Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to User Experience Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to User Experience Design by Georgia Institute of Technology

4.5
stars
4,640 ratings
1,111 reviews

About the Course

The focus of this course is to introduce the learner to User Experience (UX) Design User Experience design is design that is user centered. The goal is to design artifacts that allow the users to meet their needs in the most effective efficient and satisfying manner. The course introduces the novice to a cycle of discovery and evaluation and a set of techniques that meet the user's needs. This course is geared toward the novice. It is for learners that have heard about "user experience" or "user interface" design but don't really know much about these disciplines. The course mantra is that “Design is a systematic and data driven process.” Design is systematic because it is based on a set of techniques and also on a cycle of discovery. In this course the learner is introduced to the four step user interface design cycle. Along the way learners are exposed to a set of techniques to gather information about a) what the user needs b)how to design and model interfaces based on these and then how to evaluate the design to ascertain that the user's goals are met. These techniques are tools that are used in a standardized manner and give us the data we use in our design. This means that anyone (regardless of their current training) that is willing to learn these techniques and follow the proposed cycle can be a UX designer!...

Top reviews

AO
Oct 22, 2017

The best introduction classes, gives an overall idea about UI/UX. Grateful for the efforts taken by the Georgia Tech and Coursera. Looking forward to see more courses related to my career. Thank you.

KJ
Oct 4, 2020

It was fair introduction to UI / UX. I moved away from front-end development a long time ago but wanted to know about the new techniques used prior to starting that sort of development these days.

Filter by:

851 - 875 of 1,108 Reviews for Introduction to User Experience Design

By Apoorva R

Apr 27, 2018

For someone who has no prior knowledge in User Experience, this course lets you dip your feet before you deep dive into the ocean.

By Yan J

Apr 8, 2018

It is very useful if you are new for UED. It will help you building up framework, and tell you some fundation defination of UED.

By Alexa B

May 12, 2020

This course provided a nice introduction to UX Design, but I wasn't impressed with the number of typos in the course materials.

By Nur F

Nov 3, 2020

Clear and structures video lectures. Would have preferred the CORRECT answers to the quiz are shown after user has submitted.

By Laura A

May 15, 2020

Rosa is so good! I learned a lot in this course. Thanks Cousera & Georgia Tech, to make this courses available for everyone!

By Emmanuel M

Aug 19, 2020

El contenido me paereció muy valioso. Me abrió la mente.Excelente que la mayoría de videos tengan subtitulación al español.

By Emidia F (

May 30, 2020

The content is very good, but the interaction and doubts posted in the fórum are forgotten by the creators of the course.

By Supriya B

Mar 20, 2020

More detailing on how to design alternatives would have been useful. I felt like I did not learn much about that aspect.

By Mehedi H

May 11, 2020

There should be a review system like assignment for alternative designs , prototyping , creating survey , evaluation.

By Jonathon C

Jan 27, 2020

excellent presenter, high level concepts made easy through real examples. Only downside was quality of transcripts.

By Kelly C

Jan 19, 2017

It is a fundamental class, quite easy to understand for people who don't have any background about user experience.

By Gerardo A V

Apr 22, 2020

Great way to be introduced into the world of UX design. I enjoyed the course a lot and it was very easy to follow.

By María T G D

Sep 30, 2019

It is really helpful if you are just trying to get to know what user experience research and design is all about.

By Madhuri G

Mar 2, 2021

Assessments are very thoughtfully made. They were not easy and that helped me get back to course and learn more.

By Mehmet B

Aug 15, 2020

A fair well-designed course covering the basics. I believe, better detailing on the quizzes would be beneficial.

By Hyo E L

Mar 16, 2018

took less than few hours to complete!

Clear and easy explanation helped me to grasp basic concepts of UX design

By Naomi S

Oct 11, 2020

Users should be able to manually review wrong answers, by 'locking in' their test result so they can't cheat.

By General U

May 19, 2020

The course was good. The issue was the predominant verbal explanation but very little visual exemplification.

By Vanessa P M d S

Jun 19, 2017

Easy to follow, good teacher, good content. I would suggest to include more real examples for each concept.

By Maziel S J C

Oct 3, 2016

Conceptos muy básicos pero sin duda funcionales y necesarios para quien inicia en el User Experience Design.

By Bhaswant I

Mar 11, 2018

More practical usecases would have been engaging. Otherwise, knowledge wise good for introduction course.

By Te'Shawn D

May 23, 2020

Pretty good dive into the basics, my only issue is that the pacing could have been a little bit better.

By Michelle L

Jun 17, 2017

A little bit repetitive/ vague at times, but good as a general introduction, which it is meant to be!

By Michael M

Jan 8, 2017

A good simple introduction which also lists some useful resources. Well presented, logical and clear.

By Janiellia C

Jul 28, 2021

I would have liked a bit more creative approach to the presentation, other than that it was awesome.