Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to User Experience Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to User Experience Design by Georgia Institute of Technology

4.5
stars
4,327 ratings
1,045 reviews

About the Course

The focus of this course is to introduce the learner to User Experience (UX) Design User Experience design is design that is user centered. The goal is to design artifacts that allow the users to meet their needs in the most effective efficient and satisfying manner. The course introduces the novice to a cycle of discovery and evaluation and a set of techniques that meet the user's needs. This course is geared toward the novice. It is for learners that have heard about "user experience" or "user interface" design but don't really know much about these disciplines. The course mantra is that “Design is a systematic and data driven process.” Design is systematic because it is based on a set of techniques and also on a cycle of discovery. In this course the learner is introduced to the four step user interface design cycle. Along the way learners are exposed to a set of techniques to gather information about a) what the user needs b)how to design and model interfaces based on these and then how to evaluate the design to ascertain that the user's goals are met. These techniques are tools that are used in a standardized manner and give us the data we use in our design. This means that anyone (regardless of their current training) that is willing to learn these techniques and follow the proposed cycle can be a UX designer!...

Top reviews

AO
Oct 22, 2017

The best introduction classes, gives an overall idea about UI/UX. Grateful for the efforts taken by the Georgia Tech and Coursera. Looking forward to see more courses related to my career. Thank you.

MC
Sep 25, 2016

This is an insightful introductory course to User Experience Design. While it is just an introduction, the lessons and the examples provided were comprehensive, leaving you with a thirst for more.

Filter by:

776 - 800 of 1,039 Reviews for Introduction to User Experience Design

By Syed A M

Nov 20, 2016

It was a good introductory course. I am giving 4 stars so that the design cycle goes around again and make the course more effortless and enjoyable.

By Srikanth K N

Sep 25, 2020

Was able to gain knowledge on User Experience essentials like Requirements gathering, Design alternatives, Prototyping techniques, Evaluation needs

By Tran C

Jan 28, 2021

This is a very informative and practical course for my job as a solutions manager. The content is concise, clear. I just hoped it would be longer.

By Leiba K

Apr 6, 2020

Good information, at times, would have like a bit more explanation on certain topics.. section on presenting task findings was a bit confusing.

By JOEZ S

Mar 10, 2021

This was great way to begin learning about UX Design, I am walking about with new knowledge about the exciting field of User Experience Design

By Nahum M

Jul 25, 2020

The course was very informative & educational. One thing that was lacking were the slides. Video went to fast to be able read them some times.

By Alistair p

Jan 20, 2021

A very concise and positive introduction to user experience design, however I cannot download a certificate even after paying for the course.

By Aramide S

Mar 11, 2018

The course has addtional good resources and reading material, which was half of the learning content, otherwise it would have been too basic.

By Gil K

Oct 25, 2019

Excelente, porém acredito que poderiam ser mostrado mais exemplos práticos de todos os Steps. O curso poderia ser um pouco mais ilustrativo.

By Shohanda A

Feb 9, 2018

This is a very good course. It covers the main points in the user experience design and it's a good to step to start learn out this field.

By MK T

Mar 10, 2017

Great Intro course that goes over most the general concepts of UX design. It's a good starting place to get your feet wet in this field.

By Jennifer T

Jul 16, 2017

Clear introduction to the process but the occasional typos were really rather glaring and took away from the credibility of the course.

By Ran L

May 10, 2018

The contents are great, but the presentation seems to be somehow monotonous, which makes it difficult to keep focusing on the subject.

By Mohamed S

Apr 16, 2017

It was very well designed and organized but some parts were superficial like module 3. I think it needs more details and explanation.

By Sylwin C

Jul 22, 2020

As it states an Introductory Course, that touches base on few topic that might help you deciding and planning your course of action.

By Muhammad N

Sep 29, 2020

Great course to start into UX Design fields. But still need some practical application before I can move to the next level courses.

By Apoorva R

Apr 27, 2018

For someone who has no prior knowledge in User Experience, this course lets you dip your feet before you deep dive into the ocean.

By Yan J

Apr 8, 2018

It is very useful if you are new for UED. It will help you building up framework, and tell you some fundation defination of UED.

By Alexa B

May 12, 2020

This course provided a nice introduction to UX Design, but I wasn't impressed with the number of typos in the course materials.

By Nur F

Nov 3, 2020

Clear and structures video lectures. Would have preferred the CORRECT answers to the quiz are shown after user has submitted.

By Laura A

May 15, 2020

Rosa is so good! I learned a lot in this course. Thanks Cousera & Georgia Tech, to make this courses available for everyone!

By Emmanuel M

Aug 19, 2020

El contenido me paereció muy valioso. Me abrió la mente.Excelente que la mayoría de videos tengan subtitulación al español.

By Emídia F

May 30, 2020

The content is very good, but the interaction and doubts posted in the fórum are forgotten by the creators of the course.

By Supriya B

Mar 20, 2020

More detailing on how to design alternatives would have been useful. I felt like I did not learn much about that aspect.