Chevron Left
Back to University Teaching

Learner Reviews & Feedback for University Teaching by The University of Hong Kong

4.8
stars
772 ratings
237 reviews

About the Course

University Teaching is an introductory course in teaching and learning in tertiary education, designed by staff at the Centre for the Enhancement of Teaching and Learning at the University of Hong Kong. With input from instructors, guests and interviewees, including teaching award winners, students, and experts in the fields, you will be exposed to research evidence in relation to effective university teaching and practical instructional design strategies. You will also be exposed to multiple examples of effective teaching, and hear the views of teachers whose teaching has been judged to be excellent. More specifically, University Teaching will help you to address the following questions: - What does teaching in higher education involve? - What does research evidence tell us about effective teaching in higher education? - How can we ensure that our instructional design will help our students achieve their intended learning outcomes? - What pedagogic options do we have to make our teaching successful? - What assessment and feedback practices can help our students learn more effectively? After completing the learning tasks in this course, you will be able to: - Discuss the teaching and learning context in higher education and reflect on the potential challenges and opportunities you might encounter. - Explain key teaching and learning concepts and relevant evidence in relation to effective university teaching. - Analyse the relationships between various aspects of teaching and student learning. - Identify a range of instructional strategies to support effective student learning. - Apply key concepts to the structuring of course outlines and lesson plans in order to create learning experiences to support successful student learning. Course trailer: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZJu-dViz3NE Course outline: http://www.cetl.hku.hk/wp-content/uploads/2017/03/CETL-MOOC-course-outline.pdf...

Top reviews

SB
Sep 2, 2020

Dear Instructors and course co-ordinators,\n\nI really enjoyed this course. You explained all concepts very clear and in a simple manner. I wish to attend more courses from you. Keep going. Love you.

IH
Oct 10, 2020

Very well laid out and explained. The short videos are clear and on topic, and the quizzes at the end of each module are well reflective of the content. I feel like I learned a lot!

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 235 Reviews for University Teaching

By DAVID M L

Aug 10, 2020

This course is awesome! It really makes you see the important things about teaching in higher education and shows you a lot of examples for every topic!

By Anastasiia O

Jan 4, 2018

Muy bueno el curso. La información relevante y amplia, diferentes opiniones de profesionales de educación. Vídeos de alta calidad y el sonido perfecto.

By Hicham L

Jul 27, 2020

It is very rewarding to feel that you just became a better teacher. It boosts your confidence of managing students and the teachers are very good.

By Cynthia M S C

Jan 12, 2019

It is a very complete course that not only shows how to put into practice some important methods for deep learning but explains its importance.

By Janette A

Sep 13, 2018

Excellent course. I need to get up to speed with modern University teaching methods and have found this course very helpful and engaging.

By Akshay T

Oct 3, 2020

Great content! Well researched! Great Facilitators! Thank you. The course has a logical progression. Well organised and crisp. Thank you

By Yue Q

Jan 7, 2020

我觉得对于以后想从事教育行业、或者已经从事这一行业的人来说,这门课是很有意思的。但是我觉得每一周课后的考核稍微有些简单,而且这些principles运用到实践之中可能就不是这么一回事了。教学是一种实践,这些理论到底能不能很好地运用到实践之中,我作为一个学生很难去评价。

By KARIMA S

Sep 16, 2020

Thank you for all your efforts, the course was very clear and helpful so thank you, again, for such a wonderful learning experience,

By Alex C

May 27, 2020

Thank you very much for a most informative course, it really opened my eyes to the rigours of higher education learning and teaching

By K V G D B

Aug 17, 2020

This course is quite useful to those all who enter into the teaching profession and for the seasoned teachers to update themselves.

By Victor C

Mar 22, 2020

Best MOOC yet for me, learned a lot, my students will benefit greatly from this course. It changed my entire view on my teaching.

By Dr. D C

Aug 30, 2020

Exceptionally made and a must for all university teachers, especially for those who are about to embark on the teaching journey!

By venkataratnam k

Aug 17, 2020

Its a very good course on curriculum design, identify and writing of learning objectives and outcomes, assessment and feedback

By DIBYA J P

Aug 11, 2020

Learnt new things. But should have added the Virtual / Blended learning as this is the future of teaching-learning situation.

By JASPER O E

Oct 13, 2020

Great course with enriching details. Suitable for all aspiring to be university teachers. Great course lecturers. Thank you

By arunkumar g

Aug 8, 2020

Very Very useful course for the university teaching staff and for those who want to become teachers to enhance their skills

By Mohammad S A P

Jun 29, 2019

This course surely will force me to change my teaching style and of course navigate me to a more revised teaching style.

By Pasquale G

Sep 23, 2019

Nice, well done, nice videos. It covers almost all the basic aspects of pedagogical training and it has been very useful.

By Peter H

Apr 28, 2019

This course is a way more effective than I thought. Key-knowledge, easy to sustain attention and high quality in design.

By Abdul A J

Mar 22, 2020

Quite a good and comprehensive foundational teaching course, with great focus on University and its challenges.

By Eric B G

Mar 3, 2019

It is amazing to learn the fundamentals about what we use to learn in practice. Thanks a lot for this course!

By Erin S

Oct 21, 2019

Flexible with completion and assignments. Many helpful learning and teaching tools and strategies presented.

By Solange A

Aug 28, 2018

Excelente curso, explican a detalle las buenas prácticas a seguir para tener un buen desempeño como profesor

By Barannik T

Jul 17, 2020

Excellent course, I highly recommend it to both beginning and experienced teachers. Thank you very much.

By Venkata N K P

Aug 18, 2020

Wonderful course on teaching and learning activities, very impressed with assessment and feedback etc