Chevron Left
Back to Understanding Financial Markets

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding Financial Markets by University of Geneva

4.7
2,650 ratings
515 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you will learn what the main financial markets and their characteristics are as well as how they are linked to the economy. Our very diversified team of experts will start by teaching you how the price of stocks and bonds are computed and why they move while you will become increasingly aware of the notion of risk and why it matters when measuring an investment's performance. The focus will then move to less popular markets such as gold, emerging markets, real estate, hedge funds and private markets. These will be analyzed with an emphasis on their particular risks and return opportunities as well as how they can help in building efficient portfolios. Finally, the policies of central banks and their impact on financial markets will be presented to you along with the link between the economy and the price of financial assets. All along these different steps, experts from UBS, our corporate partner, will show you how the concepts you just acquired are effectively applied in a leading global bank. This focus on practicality means you will not only understand what is going on in global financial markets but also start to figure out how you can use them to achieve financial goals, be it a client's or your own. Course Director and main teaching contributor: Dr. Michel Girardin, Lecturer in Macro-Finance, University of Geneva...

Top reviews

MC

Jul 17, 2017

Mr. Michel is really an amazing teacher! His lectures are vivic and greatly attracts my attention. I hope to take more of his classes because I've Learned more than I nomally can do in a short class

AF

Mar 15, 2016

This course excellent provides all the basic information which is important and necessary would recommend the course to all the newbies in financial markets\n\nP.S:The professors are AMAZING!

Filter by:

476 - 499 of 499 Reviews for Understanding Financial Markets

By Sebastian M

May 21, 2017

I expected more. I hope the next levels are better designed.

By Longfei

Feb 29, 2016

just a normal online course, the instructors are just reciting their ppt and prepared materials. Pretty boring.

By L.F.G. K

Mar 23, 2016

Great subjects and some great teachers. But every now and then I missed some proper explanations.

Further, reverences to articles and books to better understand the subjects were missing as well.

By Loic R

Mar 20, 2016

I learn some interesting things. The course gets better for week 3-4. However, the course could use better the Coursera format and strenght.

The certified certificate is pricy compared to other courses.

In overall it’s good.

By Barbara G

Mar 23, 2016

Some very good explanations, especially by Michel Girardin. Some other courses lack explanations.

By Kasper M

Mar 10, 2016

Good basic understanding. However the professors can be a bit more professional, sometimes it feels like Im a high school student again, the way they explain things.

By Wade P

Apr 29, 2016

Very helpful for people who are new to the field. However, I do wish many of the concepts were explained more clearly; often new concepts are introduced and no clear definition is given.

By Weiyuan Z

Jul 15, 2016

useful but boring!

By Moreno C

Mar 20, 2016

The course is comprehensive and the instructors have good teaching skills.

The level is introductory.

I would recommend this course to beginners with limited previous exposure to investment management.

By Gerald M

Apr 01, 2016

One of the things that I didn't like is that I couldn't complete the course because, without purchasing the course, I didn't have access to the assignments / quizzes. But the content is good and the Geneva teachers are nice (specially Michel!). Also, some USB guest lectures are not adequate for this type of course, which is for beginners. Sometimes the guest lectures are not even related to the content of the modules where they are presented.

By Mwahafa N

Feb 15, 2016

Difficulties streaming

By Juan D H C

Oct 22, 2017

Good introductory course. Basic level.

By Jose M M

Mar 06, 2016

The course is fine but the obligation to pay for reviewing quizzies is a mistake if the course expects to get good valuations (in stars) and promotion. There are similar or even better content available in other courses which are truly open and that request for payment if the student wish to get the certificate.

Wrong positioning of University of Genève offering this MOOC from an economical point of view. They ask for more than others and will get less.

By Aleksandr B

Mar 09, 2018

More written assignments and real world examples would be helpful

By Mohamed O

Aug 26, 2017

good enough to give you an idea about financial markets

By Handong D B

Jul 29, 2016

not comprehensive enough

By Victor B

Jun 19, 2018

It's not what I expected

By MIR F

Sep 18, 2019

THE COURSE WAS REALLY HELPFUL FOR MY FINANCIAL KNOWLEDGE

By Markus F

Sep 15, 2016

There is alot of advertisement for UBS in this course.

By Kaikui W

Feb 26, 2016

This course is too elementary. U of G is considered to be a top university in the world, I am expecting an advanced course, at least teach us some asset pricing theories, such as APT, thanks.

By Ahmad H

Nov 25, 2017

The course is nice, but I was under the impression that this course is for beginners, while the lecturers did not explain the terms they used clearly. for example i finished the course and passed it without understanding what is the duration of the bond!! practically speaking, I used to learn the terms from the lecturers and google them to understand and the website investopedia was my main help in this matter. I also think practical examples might be useful in this matter

By Héctor J R

May 14, 2019

The content is badly organized and the lessons poorly focused.

By mahmoud s

Aug 06, 2019

I think this course is not for someone beginner on finance, because many fundamental topics are missed like :

*what are Economic indicators and the business cycle (before using chart with GDP and talk about emerging/developped country, it should explain how to mesure economic of a country)

*difference between real, nominal interest

*more explications about : inflation, stagnation, recession...

before passing any quize, it's should be more exercices for practice.

I noticed that quizs, keep the same questions, when you try to retake the quiz

By Marcus K

Oct 16, 2019

Very disappointed. The whole course lacked a grasp on reality. Too much general theories that could be read from any book or the internet. Too much focus on mathematical equations and in general, I wouldn't say this course actually gives a proper overview of financial markets. It will most likely leave the attendees confused, rather than educated. Mr. Michel Girardin was the highlight of the course, but he was pretty much the only good thing in this course and only because of his good teaching techniques.