Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Typography

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Typography by California Institute of the Arts

4.8
stars
4,140 ratings
842 reviews

About the Course

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

Top reviews

BG

Aug 04, 2020

I thought the assignments worked really cohesively with one another. It helped to keep terms and skills in mind from one assignment to the next. The lecture videos were great, short, and to the point.

MB

Jul 26, 2020

The course is very interesting and well presented, the assignments are really helpful for the learning process. I would recommend to anyone interested in design, art, web design or just for curiosity.

Filter by:

376 - 400 of 815 Reviews for Introduction to Typography

By Amy H

Apr 17, 2020

Amazing course for everything you need to know about typography.

By Komal R

Mar 30, 2020

It was interesting and many things i have learn about typography

By Gael F

Sep 01, 2020

I loved learning about this branch of graphic design expression

By Tanvir A

Apr 29, 2020

great course! learned a lot about the typography & it's history

By Astria B

Jan 31, 2020

Great subject and lecture. I learned a lot thank you very much.

By Sarah N

Jul 10, 2017

lot's of info .. recommended for anyone in the design industry

By Kevin J

May 21, 2017

Great Course, So enjoyed it. Wish there was a follow up or 2.0

By Francesca D L

Mar 12, 2020

this course is super, interesting and very useful! thank you!

By Shubham Y

Nov 20, 2017

Good Course for beginners. Covers fundamentals of Typography.

By Katherine K

Dec 13, 2016

If you are beginners in typography this course is for you! =)

By Siya B

Aug 24, 2020

learnt a LOT of things!! definitely keen on learning more!!!

By Akshitha k

Aug 05, 2020

This course is very useful and make us to learn many things.

By Raiyan A

Aug 05, 2020

Liked it a lot

helped me to increase my typographic knowledge

By Ella H

Apr 07, 2020

Really loved this course, found it insightful and fun to do.

By Darrick C

Jun 30, 2019

challenging, rewarding and i would recommend it to anyone =)

By Justina S

Jan 04, 2018

Great and interesting course, i enjoyed being a part of it !

By Dasha Y

Dec 20, 2017

Lots of useful information! Thanks for creating this course!

By Liliya G

Mar 26, 2016

Deep information, given in easy way, interesting assignments

By SYED A H

May 29, 2018

Really opened my mind to the different perspectives in text

By Flávia G

Mar 06, 2018

The course is very rich in content and the teacher is great

By Lisa L

Sep 21, 2020

I enjoyed this course immensely. Well constructed and fun.

By chathrapathi n k

Aug 10, 2020

Everything is positive about this course I really liked it

By Kent T

Sep 21, 2019

Course offers practical instruction in a condensed format.

By Sazedul I

Sep 15, 2019

Excellent course with lot of information about Typography.

By Geraldine D

Apr 19, 2017

Nice course : good explanation and interesting assignement