Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to User Experience Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to User Experience Design by Georgia Institute of Technology

4.5
1,700 ratings
416 reviews

About the Course

The focus of this course is to introduce the learner to User Experience (UX) Design User Experience design is design that is user centered. The goal is to design artifacts that allow the users to meet their needs in the most effective efficient and satisfying manner. The course introduces the novice to a cycle of discovery and evaluation and a set of techniques that meet the user's needs. This course is geared toward the novice. It is for learners that have heard about "user experience" or "user interface" design but don't really know much about these disciplines. The course mantra is that “Design is a systematic and data driven process.” Design is systematic because it is based on a set of techniques and also on a cycle of discovery. In this course the learner is introduced to the four step user interface design cycle. Along the way learners are exposed to a set of techniques to gather information about a) what the user needs b)how to design and model interfaces based on these and then how to evaluate the design to ascertain that the user's goals are met. These techniques are tools that are used in a standardized manner and give us the data we use in our design. This means that anyone (regardless of their current training) that is willing to learn these techniques and follow the proposed cycle can be a UX designer!...

Top reviews

AO

Oct 23, 2017

The best introduction classes, gives an overall idea about UI/UX. Grateful for the efforts taken by the Georgia Tech and Coursera. Looking forward to see more courses related to my career. Thank you.

MC

Sep 26, 2016

This is an insightful introductory course to User Experience Design. While it is just an introduction, the lessons and the examples provided were comprehensive, leaving you with a thirst for more.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 410 Reviews for Introduction to User Experience Design

By Samangi W A

Mar 14, 2018

It was indeed an eye opening course. :)

By Steven W

Jul 23, 2018

I really like this course! This is for beginners who are looking for where to start, what exactly User Experience consist of. For me, I really enjoy learning about the research part and prototyping. Great class.

By Vivek B

Nov 15, 2018

Very Informative and Easy to Absorb!!!

By Raza A

Aug 15, 2017

I have been a 'self taught' UX specialist for a very long time but was lacking the understanding of UX jargon. This introductory course covered the fundamentals from theoretical as well as practical angle. The instructor was pleasant to hear and watch because of her excellent teaching style.

By Alekz L

Nov 24, 2017

Great course, pretty straightforward.

By Aditya P

Mar 31, 2019

A highly informative and precise introductory course for anyone looking to break into Interaction Design!

By Mary M D

Feb 14, 2017

I loved this course.

Great foundation for anyone new to User Experience Design

By Devroede F

Dec 13, 2019

An insightful introductory course to User Experience Design.

By Taylor C

Aug 07, 2019

Really informative for an introductory course. The lectures are easy to understand and follow. The readings are really helpful resources, and interesting as well. The quizzes are little confusing, judging by how the questions are structured.

By Olena B

Sep 25, 2016

the course was interesting and really easy to learn. I would recommend it to beginners who wish to start learning web design

By Alice

Apr 29, 2017

This is a easy, simple but great course for people who are interested in Ux and have no much knowledge or experience about it. This course gives me a basic overview of User Experience Design and some basic techniques. I hope Georgia Tech could provide more advanced course regarding Ux on Coursera.

By Rasheed R O

Sep 13, 2017

I am fascinated by the depth of the knowledge i have learn. The instructor was fantastic.

By ngocpt8

Jul 06, 2017

sa

By Kevin A

Aug 22, 2017

Great introduction

By Brandy C

Jun 27, 2017

Very easy to understand.

By Agna R

Jul 11, 2019

Great overview for people who are starting their adventure with UI :)

By Ummul F

Apr 02, 2019

Good

By Priyank M

Jan 26, 2017

The concepts are clearly explained and it is very useful course.

By Benjamin S

May 03, 2017

I'm almost finished with all of the lectures and the course gives a really good introduction to the topic. What I like is that at the beginning of each video the learner is provided with a recap of the essence of this course and a short summary of the previous lecture. Its perfect for beginners and the level is not too demanding at all.

By Chris H

Dec 14, 2019

Seemed like a great introduction to the world of UX. Some strangely worded/formatted questions, but besides that, it was a fantastic course to follow.

By Kiran S L

Feb 22, 2019

Good content and delivery

By Lin Z

Mar 22, 2019

Good to know basics for beginners. I found it useful to get a general idea of what UX design is.

By N A

Feb 01, 2019

The course is very informative, however there are issues with some of the quizzes. Some questions are worded poorly. Others give a list of answers labeled "a", "b", "c", or "d" in the question, but the options are labelled differently in the answer. Lastly, if a question is answered incorrectly, no feedback is given.

By 0302music

Jan 19, 2019

A good introduction

By Kayley B

Apr 05, 2019

Too many links under "Reading"