Chevron Left
Back to Sustainable Tourism – promoting environmental public health

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Sustainable Tourism – promoting environmental public health by University of Copenhagen

4.6
stars
718 ratings
253 reviews

About the Course

The MOOC introduces learners to key environmental health and natural resources management challenges associated with the rapid growth in international tourist arrivals into low-income countries. Since infrastructural and regulatory capacities in such countries are often limited they are more exposed to the negative implications of such development. The MOOC will present experiences and potential avenues to develop a more sustainable form of tourism. The Course particularly focuses on the problems and potentials of tourism development in small island states in tropical and sub-tropical settings and highlights the challenges of such development on vulnerable ecosystems. It also highlights how tourism development in Zanzibar results in increased pressure on its marine environment, solid waste management, water resources and control of mosquitoes. These factors will be used as tracers of impacts and areas for future improvement towards a more sustainable form of tourism. The Course topics also relate to a number of targets under the global Sustainable Development Goals connected especially to Goals 3: “good health and well-being”, 6: “clean water and sanitation”, 14: “life below water” and 17: “partnerships”. Thus, the Course is a continuation of the efforts and discussions raised as part of the 2017 international year of sustainable tourism. A diversity of perspectives and areas of expertise will be presented by researchers from the University of Copenhagen, State University of Zanzibar, representatives from the hotel sector and international experts in specific areas of sustainable tourism....

Top reviews

AB

Mar 08, 2020

Amazing course. Full of great information, straight to the point, with many life examples and research data. Very helpful for both environmental enthusiasts and hospitality professionals. Many thanks!

H

Jun 04, 2020

I want to appreciate my Mentor Mr. Flemming Konradsen for providing such a pleasant learning experience through this course. This will surely enlighten our career in a positive direction.\n\nThank You

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 251 Reviews for Sustainable Tourism – promoting environmental public health

By Mariana R K

Jun 08, 2019

The course is OK, but just that. It is too focused on one case study, and the quizes are all about specific statistics on the case of Zanzibar. It feels like you're doing a course on the tourism challenges of one specific place, instead of broadly speaking about the sustainability of tourism in different scenarios.

By Ulla M K N

Apr 17, 2020

The course was very focused on Zanzibar. As the owner of a travel agency I needed a broader view on the subject. The quiz parts were more or less just numbers from stats or quotes from Danish professors. I hoped for a far more practical course rather than this "Learn these numbers from Zanzibar and remember them...

By Elkin A

Dec 28, 2018

It is a great course for those interested in sustainable tourism! Keep in mind that it is developed on a case study (Zanzibar) and it focuses a lot in coastal environments. Still, you could apply the knowledge to other environments/scenarios.

By Himank A

Jun 04, 2020

I want to appreciate my Mentor Mr. Flemming Konradsen for providing such a pleasant learning experience through this course. This will surely enlighten our career in a positive direction.

Thank You

By peter j

Sep 07, 2019

The topic is broad and deep, so this short course hardly scratches the surface. That is okay, but what is not is the poor mechanics of it. Many of the links were broken. Of those that were not they led to forums that require a sign in to download the document. Most of the material was between 5 and 10 years old. Some of the material was too light - media articles written for an uniformed audience, while other material was too heavy - scientific papers written for scholars in the field. There was not much balance. On top of all that, the English transcriptions of the videos are full of errors, which sometimes made them incomprehensible.

By Monica J

Apr 22, 2020

Many of the links required signing up for a service. Suggest having the information in a .pdf instead of links. I learned mainly about Zanzibar. Suggest including more countries or changing the title of the course to reflect that Zanzibar is the focus.

By Nicolas C W

Aug 29, 2018

very specific, not widely applicable

By Ajmeth R

Jul 06, 2020

Fantastic course. Only drawbacks would be statistics and studies that maybe outdated now, and some links to studies that are not open for all readers. Use and reference to Zanzibar as a case study throughout the course while a good idea for statistics and examples, the course felt a bit to exclusive to Zanzibar's sustainability issues. More examples like when the course brought in India, Mallorca etc may have helped.

By Arpito G

Jul 26, 2020

It is a very well thought out and engaging course. It opens up the mind to the challenges faced by the various small island nations as well as the other regions which are dependent on tourist inflow but are battling to face the challenges to sustainability and ecological instability because of the inflow. This course gives good insights and handles the case study of Zanzibar very well.

By Federica I

Feb 20, 2020

The course is very interesting, but I would have preferred a more international approach. Some of the readings and videos were outdated, available only by payment or not available at all. I think this course should be reviewed.

By Alexandra S

Apr 24, 2020

Some resources were unavailable and context is a bit outdated in my opinion. But in general, a great start for anyone learning about the concept of sustainability and the speakers were very good as well.

By Jonathan D

Apr 17, 2020

Would have appreciated a more extensive, worldview-look of the issue. Using Zanzibar as a case study was great, but the course needed more depth in other areas of the world.

By Meeth J

May 25, 2020

A decent course which highlights various problems the tourism industry faces and creates for the environment.

By HIMA B S S K

May 20, 2020

From this course we can know about Zanzibar island.And the measures to reduce waste in the hotels.

By Vanderleia M D

Jun 14, 2020

Very specific case to study, I was expecting someting more general... Questions are always related to specific numbers and percentages and i fel that it leads us to decorate the numbers instead of really learning.

The professor is very good but personally, once again, I was expecting someting more general.

By Esther H O

Aug 27, 2019

Aunque el contenido del curso está genial, muchos de los links a contenidos están rotos o caídos, con lo que encontrar esos materiales es complicado o imposible a la hora de contestar los cuestionarios.

By Giulia C

May 24, 2020

This course is useful but it focuses too much on numbers, percentages and statistics

By Kelsey K

Dec 02, 2019

The clarity and enthusiasm with which Professor Flemming Konradsen presented the material in each lecture was extremely effective and helpful. His interviews with different experts, researchers and local professors were incredibly interesting and informative and his questions helped me get a much better sense of the situation. I came into this course not having much of an idea about the complexities of ecotourism and emerged knowing much more about human impact on the earth in a variety of different environments. Topics from water usage to mosquitoes to fishing habits kept me interested and the constant statistics were there for support. The class was set up very organized and I would take another course with this department in a heartbeat. I just wish I hadn’t procrastinated and put it off for so long! (But the option is there.) Thank you Staff at Uni of Copenhagen!

By Alexa C

May 02, 2020

I have a masters in sustainable tourism (social research) from King's College London and I learned a lot from my programme, but my course did not delve in detail about the human health related impacts of tourism as much. Unless your dissertation focused on tourism and health, we only spoke of the impact of tourism on health in general terms. This specific course by the University of Copenhagen was a great way to better understand the more specific relationship between health and tourism. I learned a lot and was grateful for the new sources and materials shared. I especially thought that the case study approach was a great way to make the issues more real and 'understandable'. Well done to UofC for a great course! Would recommend.

By Monica G

Mar 01, 2020

Excellent course, excellent presentations, very interesting approach, interviews, questions, reflections, approaches to the tourism model that must be revised for the future.

The proposals made that take into account the local populations and the need to control the ways of doing business that do not take into account in social or economic terms the residents of the populations themselves, which are utilities from the point of view of heritage, economy and human and natural resources, are extraordinary.

Also excellent is the leadership of the coordinator, a key person who runs the course beautifully and is a pleasure to listen to. Congratulations on this course which is a gem.

By Victor P

Aug 23, 2020

Very good course, for me was totally life changing, and interesting how a non social responsible tourist can destroy the local environment with simple "non thinkable" actions and decisions, and the inverse, with a social, cultural and economic responsible tourist can develop an country and protect the nature at same time! really amazing, I recommend everyone who travel for long distances destinations, mainly for little islands. And for hoteliers decision-makers who want to achieve a brand new type of market, that probable will increase in the near future.

By Hilary M

May 18, 2020

This was a great introduction to some of the broader issues tourism causes, and with a helpful deep-dive into the situation on Zanzibar. Plenty of supplemental materials to read and watch. My one complaint is that several of the optional readings were from research websites where, even after creating a student account, I wasn't able to access. Also, a few of the other links were broken. But still, the videos and content in the main part of the course were really excellent.

By Ian c

Sep 13, 2020

Before the course, I was not conscious what I "contributed" positively and negatively as a tourist when I visited a beach resort in another country. I'll make sure in future when I visit another beach resort that I, as much as possible, leave behind only footprints which can be washed away by water.

I hope that the links to the readings could be reviewed regularly to check if it is not broken and if the readings are still accessible directly by the public.

By Donavan P R

Sep 01, 2020

This course does make you begin to ponder the many things that one doesn't even consider as a tourist in another country. Tourism was and hopefully in the future will be again a thriving industry. At the same time, the way tourism operates now is not sustainable and we do have to reformat it so that we can enjoy the many beautiful tourist destinations that we love to enjoy. The concepts are easily understood by their applications to real life scenarios.

By Ryoko O

Aug 12, 2019

Great introductory course to the field of sustainable tourism. It covers various aspects of the field by focusing on a specific real-life case, Zanzibar. I was able to learn not only of the issues arising from poorly managed tourism, but also how and why it became an issue from the past, as well as potential solutions for the future. As a traveller myself, it has made me a "conscious traveller," and also encouraged me to study further into this field.