Chevron Left
Back to Understanding Financial Markets

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding Financial Markets by University of Geneva

4.7
2,677 ratings
521 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you will learn what the main financial markets and their characteristics are as well as how they are linked to the economy. Our very diversified team of experts will start by teaching you how the price of stocks and bonds are computed and why they move while you will become increasingly aware of the notion of risk and why it matters when measuring an investment's performance. The focus will then move to less popular markets such as gold, emerging markets, real estate, hedge funds and private markets. These will be analyzed with an emphasis on their particular risks and return opportunities as well as how they can help in building efficient portfolios. Finally, the policies of central banks and their impact on financial markets will be presented to you along with the link between the economy and the price of financial assets. All along these different steps, experts from UBS, our corporate partner, will show you how the concepts you just acquired are effectively applied in a leading global bank. This focus on practicality means you will not only understand what is going on in global financial markets but also start to figure out how you can use them to achieve financial goals, be it a client's or your own. Course Director and main teaching contributor: Dr. Michel Girardin, Lecturer in Macro-Finance, University of Geneva...

Top reviews

MC

Jul 17, 2017

Mr. Michel is really an amazing teacher! His lectures are vivic and greatly attracts my attention. I hope to take more of his classes because I've Learned more than I nomally can do in a short class

AF

Mar 15, 2016

This course excellent provides all the basic information which is important and necessary would recommend the course to all the newbies in financial markets\n\nP.S:The professors are AMAZING!

Filter by:

276 - 300 of 504 Reviews for Understanding Financial Markets

By Jonathan M

May 29, 2017

I

By TAGKALAKI M

May 31, 2017

GOOD CONTENT AND SPEAKERS, NICE REAL

By WASIU A A

Sep 05, 2017

This program has reformed me completely; I am now feeling like a pro admist my feloow analyst at work.

By Kristin L S

Nov 11, 2017

Very comprehensive introduction to finance! Great teachers!

By zhangchengdong

Nov 14, 2017

i

By Stephen v d T

Jun 30, 2018

A great course for somebody who wants an introductory understanding to financial markets and what makes them tick. Also great for accounting and finance professionals who need a refresh.

By Jiaqi S

Mar 12, 2018

Very well designed course and enjoyable to learn

By Andres M

Dec 18, 2017

Just what I was looking for, this course is composed of key concepts and subjects that are very well explained. Would recommend it for sure.

By Pablo O

Jun 04, 2018

Very good

By Batsuren B

Oct 10, 2016

Examples that are provided in the course make it easy to understand and to apply in the real world. I have learned a lot about financial markets and theirs relationships with economy. Now, I have better fundamental understanding of investment decisions. It is one of the wonderful learning experiences I have had in Coursera. Thank you for bringing the specialization in more effective ways.

By Elton F K W

Mar 14, 2016

Lively demonstration of concepts and excellent, knowledgeable professors. Would strongly recommend to my friends and family!

By Arie H A

Jul 05, 2017

Professor Girardin is a great teacher, i loved the course

By André Z P

Apr 20, 2016

This course intends to give an overview of the financial markets and the different kinds of investments. All the intructors are great, especially professor Michel, who is the main instructor in this course.

Moreover, I considered the tests adequate for learning purposes.

By David W

Apr 08, 2016

Great course for kick-starting this well presented Specialization.

By Melanie A

Aug 02, 2016

Fantastic course. Videos are clear, informative, have a good mix of theoretical and real-world examples and Michel Girardin (one of the lecturers) has really good, original examples to explain concepts and also keep one entertained (online courses with hours of financial theory can be tough in this regard sometimes!). Also, the video content is interspersed with mini quizzes (generally not graded) which help keep your attention and test learning. Overall very, very pleased - definitely the best online course I've taken in years.

By JARUBOOT A

Jan 23, 2017

Good course. However, the language used in this course was a bit tough for a foreigner (non-english speaking participant).

By Daniel F S R

May 29, 2017

Very good lecturers and complementary reading. Easy to understand and engage. A lot of practical knowledge from UBS guest lecturers.

By Desiree L

Sep 24, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed the video lectures, reading materials and the quizzes

By Minas-Marios V

Aug 08, 2016

Excellent course for beginners with small or zero background on Finance. Really passionate teachers and solid course material.

By Marco S

May 01, 2016

The corse is very well organized. The concepts explained are basic, but foundamental to understand macro-investment decisions and they are explained in a very clear way: every concept is underpinned by a series of example from actual macroeconomic situations, which help to better grasps the theory.

Also the balance between the duration of the course and the theory explained is very good.

By Gilang R P

Sep 08, 2016

The lecturers is a real deal and the course is so fun and enjoyable.

By Diana K

Apr 17, 2016

W

By Mauricio V

Jun 10, 2018

This course helped me to refresh knowledge from college. Mr. Michel Girardin is awesome as teacher. The UBS videos are very useful.

By Suresh N

Oct 08, 2017

r

e

f

r

e

r

By Markus Z

Feb 21, 2016

Excellent video series with very good teaching staff.