Chevron Left
Back to Understanding Financial Markets

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding Financial Markets by University of Geneva

4.7
2,652 ratings
516 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you will learn what the main financial markets and their characteristics are as well as how they are linked to the economy. Our very diversified team of experts will start by teaching you how the price of stocks and bonds are computed and why they move while you will become increasingly aware of the notion of risk and why it matters when measuring an investment's performance. The focus will then move to less popular markets such as gold, emerging markets, real estate, hedge funds and private markets. These will be analyzed with an emphasis on their particular risks and return opportunities as well as how they can help in building efficient portfolios. Finally, the policies of central banks and their impact on financial markets will be presented to you along with the link between the economy and the price of financial assets. All along these different steps, experts from UBS, our corporate partner, will show you how the concepts you just acquired are effectively applied in a leading global bank. This focus on practicality means you will not only understand what is going on in global financial markets but also start to figure out how you can use them to achieve financial goals, be it a client's or your own. Course Director and main teaching contributor: Dr. Michel Girardin, Lecturer in Macro-Finance, University of Geneva...

Top reviews

MC

Jul 17, 2017

Mr. Michel is really an amazing teacher! His lectures are vivic and greatly attracts my attention. I hope to take more of his classes because I've Learned more than I nomally can do in a short class

AF

Mar 15, 2016

This course excellent provides all the basic information which is important and necessary would recommend the course to all the newbies in financial markets\n\nP.S:The professors are AMAZING!

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 499 Reviews for Understanding Financial Markets

By Albert A D

Jul 16, 2017

This course is highly recommended for all who want to have a good understanding about the financial markets. It was very beneficial to me.

By LUIS G M

Feb 07, 2018

GRAN CURSO, RECOMIENDO PLENAMENTE, SE APRENDE A IDENTIFICAR LOS RIESGOS DE INVERSIÓN Y NOS ENSEÑA COMO TOMAR DECISIONES AL CONOCER EL MERCADO Y EVALUAR EL ENTORNO, ESPERO QUE LA UNIVERSIDAD DE GINERBRA PUEDA DAR UN COMPLEMENTO DE ESTE CURSO, INTERESANTE Y APRENDÍ MUCHO.

By david

Oct 03, 2016

Excellent course and speakers!

By Gio T

Oct 15, 2016

It is really great

By JINGYIDAI

Feb 09, 2017

Very understandable~~ THX all the lecturers~

By Diana Z C A

Oct 05, 2016

Great course for those who want to better understand how main financial markets work. Lessons are short but precise and the readings for each module are worth the time.

By Philippe M

Dec 19, 2016

Very good introduction to the financial markets.

Material could be quite ameliorated if scripts were in PDF format.

By Mario I

Mar 01, 2016

Excellent course, covering an ample field in finance and economics. Most importantly, top quality educators.

By Roberto d C R

Feb 18, 2018

Wise and complete view of the Financial Market and the interaction of Bonds, Equity, Monetary Policies and the portfolio management.

By Francisco J S L

Jun 25, 2017

Very simple and understandable explanations. Perfect learning pace and driven by really nice teachers.

By Kalid I J C

Oct 28, 2017

Temas muy completos y bien explicados, que te ayudan a entender muy bien el mercado

By michael

Jun 24, 2016

Awesome course

By Priyanshi G

May 03, 2016

Covered very practical aspects! THank you so much :)

By CHU D

Nov 03, 2017

I think this is most useful finance course for people not directly involved in finance industry. A lot of useful information, unlike typical university general education class which talks too much about theories but not practice. This course is very practice-oriented and the one of lecturer Michele is a very good teacher!

By Deleted A

Feb 26, 2016

This course has really helped me to better understand financial markets, especially bonds market.

By André Z P

Apr 20, 2016

This course intends to give an overview of the financial markets and the different kinds of investments. All the intructors are great, especially professor Michel, who is the main instructor in this course.

Moreover, I considered the tests adequate for learning purposes.

By David W

Apr 08, 2016

Great course for kick-starting this well presented Specialization.

By Melanie A

Aug 02, 2016

Fantastic course. Videos are clear, informative, have a good mix of theoretical and real-world examples and Michel Girardin (one of the lecturers) has really good, original examples to explain concepts and also keep one entertained (online courses with hours of financial theory can be tough in this regard sometimes!). Also, the video content is interspersed with mini quizzes (generally not graded) which help keep your attention and test learning. Overall very, very pleased - definitely the best online course I've taken in years.

By JARUBOOT A

Jan 23, 2017

Good course. However, the language used in this course was a bit tough for a foreigner (non-english speaking participant).

By Diana K

Apr 17, 2016

W

By Mauricio V

Jun 10, 2018

This course helped me to refresh knowledge from college. Mr. Michel Girardin is awesome as teacher. The UBS videos are very useful.

By Suresh N

Oct 08, 2017

r

e

f

r

e

r

By Markus Z

Feb 21, 2016

Excellent video series with very good teaching staff.

By Batsuren B

Oct 10, 2016

Examples that are provided in the course make it easy to understand and to apply in the real world. I have learned a lot about financial markets and theirs relationships with economy. Now, I have better fundamental understanding of investment decisions. It is one of the wonderful learning experiences I have had in Coursera. Thank you for bringing the specialization in more effective ways.

By Elton F K W

Mar 14, 2016

Lively demonstration of concepts and excellent, knowledgeable professors. Would strongly recommend to my friends and family!