Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to User Experience Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to User Experience Design by Georgia Institute of Technology

4.5
stars
7,439 ratings

About the Course

The focus of this course is to introduce the learner to User Experience (UX) Design User Experience design is design that is user centered. The goal is to design artifacts that allow the users to meet their needs in the most effective efficient and satisfying manner. The course introduces the novice to a cycle of discovery and evaluation and a set of techniques that meet the user's needs. This course is geared toward the novice. It is for learners that have heard about "user experience" or "user interface" design but don't really know much about these disciplines. The course mantra is that “Design is a systematic and data driven process.” Design is systematic because it is based on a set of techniques and also on a cycle of discovery. In this course the learner is introduced to the four step user interface design cycle. Along the way learners are exposed to a set of techniques to gather information about a) what the user needs b)how to design and model interfaces based on these and then how to evaluate the design to ascertain that the user's goals are met. These techniques are tools that are used in a standardized manner and give us the data we use in our design. This means that anyone (regardless of their current training) that is willing to learn these techniques and follow the proposed cycle can be a UX designer!...

Top reviews

PN

Dec 15, 2022

In the steps of User Experience Design, I got how to go through all four stages; Requirements gathering, Alternative designs, Prototyping, and Evaluation to design and get a good product on the table.

AO

Oct 22, 2017

The best introduction classes, gives an overall idea about UI/UX. Grateful for the efforts taken by the Georgia Tech and Coursera. Looking forward to see more courses related to my career. Thank you.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 1,668 Reviews for Introduction to User Experience Design

By Niranjan G

Sep 15, 2017

Dr. Rosa is supper teacher in UX field. I loved to way of her teaching quality. Fantastic course of UX introduction is really good with in-depth knowledge. I would like to refer this course specially for new learners!

Great Regards,

Niranjan Gohane

By Jonathan S

Apr 4, 2022

Very well informing and it is an actual intro to ux design it teaches you the basics and the assigments/Quizez are based off of what you have already learned so its a nice refresher or a reminder of the most importing topics that you have learned.

By Grace E A

Jul 2, 2020

This course contains a brief overview of what User Experience Design is. The contents are delivered clearly, the quizzes are good and challenging. It's very helpful and easy to understand for a newbie like me. Thank you for providing this course!

By Timothy A S

Feb 15, 2021

I honestly like it! I like how Ms. Rosa really drills the concept of usability, as well as the four phases of UX design. I wish we have peer-to-peer evaluation though; I especially find your lessons in prototyping perfect for such an evaluation.

By Taylor C

Aug 7, 2019

Really informative for an introductory course. The lectures are easy to understand and follow. The readings are really helpful resources, and interesting as well. The quizzes are little confusing, judging by how the questions are structured.

By BASH A

Sep 24, 2021

Few weeks after finishing the course I thought that this corse didn;t hel me to do anything. But by the time I realized this corse heavilly affected my thinking and confidence. Highly recommended for people who search for long term success.

By Cristian P L

Sep 9, 2020

The course was a good introduction to me, who has never inquired so much in UX design. I think it will help me a lot with my new interface creations. Would totally recomend it to anyone who is new in this field, as good introduction to it!

By Luz S G M

Jul 17, 2020

All the videos where clear and easy to follow and understand. The reading material was really helpful to understand in a deeper way the course terminology and concepts, I feel very satisfied and I want to learn more.

Thank you very much!

By Deleted A

Aug 21, 2018

It is very useful for novice learners to learn new terms, definitions about User Experience Design. You can't be an expert right away after this course but you can know the basic concepts as well as the process to build good UX Designs.

By Srinivas P

Dec 22, 2016

Very good Introductory course. Provides you with all the basic information about User experience design as well as a list of very useful resources. I highly recommend this to anyone who wants to start a career in the field of UX design.

By Louis

Nov 12, 2021

very formative professional manner. the structure of the curriculum very helpful . the quizzes and the articles are great tool to master the fundamentals of User experience design.

Thank you so much for the hard work.

highly appreciated.

By Raimondas Ž

Oct 2, 2020

Despite of fact that this course is very short, but the theory that is given here is very strong. I was making notes in my synopsis book all the time. I feel that this course in general was a bit too "dry". Nevertheless, recommended.

By Bennett H

Feb 11, 2020

This course was an excellent overview of UX design concepts, and gave me the right amount of information for the length of the course. I found all the material worth viewing, and am interested in learning more about the field of UX.

By Jamilah S

Jan 29, 2021

As a person who easily remembers lessons or presentations with the use of examples, I appreciate the consistent use of examples here in the course. It also provides different reading materials for more in depth self paced learning.

By SYAHRA A A I

Aug 17, 2020

I have no background of user experience at all, and this course helped me a lot to get to know better about User Experience fundamentals. The class is enjoyable, and I learned many great things from this class. Thank you so much!

By malvin b

Nov 6, 2022

It's a good introduction to user experience design. It provides a soft entry which allows the students to ease into UXD without getting inundated with terms that may be foreign to someone who does not carry any prior experience.

By Seun P

Jul 30, 2022

This was an excellent and worth while introduction to UX design principle... I would highly recommend this to anyone looking to start off in UX/UI design!!! Wish i could just afford to get the certificate right now (Sad face)...

By Tetiana M

Feb 26, 2021

Dear, Rosa I. Arriaga.

Thank you very much for your work and for your course. This course helped me understand how I can start to learning UX design and how I can to achieve my goal.

Thank you.

Sincerely,

Tetiana Markova.

By Sanna B

Nov 16, 2021

Good morning from Gambia my name is Sanna Bajo who just finish his course recently but i didn't receive my certificate yet i need to know the reason why...? waiting for your positive response

Best regards

Sanna Bajo / Gambia

By Tatiana J M R P

Jul 17, 2020

Este curso es genial, y la docente es excelente para explicar cada módulo en cada vídeo. Cualquier persona puede introducirse en el tema de UX como principiante con este curso y ver si elige seguir aprendiendo sobre el mismo.

By Sarah B

Feb 13, 2017

This course was a great intro to user experience design. It paralleled a user research projects I was participating in and clarified the steps being used. It also didn't take long and I was able to fit it in my busy schedule.

By Heather O

Dec 10, 2016

A great course for anyone just starting out in UXD. You will learn the terminology fairly quickly, the resources are a wonderful source, the quizzes help the course's lessons sink in. All in all, you will not be disappointed.

By TF H

Oct 17, 2020

I enjoyed the material provided and gained quite a number of new insights on beginning UX Design. The field is far more complex than I envisioned, and this course gave me the basics for understanding how the process works.

By Shruti S

Mar 27, 2022

Its very educational course. Easy to understand language, big concepts in simple language and examples are a great help.

It provides basic clarity on the topics . We cn now decide whether to choose this as a career or not.