very dynamic and a proactive individual who seeks to promote change through innovation. Let's put a dent to the world - Steve Jobs