Chevron Left
Back to Understanding Financial Markets

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding Financial Markets by University of Geneva

4.7
2,650 ratings
515 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you will learn what the main financial markets and their characteristics are as well as how they are linked to the economy. Our very diversified team of experts will start by teaching you how the price of stocks and bonds are computed and why they move while you will become increasingly aware of the notion of risk and why it matters when measuring an investment's performance. The focus will then move to less popular markets such as gold, emerging markets, real estate, hedge funds and private markets. These will be analyzed with an emphasis on their particular risks and return opportunities as well as how they can help in building efficient portfolios. Finally, the policies of central banks and their impact on financial markets will be presented to you along with the link between the economy and the price of financial assets. All along these different steps, experts from UBS, our corporate partner, will show you how the concepts you just acquired are effectively applied in a leading global bank. This focus on practicality means you will not only understand what is going on in global financial markets but also start to figure out how you can use them to achieve financial goals, be it a client's or your own. Course Director and main teaching contributor: Dr. Michel Girardin, Lecturer in Macro-Finance, University of Geneva...

Top reviews

MC

Jul 17, 2017

Mr. Michel is really an amazing teacher! His lectures are vivic and greatly attracts my attention. I hope to take more of his classes because I've Learned more than I nomally can do in a short class

AF

Mar 15, 2016

This course excellent provides all the basic information which is important and necessary would recommend the course to all the newbies in financial markets\n\nP.S:The professors are AMAZING!

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 497 Reviews for Understanding Financial Markets

By Juan J B

Feb 03, 2018

It is an excellent course, very easy to understand and the professor Michel Girardin is great.

By TAGKALAKI M

May 31, 2017

GOOD CONTENT AND SPEAKERS, NICE REAL

By Devang S

Jun 18, 2017

Enriching experience. Kudos to the teachers for making the session very interesting and lively. :)

By Nkemjika U

Jun 17, 2017

The lecturers did a fine job breaking down the course and making it really easy to understand. I totally enjoyed the course.

By Mohamed M M A A

Jan 07, 2018

good course

By Samuel G

Jul 24, 2017

Great introductory course that gets you hungry for more!

By WASIU A A

Sep 05, 2017

This program has reformed me completely; I am now feeling like a pro admist my feloow analyst at work.

By Kristin L S

Nov 11, 2017

Very comprehensive introduction to finance! Great teachers!

By Fernando d M F

Sep 29, 2017

I understood better how all these groups of actions and investments and positioning of the country with companies to the world works

By Harsh M

Jan 13, 2018

I am new in finance stream. So i don't know about so much. But There I learned so many thighs. How..... I am too surprised that and now i feel, I know.... Ya I know finance and I can also think my future in investment management. So thank you COURSERA team for giving me chance to learn by University Of Geneva's professor.

By zhangchengdong

Nov 14, 2017

i

By Venkatesh A

Jan 15, 2018

As a beginner into world of finance, find this module completely intriguing, informative and a peek through of what generally is what. Moving onto to module two for more learning :)

By Aaron K

Oct 03, 2017

An excellent overview of the key assets that can be invested in on global financial markets and a thorough grounding in macro-finance from the teaching team at University of Geneva. A fitting introduction for the 4-course MOOC!

By Leteshia C

Oct 10, 2017

Excellent! As a beginner this clearly introduced various types of investments and their usages. The only issue I have is all the math equations were not clearly explained but still an excellent course.

By Simone F

Dec 24, 2017

Very useful and interesting course.

By Praneeth K

May 17, 2017

Thanks very much for the course. Would've been more challenging if there were new questions in the graded quiz during retake

By Akshay G M

Jul 24, 2017

v

By Haoran G

Oct 28, 2017

perfect

By Liya C

Nov 06, 2017

This class review Essential concepts of investment- risk & return, within the framework of Macroeconomic. It's the first listen teaching what to put in a diversified portfolio.

By Jeronimo

Dec 01, 2017

Excelente curso. Recomendado para todo aquel interesado en aprender sobre el mundo de las inversiones.

By Sylwia D

Oct 25, 2017

I have enjoyed every single lesson a lot! Very interesting course and very well done! Thank you!

By Masutano M

May 30, 2018

Brilliantly put out! well composed courses! rich with information and great insight to the world of finance!

By Stefano P

Dec 04, 2017

Great!!

By Scalesse

Apr 18, 2018

Very good course with superb analogies to understand some financial key concepts

By chester b

Aug 17, 2017

loved it and late earn great deal about financial markets