Chevron Left
Back to The World of the String Quartet

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The World of the String Quartet by Curtis Institute of Music

4.7
stars
344 ratings
90 reviews

About the Course

Arnold Steinhardt, first violin of the internationally acclaimed Guarneri String Quartet, invites music listeners to the world of the string quartet repertoire and ensemble. Journey with him and interpretive analysis instructor Mia Chung through the history and features of quartet music, colored by stories of legendary quartets and insights from the stage. This season's Curtis courses are sponsored by Linda Richardson in loving memory of her husband, Dr. Paul Richardson....

Top reviews

BK

Oct 05, 2015

This course was incredibly interesting and greatly informative! I am an amateur violinist and loved the historical information about the composers and the demonstrations by the Aizuri Quartet.

TV

Nov 03, 2015

This is a great course. The professors are wonderful and they clearly have a tremendous love (which they pass on to their pupils) of the subject matter. Week six blew my mind.

Filter by:

76 - 88 of 88 Reviews for The World of the String Quartet

By Nick W

Jul 02, 2016

This course is an overview of String Quartet music. It provides some nice resources to get to know certain composers or quartets better. It helped guide me to some nice music. The instructors are knowledgeable and do a good job imparting some of their insight into the lectures. The level of detail is about right for my time and attention span.

By Ravi D

Mar 02, 2019

Very good introduction and explanation of the history and form of string quartets. The organization of composers was clear and meaningful. I enjoyed the mixing of music appreciation with the nuts and bolts of quartet creation and design.

By Catherine S

May 30, 2018

I loved the content, and the presentation. My only gripe is that several of the links didn't work.

By JRV

Oct 08, 2015

A very good introduction to the wonderful world of string's quartet.Thanks a lot.

By Prasanna V R

Jan 27, 2016

Very good and wide ranging performances. The insights were interesting.

By TJ T

Oct 04, 2015

An excellent course that opens up a new world.

By Frédéric M

Sep 13, 2015

This Course is fantastic!!

By Lilian G

Jun 29, 2016

good and useful course

By Denis F

Sep 18, 2015

very emotional

By Mirri M D

May 09, 2020

All the links off-site didn't work.

By Martine

Mar 16, 2016

I

By Ronald J B

Apr 23, 2016

This course proved to be a waste of time. There was nothing about the structure and forms of the strong quartet, just "here's a good one to listen to." Almost complete devoid of intellectual content.

By James A O

Sep 17, 2015

Great music but quizzes seem to come from footnotes to the lessons!