Chevron Left
Back to Understanding Financial Markets

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding Financial Markets by University of Geneva

4.7
2,648 ratings
515 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you will learn what the main financial markets and their characteristics are as well as how they are linked to the economy. Our very diversified team of experts will start by teaching you how the price of stocks and bonds are computed and why they move while you will become increasingly aware of the notion of risk and why it matters when measuring an investment's performance. The focus will then move to less popular markets such as gold, emerging markets, real estate, hedge funds and private markets. These will be analyzed with an emphasis on their particular risks and return opportunities as well as how they can help in building efficient portfolios. Finally, the policies of central banks and their impact on financial markets will be presented to you along with the link between the economy and the price of financial assets. All along these different steps, experts from UBS, our corporate partner, will show you how the concepts you just acquired are effectively applied in a leading global bank. This focus on practicality means you will not only understand what is going on in global financial markets but also start to figure out how you can use them to achieve financial goals, be it a client's or your own. Course Director and main teaching contributor: Dr. Michel Girardin, Lecturer in Macro-Finance, University of Geneva...

Top reviews

MC

Jul 17, 2017

Mr. Michel is really an amazing teacher! His lectures are vivic and greatly attracts my attention. I hope to take more of his classes because I've Learned more than I nomally can do in a short class

AF

Mar 15, 2016

This course excellent provides all the basic information which is important and necessary would recommend the course to all the newbies in financial markets\n\nP.S:The professors are AMAZING!

Filter by:

376 - 400 of 497 Reviews for Understanding Financial Markets

By Felipe A C C

Oct 03, 2019

An excellent course, I really enjoy learning with the experienced and high skilled lecturers, they know how to motivate their students and ilustrate the bottom concepts with clear examples . Highly recommended.

By SHIVAM S

Oct 05, 2019

This course helped me to understand financial markets, instruments used in the financial market. I believe that after this course my understanding of the financial market improved a lot.

By Deokumar G

Oct 31, 2019

this course on understanding financial markets is a great refresher course for those students who are familiar with the NYSE and all of the various equities that can make a great investment portfolio! also, the lectures from the University of Geneva Professors are very straightforward, in plain English. - deokumar gandharry

By Alexey K

Nov 04, 2019

Very educating and insightful.

By Rodrigo T V C

Nov 03, 2019

Interesting introduction to financial markets with simple and easy to understand explanations.

By Antonio A N

Nov 03, 2019

Great Course, Great Professors!

By saloni j

Nov 02, 2019

This course is a guide and a beginning to the path towards finance and investment banking. This course will deal with the macroeconomic concepts. It also deals with the basics of finance.

By cemberk

Dec 31, 2018

Too macro

By Dang D T

Feb 18, 2019

Its really helpful for me to gain knowledge about economy and financial market

By Dmitry N

Mar 20, 2019

quite hard to gasp the content. maybe it's just me, but more formal math would significantly simplfy the material.

By saurabh k

Feb 08, 2019

o

By Rohini B

Jul 16, 2018

The program is very good and I feel I am learning a lot but it assumes I know how to work with the mathematical formula's but I haven't done any derivative work for over 20 years and thus I would like the course to have a little addition bit to make sure these mathematical formula are explained and exercises given to help really learn them. I found the bearish and bullish curve very difficult to understand.

By axel

Aug 10, 2018

a great course, great professors. but there is a lack of technical explanation like NPV etc'

thank you it was very interesting

By Christian R

Oct 07, 2018

very theoretical course but with foresee practical implications.

By Trevor S

Oct 21, 2018

A well thought out course. Usually clear and informative. There was the odd glitch of some reading material links failing.

By Beatriz M F

Nov 08, 2018

The main lecturer was incredibly good, explained everything in a way that was easy to understand. Some of the other speakers were not as easy to understand. Well-structured course. The assignments could involve more case-studies/engaging activities.

By MERLIN S S

Nov 13, 2018

T

By Swanand K

Aug 02, 2018

I like the lectures delivered by "Michel Girardin", very thoughful & practical in nature. While some other lectures delivered by other faculty members seems to be more of reading the presentation points.

By paulogalindo5000@gmail.com

Aug 21, 2018

I learned different and interesting topics, but for me was difficult.

By Hari K K

Jul 22, 2018

It was said to be the basic foundation knowledge for the financial markets. But I guess person without prior knowledge of Finance will face lots of difficulty to understand the course. Even the first module of this specialization was harder for a business student like me too.

By Alonso J M M

Jul 01, 2017

Really nice course, perfect to start an understanding on how financial markets work.

By Daniel G

Nov 07, 2017

Very good an brief summary of the markets and easily explained

By Petros T

Sep 18, 2017

Great introduction to complex issues. Professor is great!

By David H

Jan 04, 2018

Very good course in terms of materials and delivery. Good combination of academic content and commercial input. Assessments were generally good although I might quibble occasionally with some of the official answers.

By Eden P

Sep 19, 2017

Very insightful and easy to follow. Nice introduction to financial markets for the non-financially qualified.