Chevron Left
Back to Summary Statistics in Public Health

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Summary Statistics in Public Health by Johns Hopkins University

4.8
stars
1,123 ratings
290 reviews

About the Course

Biostatistics is the application of statistical reasoning to the life sciences, and it is the key to unlocking the data gathered by researchers and the evidence presented in the scientific literature. In this course, we'll focus on the use of statistical measurement methods within the world of public health research. Along the way, you'll be introduced to a variety of methods and measures, and you'll practice interpreting data and performing calculations on real data from published studies. Topics include summary measures, visual displays, continuous data, sample size, the normal distribution, binary data, the element of time, and the Kaplan-Meir curve....

Top reviews

AB
Apr 23, 2020

I am glad to learn a lot of terms in statistics and how to use and interpret them in the context of Public Health researches. The Instructor provided enough examples to understand the lessons better.

AA
Jan 10, 2021

This is a good and enticing introduction for the rest of the Coursera Specialization where it belongs. For added value, consider taking this course with a biostatistics textbook for better retention.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 291 Reviews for Summary Statistics in Public Health

By Dr.Jagadesaan N

Oct 2, 2020

good

By Michele B

Feb 4, 2021

This course is a good introduction to summary statistics that you might see in public health research. Covers normal distributions and standard deviation, binary data (risk difference, relative risk, odds ratio), and time-to-event data (IR hat, IRR hat, survival time/Kaplan Meier curve). The lectures are good and the instructor provides 'additional examples ' lectures. Some additional explanation of terms would be helpful. Course quizzes can be tricky - you have to type in something exactly as was entered in the key to get credit and the phrasing of some of the questions is confusing. Overall, a good intro to biostats.

By Eman A S

Sep 1, 2020

Learned a lot of new concepts and refreshed the part of my brain that studied probability mathematics, etc as a highschool senior -- unfortunately, mathematics that seem to get abandoned during most of med school. Instructor guides you through the topics in a really intuitive way.

Admittedly, it seems as though the topics i was most curious about only appear in subsequent courses, so i am slightly disappointed. Hopefully future courses also come with a free trial!

Give it a shot to cement your understanding of stats as used in the news, and in public health in general!

By Pius A O

Jun 30, 2019

I took the course to improve my competencies and build my capacity in biostatistics. This course has helped me to understand some biostatistical concepts that I did not fully grasp before now; e.g. standard deviation of binary data, some aspects of risk difference and relative risk and Kaplan-Meier plots. In fact, I'm impressed with the explanation of how to interpret risk difference and relative risk, i.e. for groups and individuals respectively!

By Ulukbek Z

Dec 30, 2020

Everything was good. Instructor is good but because online courses are some kind international, he should talk more slowly and more precise for international students. I know he is precise for English speaking participants. Anyway, his explanation and examples were very good. Thanks.

By Michael J

Jan 10, 2021

Excellent survey of statistical methods, interpretation and presentation. Prof. McReady's interest in and eagerness to share guidance on proper use of statistics in public health might convey better with improved graphics, but were on the whole very understandable and compelling.

By NITESH B

Apr 28, 2020

Fantastic and inspiring course. Very essential for everybody in the field of public health. Prof. Dr. John is extremely lucid and clear. Additional information or any added reading materials might help the aspirants.

By Dana S

May 12, 2020

Excellent explanations and interesting quizzes. I really enjoyed the final project. There was some echo throughout the lectures which was somewhat distracting, but that's minor. Thank you very much!

By Pinelopi T

Nov 27, 2020

I loved the profesor and the entire course. Many examples, simple language, great for understanding the basics of statistics. I'd have loved it if it contained more information about more subjects

By Emilyann L R

Jan 23, 2019

Great course. Couple of hiccups along the way, but I think they are all ironed out now. The instructor is excellent at explaining and providing relevant samples to demonstrate course material.

By Sunaina l

Jul 1, 2020

it was a great learning experience and this coursehave provided insight into some vital concepts in biomedical health statistics,I am very thanful to the entire team.

By Mary D

Jul 13, 2020

I found it to be a really useful refresher from an introductory biostats course from my graduate studies. Thanks for making this information so accessible!

By Ji H N

May 17, 2019

Quite a good course - sometimes though the questions are not really covered within the course lectures. Simple and easy to understand.

By Samira H

Jul 13, 2020

I liked the course very much. It would be helpful if we can get some better explanations on the box plot data presentations.

By Tadej D

Dec 6, 2020

In some areas to many unecessary words, it is easy to lose focus. Handwriting very bad!

But overall very good explanation.

By ADNAN M

Jul 9, 2020

Good course. But some of the questions are not understandable. And some of the calcualtions were not described detail.

By Douglas R

Feb 13, 2021

Good course, would be great if typos/errors especially in week 4 quiz and final course quiz were corrected.

By Adelle

Aug 6, 2020

This was a pretty great course. I do not know why I bothered with getting a Masters degree honestly.

By Alonso f

Feb 16, 2020

excelente curso introductorio, me hubiera gustado una versión escrita con más ejemplos.

By Felix C

Nov 27, 2020

Es un buen curso para entender desde lo básico la estadística aplicada a salud publica

By Sushanta S

Jun 23, 2019

ONLY THE LECTURE MATERIALS ARE NOT ENOUGH TO ANSWER THE QUESTIONS IN GRADED QUIZZES.

By Steve B

Aug 5, 2020

This was a very efficient and focused way to learn about public health statistics.

By Chi F M

Mar 5, 2019

Detailed and employs the use of many case examples. thanks

By L S

Aug 4, 2020

It is very good experience of learning from coursera

By Sujani S

Apr 25, 2020

Very informative course with lots of examples.