Chevron Left
Back to Understanding Financial Markets

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding Financial Markets by University of Geneva

4.7
stars
4,678 ratings
993 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you will learn what the main financial markets and their characteristics are as well as how they are linked to the economy. Our very diversified team of experts will start by teaching you how the price of stocks and bonds are computed and why they move while you will become increasingly aware of the notion of risk and why it matters when measuring an investment's performance. The focus will then move to less popular markets such as gold, emerging markets, real estate, hedge funds and private markets. These will be analyzed with an emphasis on their particular risks and return opportunities as well as how they can help in building efficient portfolios. Finally, the policies of central banks and their impact on financial markets will be presented to you along with the link between the economy and the price of financial assets. All along these different steps, experts from UBS, our corporate partner, will show you how the concepts you just acquired are effectively applied in a leading global bank. This focus on practicality means you will not only understand what is going on in global financial markets but also start to figure out how you can use them to achieve financial goals, be it a client's or your own. Course Director and main teaching contributor: Dr. Michel Girardin, Lecturer in Macro-Finance, University of Geneva...

Top reviews

MC
Jul 16, 2017

Mr. Michel is really an amazing teacher! His lectures are vivic and greatly attracts my attention. I hope to take more of his classes because I've Learned more than I nomally can do in a short class

RC
Oct 5, 2020

Thank you! Coursera for providing me the platform for boosting my knowledge in Financial Markets, as i have learned various financial parts in this subject and this will help me in my carrier too.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 973 Reviews for Understanding Financial Markets

By Andres F M C

Sep 24, 2020

Excelente nivel de conocimiento, expositores de la más alta calidad y claridad en la exposición de los temas y contenidos. Congrats COURSERA!!

By Mr V A

May 11, 2020

I like the course, especially Dr. Michel is outstanding and his delivery of content is very easy to understand and clear almost all my doubts.

By Mauricio O

Jun 27, 2017

A great course to understand basic concepts in financial markets. It's very useful for personal finances and also to know how the markets work.

By JeanLuc O

Jan 8, 2021

The lectures were very clear and to the point. I really enjoyed the way Michel teaches. Also very good to have the UBS professionals chime in.

By A H V

May 2, 2020

Really the course is very good. They are teaching very realistic and had been given some live examples so that it is very easy for us to learn

By Martín B

Dec 10, 2019

This course was amazing. It is an honor to take classes with these types of universities. My sincere thanks to all who were part of this work.

By Lidiya N

Oct 5, 2017

Easy to follow information from professors and great insight from professionals from UBS. A must take for all even if you are a finance major.

By Patrick M

Jun 9, 2016

Great course, covers all major Asset classes as well as gives advice and guidance with how to manage them individually and within a portfolio.

By Inge S B (

Sep 23, 2020

Very good, gives a comprehensive view on moderen financial theory and valueable information to be used directly in practical day to day work.

By Nishith S

Jul 28, 2020

Absolutely amazing course to learn .it gave me basic insights of financial markets.i would like to thank Coursera for giving this opportunity

By Anoop T S

May 5, 2020

The course is excellent and very well collated. Easy for beginners. Special thanks to Dr. Michel Girardin for his excellent teaching skills.

By Ma. L J B M

Jun 30, 2020

This course is very useful and rewarding. The professors made it easy to understand, I was able to grasp every context with ease. Thank you!

By Andres M

Dec 18, 2017

Just what I was looking for, this course is composed of key concepts and subjects that are very well explained. Would recommend it for sure.

By Mohamed H

Feb 1, 2021

Very great course. I 've learned a big deal in financial markets and stocks. And will continue further in the specialization to learn more.

By Pablo J G F I

Jun 22, 2020

Even for a finance major (graduated back in 2011) the course provides interesting and relevant information. I highly recommend this course.

By Jeffrey B P

Jun 13, 2017

My view of the course so far is that it's very clear and thorough. I'm excited to see the impact that the course will have in my investing.

By Mattia C

May 9, 2020

A brief explanation of the financial market and how it's work. The course contains a lot of interesting point of view of the last decades.

By Albert A D

Jul 16, 2017

This course is highly recommended for all who want to have a good understanding about the financial markets. It was very beneficial to me.

By Paul W

Jul 10, 2016

This course has increased my knowledge about the economy and especially about emerging markets and bonds. Thank you for this great course!

By Lalita A M

Sep 6, 2020

The course has the best additional reading links which not only brushes your basic concept but also adds and molds them in better shape.

By Kartik G

Nov 28, 2018

This is a course which gives a good foundation for finance. Helps you connect with the basic concepts and develop intuition for finance.

By VAIBHAV B

Sep 8, 2018

Quite elucidating course as everything is explained well and from the scratch with pertinent illustrations for better comprehensibility.

By Costin T

Dec 2, 2016

Outstanding teachers, excellent explanations with real-life examples, making complex topics understandable quite easily. Congratulations

By Ram K S

Jun 24, 2020

Very well structured course. All the professor were good especially Professor Michel and his beautiful demonstrations. Thanks Coursera.

By Aneel K

May 6, 2020

It is really helpful course. I enjoyed learning with much fun and submitted quizes on time. Thank you so much to University of Geneva.