Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Typography

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Typography by California Institute of the Arts

4.8
stars
4,131 ratings
842 reviews

About the Course

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

Top reviews

BG

Aug 04, 2020

I thought the assignments worked really cohesively with one another. It helped to keep terms and skills in mind from one assignment to the next. The lecture videos were great, short, and to the point.

MB

Jul 26, 2020

The course is very interesting and well presented, the assignments are really helpful for the learning process. I would recommend to anyone interested in design, art, web design or just for curiosity.

Filter by:

301 - 325 of 815 Reviews for Introduction to Typography

By Hibah D

Apr 24, 2020

Really great course and informative! I enjoyed it and was a bit sad that it's short!

By Dana L

Sep 09, 2018

Very interesting and important course to those who wish to become a graphic designer

By Khadijah A

Oct 06, 2016

Great and organized material in a very step by step building of skills. Great class!

By Joe C

May 13, 2016

this was a quick but engaging introduction to typography and typographical concepts.

By Mohammad W M S

Oct 13, 2020

Great course. I learned a lot of things that was unknown to me as graphic designer.

By zuokemefa o p

Apr 15, 2020

If your looking to improve your knowledge about typography, your in the right place

By Sergio A G R

Mar 05, 2020

I think the whole course was very good in terms of content and general was amazing.

By �SAGNIK K

Jun 28, 2020

I'm very much grateful to coursera for organizing this type of informative course.

By John M

Sep 13, 2019

Anther does a great job introducing and opening you up to the world of typography.

By Jose A G R

Aug 17, 2019

Great course, easy to understand, a teacher with a lot of knoledge on the topic...

By Ken M

Jul 09, 2017

Wonderfully informative intro to typography, its history and creative application.

By Elena T

Jun 05, 2017

Great course that covers basics you need to know in order to move in GD direction!

By Magdalena S

Mar 03, 2017

You will never look at any text/page/book/poster the same way again. Great course!

By Ashley K

Dec 16, 2016

I learned quite a bit for it just being introductory. Would definitely recommend.

By Smith B

Aug 25, 2020

Thank you so much for the interesting curriculum. It helps broaden my creativity.

By Sandhya S

Jun 01, 2020

This was an interesting course and I have gained a new perspective on typography.

By SUVRA D

Feb 05, 2020

The course is really exciting and fun. I got to learn many new things. Thank you!

By Balaji A

Mar 19, 2018

Lots of interesting insights about the typo and the excerises we really engaging.

By Francesca S

Jan 22, 2018

It was a great opportunity to learn the basics of typography. I truly enjoyed it!

By Govindarajan S

Jun 27, 2016

Excellent coverage. The assignments are good and the quality of the video is gret

By Thamonwan L

May 02, 2020

This course is very organized an useful. Videos are well-made and very detailed.

By Valentina S

Aug 03, 2019

Great start in typography and very useful practical assignment. Highly recommend

By Allison W

Jan 15, 2019

This was a thoroughly enjoyable course. I wish there was another followup to it!

By Marta D C A

Jan 18, 2018

beautifuly taught, perfect introduction and instruction. Do highly recommend it.

By Muhammad A Y

Dec 27, 2017

i really thankful to coursera . and learn most important skill about typography.