Chevron Left
Back to Understanding Financial Markets

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding Financial Markets by University of Geneva

4.7
2,644 ratings
515 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you will learn what the main financial markets and their characteristics are as well as how they are linked to the economy. Our very diversified team of experts will start by teaching you how the price of stocks and bonds are computed and why they move while you will become increasingly aware of the notion of risk and why it matters when measuring an investment's performance. The focus will then move to less popular markets such as gold, emerging markets, real estate, hedge funds and private markets. These will be analyzed with an emphasis on their particular risks and return opportunities as well as how they can help in building efficient portfolios. Finally, the policies of central banks and their impact on financial markets will be presented to you along with the link between the economy and the price of financial assets. All along these different steps, experts from UBS, our corporate partner, will show you how the concepts you just acquired are effectively applied in a leading global bank. This focus on practicality means you will not only understand what is going on in global financial markets but also start to figure out how you can use them to achieve financial goals, be it a client's or your own. Course Director and main teaching contributor: Dr. Michel Girardin, Lecturer in Macro-Finance, University of Geneva...

Top reviews

MC

Jul 17, 2017

Mr. Michel is really an amazing teacher! His lectures are vivic and greatly attracts my attention. I hope to take more of his classes because I've Learned more than I nomally can do in a short class

AF

Mar 15, 2016

This course excellent provides all the basic information which is important and necessary would recommend the course to all the newbies in financial markets\n\nP.S:The professors are AMAZING!

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 497 Reviews for Understanding Financial Markets

By michael

Jun 24, 2016

Awesome course

By Priyanshi G

May 03, 2016

Covered very practical aspects! THank you so much :)

By CHU D

Nov 03, 2017

I think this is most useful finance course for people not directly involved in finance industry. A lot of useful information, unlike typical university general education class which talks too much about theories but not practice. This course is very practice-oriented and the one of lecturer Michele is a very good teacher!

By Deleted A

Feb 26, 2016

This course has really helped me to better understand financial markets, especially bonds market.

By Ron T

Mar 30, 2016

Good for beginners

By Enrique D P

May 12, 2016

Very nice course!

By Muhammad D

Jun 27, 2016

Its a very good and informative course. Especially for people who do not have a financial back ground. The course helps in clearing basic concepts about investments and the financial markets.

Thank you!!

By Shrikant S

Jul 31, 2017

I strongly recommend this course. The course material is great and various investment concepts are thoroughly explained with simple examples. The course is very resourceful for getting basic understanding of how financial market works.

By Mrinmayi M

Aug 28, 2016

This course has helped me a lot in deep study regarding the understanding the financial markets.

By Leszek S

Oct 21, 2016

All good

By Bafodé D

Aug 23, 2016

Excellent courses strongly advice.

By MALIK A O B

Jan 26, 2018

I got a broader understanding of the financial markets, especially from the practical side, and that's what I looked for.

thanks..

By Jorge A G O

Feb 29, 2016

Excellent advance finance levels.

By Andre S

Oct 10, 2016

Excellent summarizing overview of financial markets. Well presented!

By Miona B

Mar 26, 2016

I finally understand all the basics about Bonds and Equities and how they react to changes in markets. Great course for all people who are interested in financial markets and their functioning.

By LINUS L Y A

Jun 17, 2016

clear and easy to follow

By Tilak B

Dec 07, 2017

A comprehensive course that outlines the basics of finance. A good introduction for any individual interested to

By David G

Dec 13, 2016

great

By Ting Y M

May 09, 2016

It's a good review of concepts for people who already have some financial background knowledge. The professors are very clear in conducting the course in English and have used very innovative demonstrations of examples to illustrate abstract concepts.

By Chew S

Feb 29, 2016

G

By Valentina H

May 07, 2017

Great course!, very didactic and clear.

The team has done an amazing job putting up together all the lessons.

all the lecturers kept the structure very simple and understandable.

I highly recommend this course.

By Andrei P

Mar 06, 2016

Excellent programme, there were some mistakes in the translation. For example instead of Yield it is written Year.

By Arturo G

Mar 07, 2016

The course is excellent, it provides the necessary foundation to understand financial markets which is the starting point for all investors. Some the English enunciation of the instructors is a bit difficult to understand but I got what I needed. Well done.

By Sebastián S

Feb 16, 2016

Very simple and useful

By Kristijonas G

May 30, 2016

Very nicely organized and presented. Thank you!