Chevron Left
Back to The Age of Sustainable Development

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Age of Sustainable Development by Columbia University

4.8
stars
2,355 ratings
831 reviews

About the Course

The Age of Sustainable Development" gives students an understanding of the key challenges and pathways to sustainable development - that is, economic development that is also socially inclusive and environmentally sustainable....

Top reviews

AA
Jun 1, 2020

Very informative and detailed. Prof. Sachs covers all aspects of sustainable development in detail. Though the course was designed in 2013 hence does not cover the latest development to SDGs to date.

LG
May 18, 2017

This course was perfect for those wanting to explore the world of development, broad enough to include all interlinked themes, with sufficient reading materials to spark one's specializing interests.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 810 Reviews for The Age of Sustainable Development

By Nancy W

Oct 29, 2017

Excellent course. Unfortunately, Coursera does little to maintain the material, leaving the Mentors to correct obsolete data for the quizzes. Professor Sachs has presented excellent material. It's up to Coursera to keep the material up to date when they are informed.

By Rafael F

May 17, 2017

Excellent! You get to know a bit of history, therefore you can learn about the evolution of the concepts and why we have the ideas of today's sustainable development. It also gives you a wide range of what do we need for sustainability and what is being done. Very good!

By Markus B

Oct 2, 2015

Great view over the big challenges of today and the future.

Excellent explaint and a lot of information about the history and the reasons of our problems on planet earth...

Gives you a profound knowledge how we should manage the future to have a better life for everyone.

By Catharine P

Aug 4, 2020

An excellent, informative, and interesting course. The course could improve by updating the datasets required to complete assignments -- several websites no longer display the data necessary to answer exam questions. The course content is excellent and well-presented.

By Mónica A G

Jul 25, 2019

I loved the material and topics of the course, I think everybody shpuld take this course to understand the moment we are living in and the possible solutions to make this a better world. I just suggest to uptade the exam website links, since some of them are broken.

By Alexis T

Dec 26, 2017

Very interesting course, very well presented by Prof. Sachs. This course focuses on every field of sustainable development at the global scale with an international approach. Prof. Sachs' point of view as a UN advisor is extremly instructive. Thank you Prof Sachs!

By Ayşe E Y

Oct 10, 2017

This course provides you the basics of Sustainable Development, framed around economic development, environmental development and social development. Prof. Sachs is a fantastic instructor and the materials provided are very helpful to learn more about the subject.

By Sanchia J

Jan 1, 2017

It was an incredible privilege to be taught by Prof Sachs, during this course. The content challenged some of the current views I held about sustainable development and encouraged my own thinking on the subject matter within my skill set. Highly recommendable!!

By Jocelyn A A

Oct 28, 2020

I really enjoyed the course and learnt a lot. there are a few links in the quizzes that don't work properly or are out of date so I found it difficult to answer some of the questions correctly however I completed and passed the course and found it very well done.

By Santiago A

Jun 11, 2020

What a great course to pave the way towards my master's degree in sustainable development. Thank you Professor Jeffrey for sharing your valuable knowledge and thanks to Coursera for being the channel, what an astounding way to revolutionize the educational model.

By Felipe A P

Sep 19, 2019

Professor Sachs is excellent, transmitting the contents with clarity and porpoise. The course topics are broad and inter-connected. I do recommend this course for people who want to start to have a deep understanding of what sustainable developing really means.

By Gloria A G T

Nov 9, 2017

Very interesting course. I learned a lot and inspired me to continue studying about sustainable development.

Easy to follow and understand, the quizzes and exams were very dynamic, so you understand and go beyond the lectures and research more about the topics.

By John E S

Jan 23, 2017

Great course that highlights the need to take action to save our planet so we can continue to prosper and thrive. For that, a lot of things need to change. Dr. Jeffrey D. Sachs points out where the challenges are and helps us form ideas to shape a new future.

By Felipe B

Nov 23, 2016

This set of videos really gives you a complete view of what sustainability must deal with and I really liked the type of tests used as they are not about how much you can memorize, but how able you are to analize. It tooked me a while, but I really liked it.

By Jose B

Nov 19, 2015

Full of the diverse sub topics about sustainable development the course is pretty good in motivating you to consider this astounding subject that sadly requires a let's say continuation to allow you to make every thing that is discussed part of your life.

By Firdaus A

Dec 6, 2017

One of the rare courses where I managed to go through until the end and passed! Detailed and comprehensive, but still very easy to understand explanation by Prof. Sachs. I definitely recommend this course for anyone interested in the future of our world.

By Patricia p

Apr 3, 2017

Dr. Sachs is a very engaging professor and the topics discussed are very interesting. If you are into sustainability, this is the "I must have" course. I enjoyed every bit of it, and it lead me to search for Dr. Sachs books and read them. Just awesome!!!

By Laila k k

Jul 7, 2019

One of the most brilliant courses that I have undertaken twice so far.. and mentor! Hats off to Professor Sachs, with what simplicity are such complex issues covered... holistically, and with passion. I shall return to it again to refresh the memory..

By SERIS,Kristina D

May 19, 2018

Great lecturer, great course connecting all the dots and facilitating a deeper understanding of sustainable development and the most pressing issues that humanity and our planet need to address. This course should be a must for all development workers

By Jutta d P

Jan 22, 2020

I enjoyed the course from the first to the last lesson. Very instructive and useful and it stimulated me to deal with the subject more deeply. I just had a few moments of frustration during the quizzes when the data (links) wasn't available anymore.

By Natasha B

Jun 19, 2017

An incredible learning experience, understanding history of economic development, the impact of humans on our resources and options for sustainable development across the critically important SDG's! Thank you for informative and enlightening course!

By Sara S A

Oct 19, 2015

Este curso es especialmente interesante. Estimula la investigación y lectura de otras fuentes. He sufrido un poco cuando los videos no tienen los subtitulos en inglés, pero aun asi he continuado. Gracias por presentar estos cursos de forma gratuita.

By Rachel M

Oct 10, 2016

Excellent course - it should be required for all human beings, so to make more responsible choices about how we choose to live on the planet. I learned a great deal - highly informative and interesting. I was engaged throughout the whole course.

By Susan W

Jul 7, 2019

Excellent course. Dr. Sachs is an interesting lecturer and I felt I gained a comprehensive overview of sustainable development issues. It’s such a great course, would be wonderful if the references to primary sources could be updated. Thank you!

By Amaka M

May 28, 2017

The Age of Sustainable Development is very educative and informative. I recommend that this course should be made General Studies in every university. Sustainable Development is the responsibility of every person. Thank you, Prof. Jeffrey Sachs!