Chevron Left
Back to Understanding Financial Markets

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding Financial Markets by University of Geneva

4.7
stars
4,390 ratings
917 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you will learn what the main financial markets and their characteristics are as well as how they are linked to the economy. Our very diversified team of experts will start by teaching you how the price of stocks and bonds are computed and why they move while you will become increasingly aware of the notion of risk and why it matters when measuring an investment's performance. The focus will then move to less popular markets such as gold, emerging markets, real estate, hedge funds and private markets. These will be analyzed with an emphasis on their particular risks and return opportunities as well as how they can help in building efficient portfolios. Finally, the policies of central banks and their impact on financial markets will be presented to you along with the link between the economy and the price of financial assets. All along these different steps, experts from UBS, our corporate partner, will show you how the concepts you just acquired are effectively applied in a leading global bank. This focus on practicality means you will not only understand what is going on in global financial markets but also start to figure out how you can use them to achieve financial goals, be it a client's or your own. Course Director and main teaching contributor: Dr. Michel Girardin, Lecturer in Macro-Finance, University of Geneva...

Top reviews

MC
Jul 16, 2017

Mr. Michel is really an amazing teacher! His lectures are vivic and greatly attracts my attention. I hope to take more of his classes because I've Learned more than I nomally can do in a short class

RC
Oct 5, 2020

Thank you! Coursera for providing me the platform for boosting my knowledge in Financial Markets, as i have learned various financial parts in this subject and this will help me in my carrier too.

Filter by:

301 - 325 of 898 Reviews for Understanding Financial Markets

By Stanislau A

May 21, 2019

Sometimes suggested additional materials are too difficult and does not relevant to particular topic

By Ling G

Nov 17, 2017

perfect for the learner who want to have a basic understanding of the financial market. Thank you!!!

By Maxim S

Sep 5, 2016

Great course! Clear, structured and useful. Very nice instructors make it interesting and enjoyable.

By Vedang

Jan 5, 2020

I want to revise this course again and again as it is very essential for new entrant in this field.

By Mishaal A

Mar 28, 2020

An excellent course - very well explained with quiz questions that really test your understanding.

By Panagiotis D

Jun 5, 2019

Covers pretty much all the basics. The material is organized and presented in an efficient manner.

By Devang S

Jun 18, 2017

Enriching experience. Kudos to the teachers for making the session very interesting and lively. :)

By Deleted A

Feb 26, 2016

This course has really helped me to better understand financial markets, especially bonds market.

By Vartika C

Jul 11, 2020

The tutor is very good explains the concept very well i want to have more such courses like this

By Kamal A

Dec 1, 2018

Great Course, I learnt many things. This course gives us insights of broad level economics also.

By Mayank A

Feb 8, 2018

A very informative learning where concepts were explained with ease and very understandable way.

By Sylwia D

Oct 25, 2017

I have enjoyed every single lesson a lot! Very interesting course and very well done! Thank you!

By Phuong N

Aug 23, 2017

Wonderful course. I can consume basic concepts with eases and i am confident to move on. Thanks!

By ANOUTHANONG X

Jul 16, 2017

it is a good course to create the awareness and specific skills and techniques to the investment

By Mrinmayi M

Aug 28, 2016

This course has helped me a lot in deep study regarding the understanding the financial markets.

By Плачинда К Д

Nov 1, 2020

A very interesting course that helped me to learn a lot of information about financial markets.

By Disha P

Mar 18, 2020

Very relevant content and delivered with relatable examples to cement the concept in your mind.

By Niklas B

Nov 30, 2016

Great course for someone who does not know anything or very little about the financial markets.

By Rodrigo T V C

Nov 3, 2019

Interesting introduction to financial markets with simple and easy to understand explanations.

By Ramírez M A A

Aug 7, 2019

Excellent course!

This course shows you many fundamental things about financial markets easily

By Juan J B

Feb 2, 2018

It is an excellent course, very easy to understand and the professor Michel Girardin is great.

By HARSH A

Jun 8, 2020

The course was really helpful in understanding concepts of market especially the hedge funds.

By Aryaman S

May 20, 2020

Great Course, especially from a macroeconomics perspective. Thank you, Michel and the staff!

By Lionel H

Aug 1, 2019

Great introduction to asset classes, their strengths and weaknesses and what influences them

By Carlos A J M L

Feb 29, 2020

Excellent introduction to financial markets. Great lectures with very knowleagable experts.