Chevron Left
Back to Understanding Financial Markets

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding Financial Markets by University of Geneva

4.8
stars
4,924 ratings
1,043 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you will learn what the main financial markets and their characteristics are as well as how they are linked to the economy. Our very diversified team of experts will start by teaching you how the price of stocks and bonds are computed and why they move while you will become increasingly aware of the notion of risk and why it matters when measuring an investment's performance. The focus will then move to less popular markets such as gold, emerging markets, real estate, hedge funds and private markets. These will be analyzed with an emphasis on their particular risks and return opportunities as well as how they can help in building efficient portfolios. Finally, the policies of central banks and their impact on financial markets will be presented to you along with the link between the economy and the price of financial assets. All along these different steps, experts from UBS, our corporate partner, will show you how the concepts you just acquired are effectively applied in a leading global bank. This focus on practicality means you will not only understand what is going on in global financial markets but also start to figure out how you can use them to achieve financial goals, be it a client's or your own. Course Director and main teaching contributor: Dr. Michel Girardin, Lecturer in Macro-Finance, University of Geneva...

Top reviews

MC
Jul 16, 2017

Mr. Michel is really an amazing teacher! His lectures are vivic and greatly attracts my attention. I hope to take more of his classes because I've Learned more than I nomally can do in a short class

RC
Oct 5, 2020

Thank you! Coursera for providing me the platform for boosting my knowledge in Financial Markets, as i have learned various financial parts in this subject and this will help me in my carrier too.

Filter by:

1001 - 1025 of 1,027 Reviews for Understanding Financial Markets

By Wade P

Apr 29, 2016

Very helpful for people who are new to the field. However, I do wish many of the concepts were explained more clearly; often new concepts are introduced and no clear definition is given.

By Shubhneet S

May 1, 2020

Although the course was very helpful but I, being from a mechanical engineering background, thought that some concepts could have been simplified further for better understanding.

By Kasper M

Mar 10, 2016

Good basic understanding. However the professors can be a bit more professional, sometimes it feels like Im a high school student again, the way they explain things.

By Mathieu M

Feb 10, 2019

cours très complet couvrant la plupart des concepts à connaître pour mieux comprendre les markets outlooks. Mais intervenants parfois inégaux.

By Longfei

Feb 29, 2016

just a normal online course, the instructors are just reciting their ppt and prepared materials. Pretty boring.

By Brandon R

Apr 4, 2021

Bien para personas que no conocen de finanzas pero muy básico si ya tienes conocimientos empíricos del mercado

By Amrit M

Mar 15, 2020

Michel gets 5 stars; inspiring and very easy to follow. The rest of the teachers are quite abysmal.

By Barbara G

Mar 23, 2016

Some very good explanations, especially by Michel Girardin. Some other courses lack explanations.

By DOLLY K S

Jun 11, 2020

This course really helped me develop my knowledge on financial markets shaping my fundamentals.

By Aakash G

Jun 25, 2020

Quizzes and assignments needed to give a practical feel to course

By Aleksandr B

Mar 9, 2018

More written assignments and real world examples would be helpful

By Suhib D

Jan 16, 2018

It's difficult to understand for those who didn't study finance

By Sebastian M

May 21, 2017

I expected more. I hope the next levels are better designed.

By MIR F

Sep 18, 2019

THE COURSE WAS REALLY HELPFUL FOR MY FINANCIAL KNOWLEDGE

By Mohamed O

Aug 26, 2017

good enough to give you an idea about financial markets

By DONNA C

Nov 26, 2020

The material was sufficient for a beginning course.

By Juan D H C

Oct 22, 2017

Good introductory course. Basic level.

By Victor B

Jun 19, 2018

It's not what I expected

By Handong D B

Jul 28, 2016

not comprehensive enough

By Mwahafa N

Feb 15, 2016

Difficulties streaming

By Weiyuan Z

Jul 15, 2016

useful but boring!

By Abdoul-Kader O

May 22, 2020

Trés bon cours

By Kaikui W

Feb 26, 2016

This course is too elementary. U of G is considered to be a top university in the world, I am expecting an advanced course, at least teach us some asset pricing theories, such as APT, thanks.

By Héctor J R

May 14, 2019

The content is badly organized and the lessons poorly focused.

By Markus F

Sep 15, 2016

There is alot of advertisement for UBS in this course.