Chevron Left
Back to Text Mining and Analytics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Text Mining and Analytics by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.5
stars
565 ratings
126 reviews

About the Course

This course will cover the major techniques for mining and analyzing text data to discover interesting patterns, extract useful knowledge, and support decision making, with an emphasis on statistical approaches that can be generally applied to arbitrary text data in any natural language with no or minimum human effort. Detailed analysis of text data requires understanding of natural language text, which is known to be a difficult task for computers. However, a number of statistical approaches have been shown to work well for the "shallow" but robust analysis of text data for pattern finding and knowledge discovery. You will learn the basic concepts, principles, and major algorithms in text mining and their potential applications....

Top reviews

JH

Feb 10, 2017

Excellent course, the pipeline they propose to help you understand text mining is quite helpful. It has an important introduction to the most key concepts and techniques for text mining and analytics.

DC

Mar 25, 2018

The content of Text Mining and Analytics is very comprehensive and deep. More practise about how formula works would be better. Quiz could be not tough to be completed after attending every lectures.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 125 Reviews for Text Mining and Analytics

By George P

Nov 02, 2017

Outstanding mix of theory and practical applications to help understand the theory. Well organized and excellent presentations. Thank you!

By Godwin I

Aug 27, 2016

Excellent Module!

A most know & understand unit for all students of Data Science. Enjoyed every aspect of the learning .. Good teaching !!!

By Yaoyao D

Feb 12, 2019

It is rare to find an online course that explains the statistics and intuition behind text mining and machine learning algorithm!

By Amar J

Jul 15, 2019

This course teaches you the very nitty-gritty details of text mining. It has been an enriching experience for me in this course.

By Ruben D S P

May 27, 2019

great clases about text mining, this is really important becuase many people required this type of data analysis all of the time

By YASH L

Apr 11, 2019

The course was very challenging and i learn a lot of new things from the course, this will help to complete my project.

By Mohan R

Jul 23, 2017

The workflow is clear and the professor speaks to the students directly about all aspects without skimming the material.

By selvaperumal.p

Jun 21, 2017

My favorite course and my favorite instructor. Highly informative. I wish i want to be a real student of the instructor.

By Ch N

Sep 12, 2017

Good course, but if combined with weekly assignments in python and R it would be even better than any other course.

By Zhao Q

Oct 22, 2016

Very comprehensive introduction to text mining. It serves well as a First Class to text mining and analytics!

By Yugandhar D

Jan 02, 2019

Excellent course the provides comprehensive knowledge on Text Mining and Ananlytics in all its dimensions.

By g m

May 04, 2020

Excellent Course, but it may becoming a little dated given that most of the references are pre c2010.

By Hai Q P

Aug 09, 2019

The course helps me delve deeper into my research. Very helpful for researchers in graduate schools!

By Uday A K

Jul 30, 2018

i have completed the course but didnt receive certificate and there is no option for id verification

By Eduardo D S

May 28, 2017

Useful as introductory course on NLP. Recommended for anyone who wants to begin on this discipline.

By Matt R C

Dec 06, 2017

Excellent course, have to really listen to the instructor but course information is excellent!

By Haozhe ( X

Jun 15, 2020

Great intermediate course for text mining. Leant a lot about corresponding method and series

By Steven Z

Apr 05, 2017

While I did not do the assignments. The videos and explanations included were top notch!

By Yongduk K

Jul 28, 2017

useful to make a big picture for text-mining and to learn several practical approaches.

By Julie W

Jan 22, 2018

Useful course to build foundation for text mining and NLP especially for beginners.

By Flor

Jun 04, 2020

I would like to thank Prof Cheng for imparting his knowledge. Thank you, Coursera.

By Michael H

Dec 07, 2017

Good course, more practical examples of the different techniques would be helpful!

By Guy Z

Jul 19, 2017

A very good introduction, yet some concepts stays too abstract in my opinion.

By SAYANTAN D

Feb 25, 2018

Womderful course material with lucid videos and interesting quiz patterns.

By shaoming.xu

Jun 04, 2019

Excellent courses. Prof Zhai provide a lot of insight in this course!